We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Save Saved
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Extra Special Offer
Ranked #34 of 113 Windermere B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Coach House is a pretty little B&B halfway up the hill between Bowness and Windermere. I'm not a big fan of Bowness itself so I was quite happy to be a little further away from the crowds by the lake side. Our room was the first at the top of the stairs but we didn't hear anyone else for the three days we stayed. The owners are very friendly and are happy to come in to the dining room for a chat as they serve up breakfast. My one complaint was that breakfast is served for a limited time - only between 8.30 and 9.00, so no good for anyone who might want a lie in!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went to this B&B last week with my wife for our wedding anniversary. Situated half way between Windemere and Bowness on the main road. B&B is clean and well presented. We were greeted with genuine hospitality by Helen. Our room (3) was spacious and clean overlooking the chuch and woodland. Breakfast was fantastic and plentiful and Helen was always on hand to offer advice on where to go and what to do. For the walkers there were plenty of maps in reception and information on all manner of activities and places to visit.
As far as the location there is more choice of bars and restaurants in Bowness than in Windemere. We ate at the Emporer of India which was excellent and also had a meal in Jacksons Bistro which was first class though a little more expensive. A word of warning - Bowness is downhill all the way, so after a big meal and a few drinks is a bit of a trek back up!
Would definitelyrecommend this B&B and would return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Coach House in March. Helen was very welcoming and helpful, and offered us parking for the Harley. The breakfasts were fantastic and the room was clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. Perfect base for exploring the Lake District.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Greeted warmly by Helen who was very helpful.Rooms are of a high quality.Position is good.Breakfasts were excellent with Helens husband doing the cooking..the man behind the woman!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over here the Easter weekend. We liked the place. Lived up to reviews in trip advisor. The rooms are clean. Full marks for hospitality. The breakfast is pretty good. Wifi was free and worked well. Will definitely go back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came here for our birthdays and the most fantastic stay. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and introduced to the local area. the rooms were great, unique and special. our room had a certain colour theme that my girlfriend adored! Breakfast was great, no grease and good portion sizes.

Overall I would definitely recommend staying here as its perfect and situated in a very ideal and nice area, only a short walk to the lake.

Brilliant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent B & B we stayed in feb Helen was very helpful great room, great breakfast, would definately recommend and def will visit again x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Windermere
Coach House Windermere
The Coach House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.