We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“merry widows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornbank Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thornbank Guest House to your Saves list
Thornbank Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“merry widows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic stay,rooms spotless,breakfast delicious really sets you up for the day.Jane and Mark really lovely.We were taken in to Bowness on the first day by Sue Janes mum which was an un expected treat.Loads of helpfull info in the room which was really great as my friend and i are good at getting lost.Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks girls for your review, hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We looked at several B&Bs before making our decision and i'm pleased to say we chose exactly right. The B&B was nestled comfortably between bowness and windermere with just a short walk to either town. Mark & Jane where fabulous hosts and mark even carried our bag up to the room before a short talk about the surrounding area, restaurant recommendation and trips etc.. this was all laid out in booklets for us to keep. The room was plesant and of average size just right for a family of 3 to stay in for 5 nights. Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.00 and they ensured us that if we didn't get down to breakfast until 9 they wouldn't throw us out. The breakfast room was down two sets of stairs but was airy and spacious with tables set for each room. Jane proveided the breakfast while mark worked in the kitchen and after a couple of days being there we didn't have to ask for tea it was brought to us which was fantastic and there was plenty of tea for two. Cereals were on offer and that suited my son one day as he didn't fancy a cooked breakfast. Toast was provided both white and brown and my husband became quite fond of jane's homemade marmalade just wish we'd brought some back. The rooms were cleaned everyday and plenty of towels were provided as well as an assortment of bathing goodies even supplying shower gel and hand wash. We took mark's advice and spent a day around the lakes which was booked for us by jane herself we simply had to pay on the day. The B&B was super and we had a fantastic time will definitely use them again if we decide to travel to the lake district and just to cheer Jane up we thought we were going to the wetest place in England but the 5 days we had there were glorious and i even got burnt out on the lake. Would definitely recommend them they are fantastic couple and made our time more enjoyable. Great time had by the whole family. Thanks Jane & Mark for a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Fantastic if you want a quiet time in the bustle of the lake district, close to Lake Windermere and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi, Sorry it's taken me so long to say thanks for posting your review. It was very kind of you to say such good things about us. It's great to know we're getting it right. Hope to get a call from you next year. Best regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Simply super lucky to have found this b&b! If you have the chance, choose this one and do not think twice! The location is great! The room wasn't enormous but had everything you need. Jane is lovely and her homemade orange marmalade is an amazing touch to something that is already perfect! I forgot my iPhone charger and she was so nice to call me and give me the chance of going back to get it. I would definitely go back and I would not change a single comma in this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review. It is much appreciated .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Thornbank based on the reviews and it did not disappoint. The house is located just off the main road and about 5-10 minutes walk from Bowness. Jane and Mark were friendly and welcoming hosts. There is parking at the rear of the property but there is unrestricted parking in Thornbarrow Road so we were able to leave our car directly outside the b&b.s front door.

We stayed in the front room which was comfortable and spotlessly clean with plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom. Breakfast needed to be ordered the night before and was served in a pleasant sunny dining room downstairs - lots of choices and Jane took care to ensure that our eggs were cooked just right.

Having obviously had hundreds of guests all asking the same questions about the Lakes District, Jane and Mark have produced some little booklets about the area with good suggestions for walks, boat trips and the best local restaurants to visit that they leave in the guest rooms. We used these guides most days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked this place for 3D/2N based on the great reviews and I am impressed with this couple and their hospitality! They keep the place neat, super-clean and everything functions as they should - Mark fixed our toilet within minutes to ensure drainage is perfect in the shower. The room and bathroom were spotless! In fact, our room's cleanliness was a thousand times better than the Doubletree Hilton we stayed in Bayswater a few days before arriving in Windermere.

Breakfast was yummy and filling. They explained to us what we can do in Windermere, where to go, even told us about walks we could take. Walking to Bowness and Windermere was so easy from this guesthouse. When we informed them that we're checking out very early on our last day, they packed us lil goody bags of food with fruits! If only we had stayed an extra day or two. Would love to visit Windermere again some day. Thank you Mark and Jane!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Convenient location between Windermere and Bowness. Friendly welcome on arrival and were presented with local map and information on walks and eating places. Room was nicely equipped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast choice and quality was very good and the perfect way to start the day. Would not hesitate to return or recommend.

Room Tip: Room 4 (a double) was nicely equipped and at ground floor level so no stairs to carry luggage up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the first visit to the lakes for myself and my sister. Thornbank was an excellent place to stay for the following reasons:

warm welcome
spotlessly clean with great attention to detail
Fab breakfast with plenty of healthy choices
The outside of the building looked lovely and inviting with loads of flowers.
Plenty of helpful advice on where to visit
Centrally placed between WIndermere and Bowness, within easy walking distance to both, and there is also a bus stop outside the house and taxi service close by.

we had a great time and if we were to visit the lakes again, we would definitely stay at Thornbank.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbank Guest House

Address: 4 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornbank House is privately owned and run by Jane and Mark Hibbitt. We are just 10 minutes walk from Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, where there is a wide selection of shops and fabulous restaurants. We offer bed and breakfast with a personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbank Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.