We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hilton House to your Saves list
Hilton House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have returned today from a two night stay in room 8, this hotel is absolutely beautiful and Martin and his colleagues are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would highly recommend it to anybody and the hearty breakfast will set you up for a day of exploring the Lake District.
The hotel is within walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness where you can find many coffee shops and restaurants, although we would recommend Rumours in Bowness where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    28
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My friend and I just came back from two nights here and it was such a lovely place.
Car park available at the back, gorgeous rooms with lots of mirrors and chandeliers, very pretty and clean with a good attention to detail.
We only had a tiny room I think because it was a last minute.com deal but it was still really nice, we had a clean en suite and a comfy bed with feather bedding. We had chocolates on arrival and well stocked hot drink making facilities in the room. It was really nice and warm too.
The hotel is perfectly situated between Windermere centre and Bowness, 10 minutes walking distance.
It was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from outside or other guests.
You can come and go as you please without really seeing the owners except at breakfast, both were very personable and professional.
Breakfast was very good, lots of options available. My only criticism of our stay is that the English breakfast didn't have a sausage or beans!
Thanks for having us, I would definitely stay here again and I encourage others to.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying at the Hilton House for two nights in room 4, the standard double. Beautiful little guest house. Great location between Windermere (5mins) and Bowness (15mins) on foot. The room is small but very cosy and breakfast was wonderful, the staff couldn't do enough for guests. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the hilton house. We stayed in room 8. Lovely decoration, clean and extremely comfortable. The staff were lovely, chatty, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice. The guesthouse is 5 minutes walk into windermere and about 20 to bowness, although we got the bus from winderemere to bowness pier, 5-10 journey. A lovely experience and would return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at Hilton House. It is within easy walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness, each of which have loads of restaurants and cafes to choose from.

Hilton House itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms are cosy and comfortable. We had Room 2, right above the dining room,which was perfect for our needs. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom clean with a very good shower.

The owners were lovely and let guests come and go as they please, we were even able to check in early. Breakfast was gorgeous and quickly prepared, don't let the lack of sausage put you off! The one tiny negative I have is that our room was slightly out of range for the Wi-Fi, but as I said, that's just me being picky.

Would definitely return next time we visit the lakes. Thanks for having us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We can't really say enough about this place. Our first stay in Windermere and we chose well. Very friendly staff, lovely clean cosy and well decorated room and tasty breakfast. Ideally situated between Windermere town (5 mins walk) and Bowness (10 mins walk) with ample restuarants and bars. This place a real gem and would recommend to anyone. Definitely coming again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights here and stayed in Room 5 - I have to say, I did read that some rooms were quite small, and this was one of them, but it didnt effect ourstay what-so-ever! The room was small, but if you dont spend much time there, then it isnt a problem, the only thing negative I have to say is that the bed was small, and we are not used to that as we sleep in a super kingsize!! The bed is a four poster, and was comfy and clean! Same as everything else! Another thing , which I find wrong with so many hotels and B&B's...is the squeaky floorboards...there are always squeaky..:/ which can be fixed am sure, it gets quite noisy at night if you get up and Im always aware of who I may be disturbing underneath. The Hotel situation is ideal, and its 2 mins from Windermere and 20 mins walk to Bowness, Breakfast was lovely too,my husband just missed the usual sausage on the English Breakfast and Beans,which costs so little but would make the breakfast 10/10. A lovely Hotel, with lovely pleasant staff, I would definately stay again, but would choose Room 2 which is bigger with a bigger bed and nice big window at the front.

Room Tip: if I stayed again I would choose Room 2 - 3 or 8 as they look bigger with bigger beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Windermere
Hilton Windermere
Windermere Hilton
Hilton House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.