We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Storrs Gate House to your Saves list
Storrs Gate House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MIDWEEK WINTER WARMER
Ranked #13 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here recently for 4 nights as a base to tour the Lakes District. This is a perfect spot and the accommodation is immaculate. Very good breakfasts and our hosts Vince and Shirley made our stay relaxing and peaceful. We stayed in a ground floor room with a 4 poster bed. The room is large and it also contains all the modern conveniences. Highly recommended, particularly as you are only a 15 minute walk into Bowness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are so pleased to read that you were really happy with your four night stay with us and that you felt relaxed here at Storrs Gate. It was especially nice to know you considered the accommodation to be immaculate and that you enjoyed your breakfasts. Thank you for your high recommendation. We hope. you enjoy the next leg of your tour in Scotland. Maybe we might see you back again if you return to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
211
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean. Good breakfast. A bit old fashioned, but none the worse for that. Expensive compared with other B&B's we have stayed in throughout the UK, but reasonable for the area in which it is situated.

A suggestion for the owners - lock the front door (all guests have keys), which will remove the necessity to be 'on guard' all day and evening.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found our B&B to be very clean.

We do hope that your description "a little old fashioned" might more reflect the fact that the house was built in 1896, and our rooms are furnished in traditional style, in particular, our four poster rooms, which you may not have seen during the course of your stay - being in the style of Tudor, Jacobean, Victorian and Queen Anne. With that in mind, our en-suites all have traditional style fixtures but all with modern power showers.

We are, when guests book directly with us, rather than through commission based booking websites, able to offer a value enhanced price for multiple night bookings, and as you say, we also feel we are competitively priced for the honeypot areas of the Lake District, being such a popular tourist destination.

Although all our guests have their own keys and are free to come and go as they please, we have never felt it necessary to lock the front door until mid/late evening, and have not considered ourselves to be on guard, just there to greet our guests and be around to offer any help, conversation or advice.

We enjoyed having the four of you as guests - apologies that we did not have had more time to discuss the tapestries and stitchings with the ladies - it was a busy few days! We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future - your loyalty vouchers will attract a discount for a two or three night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were invited to a friends surprise 60th birthday party. After looking on line this property was within walking distance of the venue and look very promising. We booked for 2 nights in the 4 poster suite with walk through dressing room and wrap around shower. As soon as we arrived we just knew we had made the right decision. A very warm welcome from Vince and Shirley. The hotel had a friendly feel and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was pre-booked each evening, so no need to try reading the menu with bleary eyes in the morning (I'm not a morning person), served with delicious home made jams & marmalade. We could not fault anything. We have already and will definitely continue to recommend Storrs Gate House to family & friends and hopefully we will get back ourselves in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: the 4 poster suites with either walk in dressing room or sitting room are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are really pleased we came up to expectations and that you were so happy with our Victorian king-size four poster suite. Even better that we fitted the bill for your celebratory location, being just across the road. It was so nice to hear that you have recommended us so highly and will continue to do so, and we do hope you will return and we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Vince and Shirley were lovely hosts, they made us feel most welcome. We stayed one night and enjoyed every second. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, immaculately clean and warm. We booked the suite with the four poster bed and adjoining lounge which was beautifully decorated and contained everything we needed. The breakfast was beautiful, the dining room was clean and very comfortable and the service was excellent. Storrs Gate is a great place to stay, we would highly recommend it and will most definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Would recommend the room with the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We can't thank you enough for your wonderful recommendation! You have covered so much in your review, we are sure it will help other potential guests to give us a try. We are really pleased you liked our Jacobean four poster suite and that everything you needed was catered for and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed two nights in this fabulous hotel and cannot fault it at all. The sumptuous bedroom was characterful and so comfortable and luxurious bathroom the same. Everything was catered for in the minibar. The decor and furnishings are all top class. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious especially the home made jam and marmalade! The House is situated perfectly for a leisurely 10minute stroll by the Lake into Bowness. Many thanks to Vince and Shirley, hope to see you again

Room Tip: Stayed in the Victorian Room which was delightful, one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really is excellent to know that you found everything to be faultless. Good to hear you enjoyed the home made marmalade and jam - thank you!
We do hope to see you back again and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Only managed to stay for one night on our visit to Lake Windermere but it was a wonderful experience for the whole family. The owners Vince and Shirley were wonderful hosts and provided us with all the information we wanted. The bedrooms were welcoming and cozy and breakfast was plentiful. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you found us so hospitable! We do hope you might return, and possibly make the most of our beautiful area with a longer stay next time. Thanks for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Vince and Shirley are lovely, always there to help, the guest house is immaculate, rooms lovely and food excellent. We loved it there and will return again, peaceful yet great location, 10 mins walk from bowness and over the road from the boathouse harbour, a lot more welcoming and cozy than a hotel, thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Your description of Storrs Gate House as being a classic gem was a delight for us to read. We are so pleased that you loved your stay here - we do like to think we provide that personal touch and it is good to know that our guests do too. Hope to see you both again, and thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storrs Gate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.