We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is centrally located. The staff are friendly, welcoming and extremely hard working. There is no lift in the hotel. However we were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived. Breakfast was great too. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the many walks, restaurants and facilities of both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere. Orrest head is a short walk from the hotel. There are lovely views of the lake from the top. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to travel further afield. We went to Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick also to Dove Cottage and Hill Top. I can recommend the Lighthouse restaurant in Windermere, the Ship Inn and New Hall Inn (more commonly known as "the hole in the wall" in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    148
    20
    12
    14
See reviews for
67
234
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from a stay at this excellent hotel. We booked the two night package with dinner on one night , staying in a room with four poster bed. What can I say, everything was wonderful, lovely, homely hotel. Staff were very welcoming and considerate, their knowledge of the area was brilliant and we were given a map of the area on arrival and suggestions of things to do/places to visit. We had dinner on the first night and it really was excellent, my husband is still talking about his steak! The breakfast was good with a wide range of choice, cereals, fruit, kippers and more but we went for the traditional full english, lovely, well cooked, not greasy and plenty of it. Our room, no 7 was beautiful, bed very comfortable, bathroom lovely with shower over bath and basin in alcove of it's own. Had a great lounge bar area for drinks. Location would be hard to beat, five minute walk up hill to Windermere and about a 15 minute walk down hill to Bowness.
All in all, thank you to the owners and staff at the Glenburn, we had a wonderfully relaxing couple of days and will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you go on the hotels website you can do a virtual tour of all the rooms available and choose whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for choosing The Glenburn for your visit to Windermere. Always good to hear positive feed back especially with the restaurant and food. You were obviously very delighted with your stay. Thank you so much. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

surprise stop to treat the wife on way back home, was attracted to the prospect of a four poster bed. Also offered a spa bath with rain fall shower, although this was all crambed into a very small bathroom. Think I let he notion and romance of it confuse reality. Hotel wasn't exactly to the standard of the photo's, but they rarely are. Great welcome though, parking onsite and good location. Age of building means you should expect creaky floors, but try to avoid staying under a family if you can. Very noisy landings and hallways, with doors banging shut. Decor a little outdated, but has bags of character, and comfortable. Service in bar and restaurant very speedy, but did feel a little rushed to move onto the next course. Overall though, would deifinitely stay again if in the area. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, then you limit noise from floorboards above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. The building is very old and unfortunately with that comes the creaks and groans of the structure. We are hoping to give the old place a facelift this year but I think its in pretty good shape for its age most people comment on how lovely it is and don't want us to change. Some lovely comments thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just come back from 2 nights stay and would defiantly recommend the glenburn hotel .. It was my fiancé,s 50th birthday and 12 red roses and a bottle if champagne was awaiting our arrivel with chocolate strawberries ,which she loved..
I could not fault the hotel , and great location between Windermere and Bowness..
My only slight critism is the meal we had in hotel was a bit on small side( but I am 17 stone and like my food).
Overall ,I was very impressed and would defiantly stay there again.
On our 2nd night we ate at Francine's resturant in Windermere and it was delightfull. A must if your staying in Windermere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
What a lovely romantic weekend you had. So nice to see that romance is still in the air and you couldn't have picked a more beautiful place than Windermere to celebrate. Thank you for a wonderful review it will certainly help future guests looking for somewhere romantic to stay. Thank you.. see you again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would certainly recommend this hotel. We stayed for our golden wedding anniversary for six days. We had the romantic package which was waiting for us on arrival, nicely presented. The room was clean and warm . The staff were effecient, friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of interesting places to see. We found The Bluebird Cafe on the edge of Lake Conniston and on the day we went it was sunny with no wind. In those conditions, what a beautiful place, beautiful scenery. We had two meals in the hotel which were nicely served and very tasty. It definitely has a friendly feel about it.
Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.
Harold and Mary Hudders

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. You certainly had an lovely time out and about every day making the most of your time in the Lake District. I must visit this lovely café you told me about during your stay. 50th anniversary and he is still the perfect romantic gentleman. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. On our arrival there was an issue with the room we booked but were told that we had been upgraded. The room was clean and tidy and had all that you would need or want. The staff were very polite, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent! I would definatley recomend people try the evening meal.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the first floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write very nice comments about the Glenburn. Seems like you had a very nice relaxing stay with us. I will pass your comments to my staff and the chef. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Located about half way between Windermere and Bowness townships the Glenburn is probably similar to a lot of accommodation in this area. The room we had was lovely with a four poster bed and a spa bath in a good sized bathroom. Staff were very helpful and had taken notice of our gluten free request when booking and we didn't have to prompt them about this at breakfast. We went in early spring which isn't the busy time but the place was quiet even on a main road and well located if you don't mind a little stroll town for a meal. And by little I mean less than 2k. They also had a deal with a local health club which gave access to pools, saunas etc which we used and was very nice. That's about 2-3k down the road in Bowness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Lovely review thank you very much. It was good to see guests making good use of the free Leisure facilities at Parklands. Come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.