We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Howbeck - Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Howbeck to your Saves list
The Howbeck
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
1 review
“The Howbeck - Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed one night at The Howbeck on 30th May. We booked the Meregill room which was lovely. Really comfy four poster bed and a great spa bath. The room was really clean with a decanter of sherry to welcome us. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We will certainly be staying at The Howbeck again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    94
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
26
506
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked this break through Secret Escapes.
It was advertised as a hotel and spa.
The Howbeck list theirselves as a guest house not a hotel and the spa is a twenty minute walk wary.
I tried to book a table for dinner 24 hours before arriving but the restaurant was fully booked according to the manager so we had to eat out,good choice as there are plenty of places to eat in the nearby towns.
On returning the restaurant was almost empty.
Apart from this the room is modern, clean and stylish but as we are only sleeping here it is almost immaterial.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We purchased a nights stay through a deal website. This included complementary tea and coffee on arrival, a nice bottle of white wine, a small box of chocolates and a two course meal.
We stayed in the Lingmell super kingsize room with en suite. This was a lovely big room just off the main entrance to the B&B. My only problem with the room is that the quilt cover was not a super king size so the quilt cover was far too big. The room was well decorated, quite and clean although there was some mould marks beginning to appear above the shower.
The meal at night was pleasant and the breakfast was plentlyful.
I would recommend staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We only stayed one night in the Howbeck, having seen it in passing many times on previous visits to the Lake District. We were on our way back from Centerparcs in Whinfell Forest and booked a night for relaxation before the journey back to Scotland. Check in was by a very pleasant young lady, who was most helpful. She took us to our suite, showed us all the controls for the whacky bathroom lights & spa bath (which was great fun). This was only for one night, the room was lavishly decked out in silver & black, the bed comfortable and you choose your breakfast the night before, and it's brought to you at a time of your choosing. Only thing I would have wanted was a DVD player, as there was none. Still enjoyed it though, but it is a bit expensive, however we all deserve a wee treat now and then!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I booked a two night stay (10.06-12.06.14 from living social ) in the retreat suite a surprise for my husband.
When we arrived we were offered tea/ coffee but my husband asked for jack daniels which was on the house. We enjoyed the drinks in the lounge which was relaxing, then we got shown to our suite.
The suite was just amazing, very clean and romantic. I loved all the little extras what was in the room (wine bottle, chocolate and rose petals). The bed was very comfy and the bathroom just the best, lovely jacuzzi with tv on the wall.
We had three course meal in the restaurant, when I booked up they did say you have to put your meal order in by 3pm as they buy the ingredients fresh. We both enjoyed it and we also had breakfast in the room both morning's, which was excellent. All the staff were very friendly.
I would definitely recommend the retreat for a romantic getaway and we would go there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived here to be greeted so pleasantly by the receptionist however that was the best bit about our stay. We arrived at around 5.30pm and were planning to dine that evening as our booking included a meal on the first night of our stay.
As we were checking in the receptionist informed us of the time slots available to eat, 6pm and 6.15pm. as we had just arrived we asked if it was possible to dine later as we had just travelled for 5 hours and really wanted to freshen up. The receptionist was very understanding and said she would speak with the chef to sort something out however when she came back she explained there was nothing she could do and that the chef would only allow these time slots. Rushed we had to reluctantly agree to the 6.15 time slot.
we were not happy and think the chef and owner need to sort this out!
If this was a professional chef I think they would be more than happy to cook for guests a bit later on especially as this place supposedly serves between 6pm and 8pm and we did not see any guests arrive after 7pm.

This spoilt our stay really as, im sure like most people, we go off first impressions.If only the chef was as understanding as the receptionist!!

So if you wish to dine here, may I recommend you book early to avoid disappointment like us.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We booked this hotel/guest house through a living Social Deal as a romantic break on our return from London as it was half way. We were advised that the room at £144 were all booked but they had a luxury 4 poster bed for an extra £44 well worth the difference so we were persuaded. We booked dinner for 1900 in the restaurant which boasted a sumptuous a la carte menu. We arrived at 17.45 to be accosted by a member of staff demanding to know where we had been as they expected all guests to book their meal choices by 14.00. Explained that we had traveled 300 miles, were unaware of this rule and that when we booked this was not mentioned. We studied the menu, a big disappointment as there was nothing on the menu we liked. We asked for alternatives but there were none, how about a salad ? to late to purchase. Could we see the chef? no he was not in yet.How about the manager we were speaking to her! We ordered the braised beef and the fish pie.

Our room was extremely cramped as a bed with 4 post was crammed into a small space and hardly any room to walk between the bed and the wall. We went down for dinner and were the only dinners as all the other guests were eating out. The food was inedible. the same girl was serving us. Now she was more relaxed and very pleasant. She appeared to be the only member of staff on duty and we suspect the cook as well.! She advised that there were 2 vacant rooms so we had a quick peek and they were the same size with out the 4 poster and were £44 cheaper.
In the room information the owner had a letter his name was Colin Monk and he said that he was available every day so after breakfast asked to speak to him. The same girl was on duty she said that Colin Monk was not the owner and would not say who was or who was in charge saying it was her. We actually felt sorry for her as she was in a spot with no backup. We explained that were were unhappy with our stay as it was not as described and felt that we had paid over the odds and would raise this with the Credit Card company as we had paid £100 deposit and £88 remaining. She became upset and said if we did this she would have to pay the £88 out of her pocket. Tried to explain that we realized that she was on her own but suggested she contact the owner again. She then threaten to call the Police

We waited in the lounge for the owner to appear when a Police Woman arrived and went in to reception. Shortly after a Police man arrived and said that they had been called to a Breach of The Peace. They immediately said that this was a civil matter and not their concern and advised us to leave and to pursue this through a civil action.

So beware when booking this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay clear of 4 poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howbeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.