We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian ocean Windermere

Indian ocean Windermere
39 Crescent Road, Windermere, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We fancied a change from the pretentious food that seems to be favoured by most places in the town and tried this Indian. Surprisingly good. The decor is pretty ordinary, but the food was really good and the service was excellent. Would happily come again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had been in England on holiday for several days, and my parents were craving for rice. So in we went to this Indian restaurant. Decor was suitably Indian, there was no mistaking the identity of this restaurant!

We sampled a few curries. Food was pretty good, have had better but we didn't expect such quality of Indian cooking up here in the Lake District. A pleasant find, I must say. Just one thing worth noting for Asians used to spicy food - the "levels" of spiciness here are more for the British. Hence, "medium" would be rather hot for those unaccustomed to it but was just under what we're used to.

Not the best place in town for a meal, but decent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was just amazing. I had the tandori chicken masala, the other half had the bhuna she did say it was the nicest bhuna shes had but was a bit oily. We had a garlic naan which was the best we have had!

Service was great, was greeted and sat down straight away. They was really polite and checked everything was fine.

Overall great food, great staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good not average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The decor is very dated, It looks more like a café than a restaurant. That said, we went there to eat, not look at the walls, & the food was very enjoyable & tasty. Not a posh place, would certainly go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfectly nice curry but had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After walking past the restaurant the night before saw that it was fairly busy and thought that it can't be that bad.

The meal itself was not that bad but as the title suggests I have had better because there could have been more flavour to the dish I had which was a Lamb Tikka Pasanda. Also the naan bread i had was burnt on the bottom as well. My wife thought hers was perfectly ok so it was not all bad.

The staff were polite so I can't fault them for that it is just a shame that the food was not nicer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian ocean Windermere also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Indian ocean Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian ocean Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.