We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break but didn't quite meet expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Low Wood Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Low Wood Bay to your Saves list
Low Wood Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable break but didn't quite meet expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Lovely location overlooking Windermere fantastic. Stayed for a 3 night break in the beginning of Oct on a DB&B rate which we thought was good value for money. We decided to have dinner for 2 nights and eat out on the last night.

HOTEL: Efficient check in and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were disappointed with our room initially, it was very small and slightly tired so we asked to change which was no problem. The room was much better with a modern bathroom which had a double shower, no bath which were not too bothered about but after walking 7 miles one day, a bath would have been good but we just went to the jacuzzi and hot tub instead! We had a lake view which was lovely to wake up to each morning, however the hotel is on a main road and therefore subject to noise. Not too much of a problem but our last night was a Friday and did not sleep well, heard people being dropped off at the hotel at 2am and as we were at the front of the hotel just above reception we could hear this quiet clearly.

Dinner was disappointing. Slight confusion on what was ordered for my main and was not entirely happy with waiters response. However my partner said his meal was really good. I am sure the restaurant can be superb but I didn't have a great experience. Overall disappointed so decided to cancel the 2nd dinner and eat out instead. We chose dinner because a) we were not sure of the area and whether there would be restaurants nearby and b) because the rate was good but we soon discovered that there are plenty of places to choose from so enjoyed eating out. No problem to change from DB&B rate to B&B which was accommodating.

The bar area was quiet not much of an atmosphere and had quite dark lighting but I would imagine it would be busier at the weekend and in the summer.

Leisure facilities are fab, loved the hot tub! I booked a back and neck massage which was £25.00 and well worth it!

Absolutely loved the Lake District, so many places all individual. It was really busy so cannot imagine what it is like in the summer. We were so lucky with the weather - temps around 18/19 degrees and sunny which meant we were able to enjoy a walk one day and hire bikes the next. The hotel is between Windermere and Ambleside and Ambleside is definitely worth a visit, we ate there for 2 nights.

This sounds a bit of a negative review but generally the staff are great and we had a lovely time. It's a shame that one individual can change your views.

Would probably not stay again just because there is so much choice of accommodation and we like to try different places. But if we couldn't find leisure facilities that were as good as Low Wood we would probably return one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for the review posted on Trip Advisor. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Guest feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by the team. The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I hope you will give us the opportunity in the near future to demonstrate these issues do not often occur. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    346
    131
    66
    29
See reviews for
286
591
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Little England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Travelled to the hotel for my a 50th and 40th birthday celebration. I have mostly complimentary things to say about the hotel, the staff are excellent, the rooms and the leisure facilities good. Unfortunately we arrived on a night where the hotel was very busy and the kitchen could not keep up with the orders. We waited an hour for the starter and 45 minutes for the main course. This is of course too long. the manager apologised and provided complimentary wine. The staff were working very hard I presume the kitchen was the same they just could not cope with the number of people. I believe a large party were in that night, to the kitchens credit the standard of food was superb.
I have to add this would in no way stop me going to this hotel again, we were I think just unlucky that it was so busy that late in the season that the restaurant struggled that night and at breakfast next morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time in completing your trip advisor review after staying with us over the weekend.

If my memory is correct, you dined on table 20 for a party of 6 people on Saturday evening. As then I am sorry the service you experienced on this evening was not as we would have normally expected diners to experience. As you rightly observed the restaurant on this evening dined over 145 covers, which was abnormally high and concentrated into a 2 hour time frame. Please be assured we have reviewed the circumstances and corrective measures have been taken.

I along with the team are very pleased in the main you enjoyed your stay, and even more gratified the above will not deter you from staying again. Thank you again for you review, Nevil Jeffery General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed with my daughter for 2 nights for a relaxing spa weekend. Nice hotel in lovely location with lake right in front . Good sitting areas. Bedroom OK but nothing special. Corridor where bedrooms situated a bit 'travel lodge'. bedside lamp not working but was dealt with immediately. food OK. Barman served a great cocktail but 2nd night was given something inferior (different bar staff). Barman whisked our drink away and returned with a first rate replacement. Staff very nice, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear Customer, thank you for a review after your visit. I along with the team are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the main, sorry for the differing standards in cocktails, we will ensure additional training is given. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Nevil Jeffery, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

On the day of arrival we were greeted by a lovely female staff member. She was very helpful and let us ask as many questions as we liked without any interruptions. The room was beautiful, open and very clean. Everything you needed was in the room and nothing was too much trouble at reception if you needed anything extra. The décor in the hotel was tasteful and warming. I was very impressed with how friendly the staff were and the overall feeling I got from this hotel was ‘welcoming’. The swimming pool area was clean and larger than we imagined. There was also an outside hot tub that was just brilliant. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and the service was quick and friendly. I was so very impressed with this hotel and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear Customer, thank you for a review after your visit. I along with the team are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for rewarding the staff efforts and friendly approach to providing the best we can when it comes to quality service and making our hotel feel like your home. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

A few months late in writing this review. My husband and I married at the Low Wood, having changed at the last minute from the Swan Hotel which had been flooded. It snowed heavily all the day before and all day of our wedding which was slightly traumatic to say the least! The Low Wood staff just couldn't do enough to help, being pre-emptive to the bridal parties needs and just generally being fantastic. All of our guests stayed over and all of them said how fabulous the hotel and it's staff were. We are going back for our first wedding anniversary and can't wait. Highly recommended. Marvellous breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear Newly Weds, thank you for the rewarding review after you wedding celebration. I along with the team are very pleased you and your guests enjoyed this your special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st year anniversary and hopefully many more. Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We spent one night at Low Wood Hotel and thought it offered wonderful service and value for money. The food was excellent, the atmosphere in the restaurant in the evening was great and I have never seen such a choice of foods available for breakfast. The room was nice a spacious, in the newer section of the hotel.All in all it made for a lovely place to stay on a romantic break!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the restaurant, we are very proud of our staff and comments such as yours are always rewarding for the staff to read. I am glad you enjoyed your romantic break and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Myself and my husband, spent a Saturday night at the Low Wood and all I can say is it was excellent. The hotel was spotless. we spent time in in the leisure club, which was a bonus. a lovely pool and hot tub. In the evening we had dinner at the hotel. the food as delicious, compliments to the chef, and our waiter Jan and the Maître were very attentive. The hotel made our weekend. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review. I am glad that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and the food in the restaurant throughout your stay. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Address: Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Wood Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.