We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Low Wood Bay

Save Saved
You added Low Wood Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Low Wood Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Co. Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Low Wood Hotel at the beginning of June. We were very impressed with the hotel. The room was lovely and was considered to be a Standard Room. The food was great and with a good variety especially breakfast. The staff were very attentive and professional. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    283
    110
    52
    25
See reviews for
220
455
8
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The stay at the Low wood, in general was disappointing.
The decor is bland and in need of a revamp.
We had paid the extra fee for the lake view and the window didn't even go to eye level! (Nearly £200 a night!)
Drinks were over priced, a round of two drinks (Beer and house wine) could cost you £10, easily the most expensive on the lake.
Breakfast was of a good standard though, as were the staff, who were always pleasant.

I just felt that the standard was a lot lower than in similar hotels and comfort was lacking. The leisure club was also a let down, with the changing rooms not even having showers due to refurbishment and generally unclean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Me and my husband have just returned from a one night stay at the Lowwod hotel after celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and i just had to write a review to compliment everything about this hotel, The room we had was beautiful (room 39) we had a fabulous view looking right over the lake and the marina breathtaking!!, the staff were very friendly and curtious the food and facilities were excellent, there was ample parking spaces and the open top buses stop right outside the hotel going to Ambleside Bowness or Windemere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and fingers crossed were hoping to stop for a few more days next year, it's a little pricey but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

As states above, we loved the food, the good service, the great location, the real cleanliness of the whole hotel, the relaxing leisure facilities

my only dissapointment was that our double bed was two single beds pushed together (as some hotels do) BUT, the ridge in the middle where the two beds met was very very uncomfortable...

Despite this, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for a rewarding review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. I read your comment relating to the use of twin beds, we are presently looking at providing toppers to all rooms so as to solve this issue. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel has a fantastic location right on the lake shore. The lounge bar is tasteful and modern and the rooms in the old part of the hotel are cosy in an old fashioned kind of way. The rooms in the extension at the back werent as impressive. The leisure facilities are great, especially the outdoor hottub. The food in the restaurant was decidedly average but not terrible and the sparkling cream tea in the lounge was amazing and a real bargain. I would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for a rewarding review. Since your stay with us, we have introduced our Spring Menu, and we have increased our selection and added some British Classic's. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Thank you Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond. North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Just come back from staying at the hotel the weekend after Easter. Taking two children aged 8 and 10 they definately want to return.Adults enjoyed the lovely view from the bars and the hot tub in the leisure club.We could not recommend the staff any heigher they were all efficient with nothing too much trouble escecially at breakfast. ( We did not have dinner as we wanted to explore the surrounding area ).Rooms were comfortable and location was fab for exploring although you do take your life in your hands when you cross the main road to see the boats !!! Weather was scortching all weekend so that helped ,even come back with a tan !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for a rewarding review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your Easter break at the Low Wood Hotel. Its a same you did not take advantage of our Restaurant in the evening, we even open early in school holiday breaks to cater for the young adults and littles one's too, 6pm onwards. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Kiwe have just enjoyed another Sunny Bank Holiday in the Lakes. Kind Regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Well i use to come here twice a year every year from 2000 - 2005 So was very excited to be going back and even more to be showing it to my partner.

However it seems things have changed for the worse!
Hotel lovely, views great still, lovely to watch from your window.

But the difference in price versus rooms is really bad, we stayed first in room 17 - suppose to be Classic Deluxe lake view. Bathroom consisted of a shower smaller than a person and if you sat on the loo you would hit your leg on the sink!

So we changed to room 168 - same rate and class as the other one but what a difference, now this was much better. I did complain and said that the price on room 17 should be a single etc etc but was met with "we are full" not even an apologie, so i spent several trips up and down the stairs until we changed rooms.

Next was the dinner, £30 for a steak and you dont get veg with it!! i think not, there is a lovely little pub (which also has rooms! ) called the Queens Head just a little further back towards Bowness.

Lake District really enjoyed but do feel cheated out of our money on the first night

On a brighter note the breakfast was fab and the waiting staff there were very good,

We would go back if we got a deal on price - but we would specify a room number this time!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for your comments - I am sorry your first room did not meet with your expectations, however I am please we could move you in the end. As you say, contacting the hotel direct would ensure best price is achieved. maybe a look at our web site would help next time. Once booked on line our reservation team will contact you to ensure all your needs are catered for directly and personaly. You may be also interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to my team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users.

Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Address: Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Wood Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.