We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Low Wood Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Low Wood Bay to your Saves list
Low Wood Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed at the low wood bay for a 2 night break and had a fantastic time. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Food excellant .Bedrooms very comfortable well furnished. Did not have time to use spa facilities but looked well equiped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review and for sharing your thoughts with the trip advisor community. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    346
    132
    66
    29
See reviews for
286
592
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wanted somewhere to treat my other half for her birthday; having trawled the internet came up with this little gem ... well ok nothing little about it really ...this so understated lakes hotel was an excellent find and we absolutely loved it .. the hotel itself we ideally located - the staff where some of the most charming we have come across on our travels and the food was the most understated part - it was FANTASTIC and the chefs are top drawer - thank you
This hotel as its own leisure club and you will struggle to find something of its standards without paying twice as much - the hotel also caters superbly for children with lots of activity’s going on

Will we go back ......... 100% yes and sooner rather than later

Room Tip: If opportunity is there go for up grade to "lakes view" rooms - we didnt but wished we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write the most wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay to celebrate your girlfriends birthday, I am very pleased to read that you loved the view (so do we !!) and that you thought the staff were great, thanks also for the Fantastic comments about the food in the hotel, I will ensure the team are aware of your wonderful comments. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night while accompanying my husband on business. Fantastic location right on the lake, friendly staff and good car parking. We were given a wonderful room right at the front with amazing picture postcard views of the lake and scenery behind. Big comfy bed, clean modern bathroom. Only draw back is that people passing the room can be noisy however to be honest this happens in any hotel and is as much to do with the manners of the other guests as the hotel itself. Room well equipped with kettle, hair dryer and safe. Even a strong wifi signal - all too often rare in hotels. Spent the morning at the spa having a facial and pedicure from excellent very professional staff who really impressed me. Then a few lengths of the pool and a session in the jacuzzi. All very modern, clean facilities with everything you could wish for. Came away from home frazzled and am returning a rejuvenated woman.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write the most wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, I am delighted that not only did you think the hotel was English hospitality at its best but that you felt that you had a relaxing time that made you feel like a rejuvenated woman.

It was extremely pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room and that you had the chance to take in the amazing view from the hotel and that you were able to make time for treatments in our leisure club, I will ensure the team are aware of your wonderful comments. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Fab location, great service utterly romantic. Quite large hotel with own gym and swimming pool and icing on the cake is the outside hot tub. Restaurant nice fir treat however expensive but excellent quality. Bar area nice at night looking at the views of the lake. Sadly missed opportunity to have afternoon tea. Overal worth the money and great service

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your fantastic comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your Romantic stay especially the food and the hot tub. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Low wood every year for the past seven years. I think that probably says it all!
We have found the standards to be consistently high and the levels of service from the staff are always exemplary, particularly the restaurant staff (Alar, Philip particularly) . During our last visit 31st March until 4th April we had two superb evening meals there. The brown bread ice cream was just amazing.
This is a large very family friendly hotel , with excellent facilities. The pool is a particular favourite of ours , as are the log fires in the lounge next to reception.
Our room with the lakeside view (271) provided us with arguably one of the best views in the Lake District.
We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear very regular guest, once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests who continue to enjoy the hotel stay after stay. I am pleased that you made the most of the hotel facilities and enjoyed in particular the pool and the log fires, we love them too!

I will ensure your comments get passed on to the team, especially those mentioned in your review. Again thank you for your review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the Low Wood for 2 nights 3rd & 4th April for a wedding at the hotel with my fiance and 2 year old. Stayed in room 511, lovely large room, huge bed and amazing views! We used the swimming pool which was clean and towels where provided. All staff where friendly and polite! On arrival in the room there was a fun pack for our daughter which was a nice touch! Amazing place to get married, from the ceremony room to the food to the fireworks over the lake - perfect! The price per night did seem to vary between guests (we found) so book early! Will defo be booking to stay here again! X

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the lovely comments about hotel I am pleased that you enjoyed your friends wedding and thought that the hotel is an amazing place to get married, we agree!.

I am also happy that your daughter enjoyed the Sam’s pack, we try to ensure the young ones amongst us are as happy as the rest of our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We four friends have just returned from a long weekend in The Low Wood Hotel. The service in this hotel is excellent and ALL staff are helpful, polite and efficient. We took advantage of a dinner in the hotel on the Friday night, all of which was delicious, well presented and arrived in a timely fashion. We did pay a little extra for a lake view, and were not disappointed, particularly since the weather was very kind to us. Our only disappointment was with the 'Bistro Cafe' which is set adjacent to the hotel and attached to the spa. Cafe describes it, but it is NOT bistro quality nor does it serve anything like a bistro menu - mostly pizza's and the usual fried/microwaved accompaniments that go with chips. Spend a bit more and eat in the hotel, or even the hotel bar where, presumably, the food will come from the hotel kitchen, which is certainly what we should have done. Overall though, the hotel is excellent, just stay away from anything called Bistro, unless you have children who prefer not to see a vegetable on their plate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay with your friends, firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at Café Del Lago’s for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion, I can but only apologise for this being the case and I can assure you we will look into concerns you have raised.

I was pleased to read that overall however you did enjoy your stay, in particular the dinner in the Windermere Restaurant, the amazing view and our wonderful team. Once again thanks for the review and we hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Address: Low Wood, Windermere, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Wood Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.