We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Glebe Road, Windermere LA23 3HE,, England
015394 45001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our stop for dinner as been here a few times and didnt disappoint again. The staff,location,food everything i want in a place was superb. My wife wanted to try something but was not sure if she would like it the waitress went away and came back with a taster for her great customer service . Food was of great quality and lots of it and was very fresh and well presented. Will be back next time we are in town. Nice view of the lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Should be renamed "THE KENNALS"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend, (well I thought they were friends) so while my girlfriend and I were in Windermere last weekend we would call and have a meal here.
As soon as we walked in we were hit by a powerful smell of wet dogs, we got a drink and sat at a table only to have an overfriendly mut come sniffing around us which was both wet and muddy, I had to ask the owner if he would keep his dog under contol.
There is a sign asking owner's to keep dogs on leads but I counted 5 dogs wondering about and the members of staff didn't seem to care.
We had intended to eat there but decided not to and go and find a people friendly pub.
On the plus side there is a lovely view of the lake from the bar area but just don't go if it's a wet day.
The management of this establishment need to realise that it is people who eat and drink and pay their wages not the dogs.
I did mention to one waitress that I thought dogs had to be kept under control, but she just said "oh yes" and walked away
Unless you enjoy the overpowering smell of wet dog and like a shaggy mut slavering over you as you try to enjoy a drink or meal then give this place a very wide berth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited yesterday and had a lovely Sunday dinnner. We sat by the window and had a lovely view over the lake and the snow covered mountains. The waitress was friendly and the food was just right. The vegetables were beautiful. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Nice Way to end the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The views are very special with Windermere and the northern fells as a backdrop. Not much going on on the lake as it's winter. Anyway a splendid end to the day, and some very nice drinks for me and the people I had led on a 8.5 mile walk. Coffee was Okay, Tea I'm told was delightful as was the hot chocolate. Didn't eat, although what was on offer was priced typical of the area.

They were showing football on TV's but this was unobtrusive and didn't spoil our enjoyment. I think they also have TV's at quay level (downstairs).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dogs welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent restaurant in an ideal location that allows well behaved dogs into certain areas of the pub.

Beer and food and service is good too.

Try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.