We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treetop Trek

Treetop Trek
Off the A591 | Brockhole, Lake District Visitor Centre, Windermere LA23 1LJ, England
+44 15394 47186
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brand New family fun at Brockhole Windermere. With 35 exciting treetop challenges to swing, climb, balance and fly your way through the ancient woodland canopy and discover views previously reserved for the squirrels and bats! Perfect for Friends, Families, Celebrations, Groups, Parties, School, Youth & Corporate Events... the outdoors has never been this much fun!
Prescot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

i did this with our 8 yr old grandaughter, we did the green route which was enough for both of us as a first time. we could have upgraded to the full course but we will save that for another day. really well prepared, lots of help from the staff

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    36
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Challenging fun - a buzz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went on this with my 7 year old son, and we both loved it. We only did the mini trek, as that was what the instructor suggested, because we hadn't done anything like it before. I wasn't sure how my son would fare - as he can sometimes scare easily - but he loved it so much, he wished we had booked the full course. Apparently you can upgrade there and then and just pay the difference.
You do need to book in advance and make sure you go to the toilet before you arrive.
I have to say that I thought I would breeze through this - as I have done rock climbing and have no fear of heights. I was wrong ! It was actually quite daunting at first, but the hardest moves were probably at the beginning. Either that, or you start to build up your confidence. In any case, I got over my wobbly knees and really enjoyed the challenges. The long zip wire at the end was wonderful - and the highlight of it all.
The instructors were all lovely and friendly and reassuring, and they spent time with a very nervous girl in our group, helping her to overcome her fears.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Harder than you think!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Took my 3 children round this, 1 didn't go on to do the full course as was too scared. It's a lot harder than it looks if your not very fit like myself, other children really liked it, it's quite expensive for a whole family to do about £90. It was not the best weather but it didn't matter too much.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Confidence building, or just good fun, it matters not. It's a splendid way to spend a couple of hours. Very professionally run, as you'd expect, and wonderful to watch the kids take it all in their stride. Last zip wire is a blast and a half. If it's school holidays, do book first before turning up, as there was quite a number number of sad looking children with numpty parents blaming each other for not doing so.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Well designed ... patience required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to take pot luck and dropped in around noon on the Saturday of a Bank Holiday weekend. They managed to squeeze us in so very fortunate as read many people reviewing Brockhole were disappointed that the Treetop Trek was fully booked. Quickly decided to use the loos before being harnessed up but be warned there is ONE WC for all! Staff were very friendly and helpful. You are advised to remove or tape up any jewellery.

Received a good safety brief then joined the queue to start the activity. Despite the instructor asking for the more confident types to go to the front people don't listen so patience is required. One of our group immediately decided it was not for them having done one obstacle and was brought back by the instructor with no fuss allowing the rest to continue (she was allowed two goes on the zip line instead which was a nice touch) . The site is well designed with two courses starting and ending at a central tower from where you also commence your final zip-line descent towards the Lake. One course is designed for the younger ones, the other course for those who need the adrenalin rush. The beauty of this course over it's Go Ape competitor is that it caters for the under 10's and once connected to the safety line to do the course you need not worry about anything else ... there is no unclipping and reclipping so you can relax with the younger ones.

As reported by lots of other people the sting in the tail is the car parking and the Lake District National Park Authority are no different to the National Trust or Forestry Commission. It is £2 for the first hour and 35p for every 20 mins that follows. There is a number plate recognition system clocking you in and you pay as you leave. We only did the Treetop Trek, were on site for almost 4 hours and my bill was £5.20. Imagine if you wanted to use other facilities on site such as the cafe? We sacked it and went to Ambleside for food/drink. Our bill for 4 people came out at £90 so think this should include your parking. Seems fair to charge for parking for those using the free facilities. Go Ape do exactly the same stunt in fairness. Still a great afternoon out though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treetop Trek also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Treetop Trek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetop Trek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.