We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Applegarth for my boyfriends 30th birthday. I booked it after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We stayed in room 7. The bathroom is amazing the only criticism is that it seems as though the toilet has a self flushing mode, as during the night we could hear running water from the toilet, the next night we made sure the bathroom door was shut properly. The lighting in the room was perfectly we felt warm and cosy. The attention to detail is of a very high standard. The whole hotel was immaculately clean. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel, there was a good selection to choose from and everything was cooked to perfection. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return and recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday stay at Applegarth and that you enjoyed your dining experience. Im sure you will agree that it really does make a difference having an onsite bar and restaurant, especially through the cold and wet winter months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    42
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
319
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such a relaxing stay here - the 'Ultimate Luxury' room was exactly that! The jet spa bath was amazing, complete with headrests and tv! The food was also delicious, with a good selection of meals in the evening and a lovely full English breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to relax as soon as they walk through the door!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
The last sentence of your review hopefully sums up exactly what Applegarth sets out to achieve, a luxurious place to relax from the moment you walk through the door with great food and a well stocked bar set in the heart of Windermere village. When you need a break from your busy lives you know where we are and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we booked the ultimate luxury room one for a 30th birthday celebration and an engagement. the attention to detail was perfect - champagne in the room along with a personal card. everyone was so friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing and welcoming. we dined both nights and the food was beautifully presented and all the flavours complimented each other. nothing was too much trouble and we could not fault anything. the room was clean and luxurious with such soft towels and sheets. if we could've moved in we would have but its only fair that other people get to enjoy such a perfect hotel. i would certainly recommend staying here and we look forward to re-visiting in the future.

Room Tip: room one also has a small terrace which is pefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and once again congratulations of your birthday and especially on your engagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent hotel, spotless and well maintained. Staff are really nice and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are to a very high standard and the breakfast was delicious. There is a full breakfast menu served to your table.

Room Tip: Pool and fitness center are off site at a spa. Guests have free use of these during stay. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. It is always rewarding when the staff get a mention and are appreciated, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided at the last minute to have a two night New Year's Eve break in the Lake District and wanted somewhere where we could just relax in relatively luxurious surroundings. We did not want the statutory New Year's disco, where the nearly geriatric try and relive the 1960's, nor did we want children rushing around, well after their bed time. Luckily we found our ideal place in the Applegarth Villa and a fairly kindred spirit, in Alan the affable owner of this family run hotel, which is literally a two minute walk from the lovely Windermere village.

Applegarth was built in the 1890's and has been sympathetically modernised, whilst keeping its best features,such as wonderful stain glass windows and the superb wooden staircase. However at the same time it has been wonderfully modernised with the addition of an airy conservatory at the back, a comfortable bar for a pre dinner snifter and quite exceptional décor in the large bedrooms and particularly in the huge en suite bathrooms. Each room is unique but the linking feature is the wonderful touches apparent in each of the rooms and the quite brilliant bathrooms. This hotel ambience is designed for people to spend quite a lot of their time in their rooms, if they wish to and that doesn't just mean the honeymooners that choose room 2, with its 8ft round bed, its huge jacuzzi and its rain shower. Reading the guest comments confirmed that these features have been well appreciated over the years.

We were in room 9, which was on the second floor (there is no lift but ones bags are transported for you without even having to ask) and looked outwards the hills and the lakes. It had a four-poster, a chaise longue and a wonderfully huge bathroom, complete with rain shower and with a bath with headrest and TV incorporated. Another nice touch was a decanter of sherry and a couple of pastries to enjoy in one's room, as well as tea and coffee. These little thoughts, which abounded throughout were a constant feature and mean so much if you just want to chill out and forget the climate, traffic jams and politicians of all parties. Incidentally if one looks at the hotel website one can see each individual room and check for availability of the one that most pleases (even if is the infamous Room 2!) but I would advise that you ring to book, as it is that type of personal place rather than a chain hotel, where on line booking is far more appropriate.

One other fantastic aspect of ones stay is the quality of the breakfasts, which are superb.... none of that buffet rubbish, which I cannot stand. One has a choice of porridge, cereals, yoghurt with strawberry compote etc, etc and then a choice of a full English, eggs benedict, salmon and scrambled eggs, smoked haddock and even a bumper bacon sandwich are amongst the options. All these are prepared to order and served at one's table; just as breakfast should be in any self respecting hotel.

It was more difficult to give an accurate review of the evening meals (they do not serve lunch) because we were there over New Year and there was a gala dinner one night and a carvery the next evening, which was untypical of the normal menu. Equally I am not a big fan of carveries, as I find them much of a muchness, so it would be churlish to be over critical of this. All the food we did have was perfectly acceptable and the ingredients were clearly high quality but I would put it in the satisfying rather than the gourmet class. This is the only reason why I am not giving the hotel 5 stars, whilst recognising that many people would find the food exactly to their tastes and would find the food I prefer to be over fiddly and pretentious.

This apart I would have no other minor quibbles with our stay. It is the type of place here one can relax in ones room or in the lounges, where one goes to the bar for a pre dinner drink, where one chats with the family who run the hotel and who will bring you a tray of coffee, as you are reading your book and it is a hotel that though luxurious, has no pretentions and glories in its family run nature and in its Lakeland (and Scotland) legacy. It is also a hotel that would be appreciated by all ages and the clientele reflected this from those in their early twenties, to those in their seventies. Equally it has a village location, where one can walk straight into quaintness of Windermere to see the shops or have a lunch and it is within easy reach by car of all of the rest of the wonderful Lake District.

What it isn't is a hotel for families, in fact I think children are not encouraged and it isn't a hotel for those that want quick buffet breakfasts and everything done in a rush. Equally it isn't a particularly easy hotel if you have mobility problems, as there is no lift (although there are some ground floor rooms) and the very adequate car park is immediately behind but is down a bit of a steep slope. However to summarise;if you are looking for an outstanding Lake District venue in which to have a really relaxing stay and which is suitable for couples of all ages, who appreciate luxurious boutique style accommodation; then Applegarth Villa should be very high on your list.

Thank you Alan and family for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Look at the web site to see the individual features of each room and ring to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I really don't think we could get a more comprehensive review of Applegarth if we had written it ourselves. You really have covered ever detail from age of the building to the perfect location we enjoy.Thank you so much. I have no doubt this will be useful to anyone thinking of booking a stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester , England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We returned to the Applegarth for the New Year break (our third stay to date) and as usual we were not disappointed! The service is amazing, nothing is too much trouble, we asked if we could drop off our bags early as we were meeting friends for the afternoon, when we arrived for check in our bags we're in our room already. Kevin always greeted us with a smile and friendly banter, Michelle was lovely and it was like meeting old friends when we saw Alan and Suzanne again. We cannot say enough positive things about this place. The food is sublime, always make sure you're hungry as the portion sizes are ample. My partner loves the whisky bar (Alan's Baby) the choice is vast and forever growing. The rooms are to die for, we stayed in room 17 and love it. We seriously didn't want to leave after 4 glorious nights there. We are already planning our return. Our advice is stay here and it will become your second home in the lakes....just like it is ours!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always great to welcome you back to Applegarth and if you manage to visit us again in February for your birthday you will be able to sample the delights of the new bar and extended Whisky menu!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Returned to the hotel for a New Year break and absolutely loved it. Accommodation was immaculate; food excellent; staff courteous and friendly and the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. Numerous little quality added touches which were most welcome (like sherry and mince pies in our room). All in all couldn't fault it and will be returning anon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I'm sure you will agree Applegarth was fortunate to have a brilliant crowd of Guests in for New Year which really got 2014 off to a great start
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells. All Guests have the use of the newly finished luxury spa facilities close by and with plenty of secure parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, clock radio / ipod docks, free wifi, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Applegarth Villa and Restaurant to your Saves list