We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Save
You added Applegarth Villa and Restaurant to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband booked a 3 night stay and we stayed one night in suite 1 and 2 nights in suite 2. The decor is luxurious, the quality of linen and finish to the room is beautiful. I cannot fault this hotel in any way.... Food amazing! Staff can't do enough for you, the surroundings are stunning, even if the weather isn't kind the technology in rooms keep you entertained. Relaxing in the jacuzzi spa with the star lit ceiling listening to my music was bliss, I felt totally spoilt ! Memories I will treasure and never forget from the beautiful Lake District with the help of the Applegarth hotel.... We will be visiting very soon

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but if it's a special occasion suite 1 or 2 even if for one night is tot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it is always rewarding when the quality, care and attention of our Interior Designers work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    68
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
11
493
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What can I possibly say about Applegarth Villas?

Theres so much to write so here goes............................

This was our third stay at Applegarth Villa and to be honest - we knew what standard of rooms were provided - having previously stopped in Room 7 and 16 respectively..What we weren't prepared for was what we were greeted with - Ultimate Luxury Room 1.

The room was absolutely stunning with every detail taken care of when it came to fittings and fixtures.The orange theme worked really well with the modern open plan living space and was lavishly decorated throughout.The lighting was exquisite and catered for every mood.

The bathroom was to die for.Me and my wife Joanne spent most afternoons making use of the sauna facility as well as the spa bath and Jacuzzi.We especially loved the taps on the his/hers hand basins and thought the waterfall effect of the water coming out was very apt for the location.

The room itself was absolutely spotlessly clean throughout in every way ,shape and form.We especially liked the private balcony outside from the bi-folding doors and was very useful for a cheeky glass of wine.

The fire looked warm and cosy when the curtains were drawn and made the room very homely.

We used the restaurant for evening meals and breakfasts.The standard of service we received was excellent and we couldn't have wished for anything more.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the waitresses and they were very polite to my wife and myself for the whole of our stay.

The tables were spotlessly clean,well laid out with sparkling cutlery and white linen.There was more than enough room on each table we sat at.The ambient music was tasteful and relaxing - but wasn't too over-powering.

The parking facilities are excellent and are overlooked at the rear of the hotel.The location of this superb hotel is central and very easy to get to in Windermere.

The hospitality was second to none as it always is from Suzanne,Alan and their family and this is the reason why we have decided to come back for a third time.We spent our honeymoon in 2012 at Applegarth and will come back every year for many future years to come - purely because of the everything that Applegarth has to offer in terms of hospitality,quality of service and value for money.

Mrs and Mrs Shaun and Joanne Tate

Room Tip: Room 1 is a must,Room 7 is beautiful and Room 16 is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Shaun and Joanne
All at Applegarth are overwhelmed by your kind comments. Thank you so much. As always we look forward to welcoming you back for your second anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Applegarth is a truly outstanding hotel in a quiet street in Windermere. The rooms are all decorated to a very high standard with fantastic bathrooms. The staff were very welcoming and friendly making it feel like a home from home.
We will definitely stay there the next time we visit our daughter in Windermere and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a real touch of luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The web site is excellent and gives detailed photos of every room making it easy to choose the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review your comments are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

From booking to departure, Applegarth provided an excellent experience. Great website, friendly, helpful advice via phone booking and a truly memorable stay. Accommodation, service and food were first class and combined to make a lovely relaxing atmosphere. We are definitely looking forward to returning there for another week-end escape; can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted that you feel we have achieved what we set out to do, simply create a relaxed environment with good food in the heart of the Lake District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Back in May I was trying to find somewhere special for our honeymoon, trawling the internet in the hope that I could find a place that not only promised to be five star, but was actually five star.... but not at a rip off price... harder than you may think! Applegarth Villa was without a doubt that place. The most luxurious hotel we've stayed in for a long time, it ticked every box in terms of value for money, luxury and being 'that special somewhere'. We ended up extending our stay and got the pleasure of trying not just one, but two rooms. They were equally outstanding in terms of amenities, the hot tubs were out of this world and the beds seriously comfortable. Added extras like the rain showers and LED lighting were the icing on the already top quality cake. The hotel itself is old and beautiful, full of original features like the wonderful stained glass window on the stairwell. The service was unobtrusive, helpful when needed, and pleasant, and the food was great. Thank you Kevin and the team for really making our honeymoon special, we couldn't have wished for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Look on the internet at the highly informative webpage, you get a guided tour of each room and can m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted that you chose to spend such a special occasion as your honeymoon at Applegarth and that after so much deliberation we lived up to your expectations. Wishing you both every happiness for your future together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wanted a luxury night away for our 2nd year anniversary. First impressions of the hotel really nice and a warm welcome. We arrived early so went for a bit to eat then checked in at 3pm. We had choosen Ultimate luxury Room 1 and upon entering the room we were quite disappointed.
The room was on the ground floor so we were totally overlooked and the views were of a garden and a partial side view of a road and houses.

The room offered an outdoor terrace which again was overlooked by the restaurant. The actual room was very nice but when you pay for that kind of room you dont expect to have awful plastic glasses for drinking water etc.

They did, however, provide the room with a fresh bowel of fruit.

The selling point is the bathroom - its amazing - I would recommend trying everything in there! (need to get better toilet paper though).

The details such as the fire (not real), sound system etc in the bedroom was impressive.

Cleaning: we found the bedside glass table (nearest to the vanity unit to be ingrained with dirt and the central table dusty. The rest of the cleaning was good.

Our evening started with a bottle of wine in the sitting room which was lovely and peacful and the owners provided us with some canapes too which was a really nice touch.

The restaurant - this was pleasant although we found we had to whisper during our meal so the ambiance was somewhat disappointing - you want to be able to have a laugh or talk normally but this was ridicules and it was almost full!

The food - was very good - my husbands lamb was to die for - I opted for the fish which was nice but lacking in sauce. Cheesboard was divine and the houswine is very good. Note - once you have finsihed your starter the main comes immediatly after that so ask for a break and even ask for a break for dessert. Service was good.

We have stayed at Gilpin Lodge (which is beautiful) and the food at Applegarth is on par so congrats!

Our sleep was good up until about 6am when the noise started! From guessing I suspect we were directly underneath the kitchen or something and the doors to the other bedrooms on our floor were constantly banging which was extermley annoying. For a room like this you should not hear anything. So we decided just to get up as there was no point trying to switch off.

Breakfast was good although the susage was very artifical tasting but the rest was very fresh - the bread and yougurts were yummy.

Great hosts but I would NOT recommend this room for that special occasion - I suspect a room at top level will be better so saving you some money. I dont think we will be returning which is a shame as the location is excellent and the hotel interior is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are sorry that you were disappointed that your room had a view over the garden and not over the fells. Applegarth is one of the few establishments that actually encourages Guests to choose the room specific to their requirements therefore our website gives a detailed description of each room clearly showing whether it has a view, features specific to that room and numerous pictures . We do have many rooms with fell views.
Your comments regarding our restaurant have really blown us away. You are very kind. Chef and his team work extremely hard to create exceptionally good, fresh local food and Gilpin Lodge is one of the finest restaurants in the area and a very hard act to follow so for you to comment that you felt dinner at Applegarth was on a par is a great accolade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked the Applegarth as a last minute short break after reading the online reviews. Was not disappointed at all. Hospitality, rooms, location and especially food were all first class. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so pleased Applegarth lived up to all your expectations, especially your dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, clock radio / ipod docks, free wifi, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.