We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyn and Mick Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Save
You added Applegarth Villa and Restaurant to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lyn and Mick Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Applegarth for 3 nights while visiting from Australia,and we were so glad we did ,Our stay was PERFECT,this villa has everything to offer, excellent service ,beautiful accommodation, with rooms that look like they are out of the best magazines and the very very best food.Suzanne and Alan your are to be complimented on your detail to perfection in all areas.We felt so at home but with the added feeling of being treated as royals.We stayed in room 1 and was so impressed with the decor and that shower and spa WOW!!!! Again thank you for a wonderful 3 days, we will always remember your excellent hospitality .

Room Tip: room 1 has the best shower and large 2 person spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. If your ever in Engand again we hope you will come and see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    68
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
11
495
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful rooms, lovely decor and bags of space. Plenty of car park room too. The food was excellent with lovely touches like canapés in the bar before dinner. Wonderful steak and smoked Venison. Excellent eggs Benedict for breakfast, better than the omelette which was a bit more like scrambled egg. Would stay again and recommend to anyone who is looking for a guest house with a bit of class where you're pretty much guaranteed to have your stay run smoothly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our rooms and restaurant although I will be testing Chefs omelette in the morning!!! You do make a very good point that in this area where parking is such a premium we are so lucky to have such a large secure floodlit carpark with CCTV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We first stayed here a year ago, was not our choice but a gift from my dad for our honeymoon a very pleasant surprise! we stayed in luxury room 7 and i have nothing but good to say, spotless, comfortable, spacious and very luxury that bath with mood lighting is amazing!! nothing could top it off!!.............until we went back this weekend.

For our 1st wedding anniversary we decided we had such a good time we wanted to return so we booked ultimate luxury suite 1 and we have had the most amazing time ever. Honestly we was a little worried that when we got there it would not meet our expectation, being a bit pricey but WOW worth every single penny if you are celebrating a special occasion. the suite is HUGE and so relaxing from the whirlpool bath with a t.v built into the wall opposite, to the steam room and then relaxing outside on the private terrace.

The food in the restaurant is out of this world and if the rooms at Applegarth are out of your budget but you are in windermere defiantly visit the restaurant, non residents are welcome and the restaurant is a hidden gem!.

As much as we enjoyed our room and our food, you are made to feel so welcome at Applegarth we had only been once but when checking in Alan recognized us and instantly made us feel welcomed again. We only got back today and are already planning our next visit and we hope to celebrate our wedding anniversary there next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for an amazing review,you are very kind. We'll see what we can do for your second anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time. We found out about it in the Conde Johansens small hotel guide which we have found to be a reliable reference. We checked the hotel web site which was very user friendly and we made our reservation. We chose room 19 which was located down the stairs from reception. This double room was fine with an attractive ensuite bathroom. The only slight down side was that this room was located directly below the bar so you could hear some movements from above occasionally. This however was only a slight distraction and did not spoil our stay. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was first rate with well prepared local produce on offer. The menu had good variety and we both looked forward to dinner in the evening. The hotel is located very close to the high street in Windermere which makes the town very accessible on foot. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will most likely stay again in future. We can confidently recommend this hotel. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms are all shown in the hotel web site which is a very useful reference for room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.Our Head Chef and team work hard to prepare the finest quality local produce they can find in the area and are alway delighted when their hard work is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed last weekend for our anniversary....it was an offer so we didnt know which room we would have..we were in 15, which was ok..plus side the bed was superb..down side the bathroom was far to cramped...the sink was tiny and to be honest it was difficult to even shave in it...the toilet was positioned to close to the sink/vanity unit so for a tall man it would be a struggle...the full english breakfast was excellant , the eggs benedict were average.overal breakfast was as u would expect.
Didnt use the bar but it looked cosy and relaxing...if we stayed again would choose different room. To sum up the Applegarth is a very nice place despite my little gripe about the bathroom.

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 because of the inadequate sink..for me it lets it down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. Here at Applegarth we have four types of room from the deluxe room that you chose to the superior, luxury and then ultimate luxury. This offers our Guests the luxury of experiencing 5* furnishings, onsite bar and restaurant , large floodlit carpark with CCTV and off site luxury spa facilities whatever their budget. For the best offers and the opportunity to choose your own room its always best to book direct. We very much hope to see you both again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I honestly don't know where to start, I'm not going to give you the long boring blow by blow account of our holiday. All I can say is......
Applegarth villa is THE best hotel We have ever stayed in (and we have traveled A LOT)!
Suzanne and Alan are THE best hosts and bent over backwards to accommodate us and make sure our holiday was amazing!
The food in the restaurant was AMAZING (I literally could've eaten my body weight in the canapés alone!)
GREAT location, a very short walk to Windermere high street.
The chambermaids and hotel staff were all so very, very polite and friendly.
I cannot think of 1 bad thing to say about our experience at the applegarth other than we had to leave at the end of our holiday.
Thank you so much to Suzanne and Alan. We will DEFINITELY be back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having just returned from our stay at the Applegarth we had to say what a wonderful time we had at your hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Suzanne was excellent at shoe shop directions. Bar was well stocked and your rose wine went down well. We stayed in room 16 and was impressed with it couldnt fault anything about it. The evening meal was served in a relaxed atmosphere nothing was rushed and watching the sun set over the hills whilst sat in the resturant was lovely. We will definitely be returning next year am working on having the ultimate luxury room for next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you agree that Gina Ricci shoe sale was definitely worth a visit . I hope you are stilll delighted with your purchases. I'm also pretty good at handbag and clothes shop directions!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 gold star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant with AA restaurant award, situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells. With plenty of secure on site parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, clock radio / ipod docks, free wifi, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.