We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPLEGARTH HOTEL STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“APPLEGARTH HOTEL STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Applegarth Villa.
Loved every minute of it.
Great rooms , very clean.
The service was great and the staff made us feel very welcome.
We eat in the hotel both nights and the food and service were both excellent.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice relaxing break in the lake district.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the lovely comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    42
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
315
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Applegarth with friends for a 3 day break over Christmas . What a fantastic place! The atmosphere was tremendous and the food stunning. The manager and staff could not have improved on the stay in any respect.

The rooms are immaculate and , as a special treat for my wife, we upgraded to Room 1, the newly refurbished suite and the attention to detail is incredible there, with a jacuzzi, steam room , 50 inch TV etc. etc. Well worth the extra.

My friend's wife was on crutches after an operation and the staff were very helpful in accommodating her

Would we go back there again?? In an instant!

We originally picked Applegarth because it is a Johansens listed hotel, and they are always exceptional in their welcome and standards. Applegarth is no exception.

Many many thanks to Kevin and the staff for a fantastic Christmas

Room Tip: Room 1 is a lovely suitr
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Christmas is a very special time so it is important to know that you enjoyed the occasion with us and that my son-in-law Kevin and the staff looked after you well. Thank you very much for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in January 2011
Centrally located to amenities,
The hotel is lovely, however you need to be prepared to pay top prices but in my opinion it is well worth it. I stayed in luxury room 16, this was on the lower floor, very quiet, very warm, had a little courtyard. The owners were polite and attentive, good welcome and I was advised of how to get to places since this was my first visit to the lakes. Breakfast was very nice. It was a flying visit and would love to return, especially to this hotel and try some of the other rooms. I think the main positive about this hotel is that it's smaller with fewer rooms and this helps withthe attention to detail and overall service.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 16 but all of the rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review and the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked this hotel after another hotel let us down due to a burst sewage pipe! It has to be said it came as a blessing in disguise, and would not hesitate in the future to use this hotel again. Some people may say it is on the expensive side but this is in keeping with most other hotels in windermere. We had bed, breakfast and Evening meal which was superb. Room was immaculate and bathroom was special with a lovely double ended whirlpool bath with mood lighting. At times although the hotel was near full you felt like you where there on your own which added to the relaxation. Staff where really welcoming and always on hand to answer any questions

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I'm glad we were able to accommodate you at such short notice and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked into Applegarth for a 3 night New Year break with great expectations, the room did not disappoint nor did the meal on the first evening. We chose from the restaurant menu and the meal was superb though the restaurant lacked atmosphere. Breakfast on New Years eve was ok and we had a lovely day out and about in the lakes but it all went down hill from there. We had forward to our 7 course New Years eve Gala Dinner only to be totally disappointed. The first course of smoked chicken with salad was fine but then we were served with hamhock broth which was bland and far too hefty (almost a stew) for a seven course meal. The fish course was very good (the best of the evening) but the sorbet that followed was more like a pudding than a palate cleanser. The main event was an overcooked pork fillet plonked on a plate of bland vegetables - boiled parsnips, carrots and corgettes, very uninspiring!! The sweet was just ok and the coffee served up cold. We retired to the bar but there was little atmosphere and no attempt by the hosts to liven things up. by 11:00 pm we gave in and went back to our room. Breakfast on New Years day was again ok and we had another good day out in the lakes. The evening meal was billed as Chef's carvery, the starter was adequate (though he does appear to want to smoke everything) but what followed was aweful. There was a choice of beef, lamb and pork and the meat was fine, the veg was another story. It was the same veg as New Years Eve all thrown together in one serving tray! The yorkshire pudding was inedible and the whole thing was served up barely warm. It was the worse carvery I have ever experienced probably akin to the pub £3.95 version. Desert was ok. This was followed by a race night which was good, but surely the owners could have made this kind of effort for New Years Eve?? We left after breakfast the following day feeling that we had not had value for money (it cost with drinks over £1300.00) and were very disappointed by the whole experience. Last year we went to Wrea Head Hotel near Scarborough, the food was far superior, the room was lovely and the atmosphere was brilliant and all at half the price.
To sum up on Applegarth our room was very good but the food was well below par (if we had had the restaurant menu every night it may have been better), the hotel lacked atmosphere and the owners did little to improve it. I fear nothing will change on this front as they say themselves all the hotels in the area could be filled 3 times over most weekends, though I wonder how much repeat business they get, I for one will not be returning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. This was our eleventh time celebrating Christmas and New Year at the Applegarth and have along the way made a lot of people very happy at this very special time of the year.Unfortunately in your case we were unsuccessful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from the Applegarth and we have had an excellent experience here. The staff were really good - attentive but not intrusive.The breakfast was really good but an evening meal in the restaurant was absolutely perfect, couldn't fault it at all. The service was prompt but not rushed, the menu was good and the food was divine. The room (no 7) was lovely with a huge jacuzzi bath and everything was immaculate. It is walking distance to loads of bars and shops and a short way to the lake with all the boat trips.
All the rooms had a Christmas stocking on the door and on our last day mince pies and dessert wine was left for us on our return. The place had a lovely, homely feel about it and we had a lovely Twixtmas break. Well recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms here are individual, but no 7 was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words and for taking the time to review us. It would be a pleasure to see you again although I cannot promise that there will be an abundace of mince pies readily available unless of course you visit during the festive period when they are mandatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here in February combining our anniversary with valentines day. We stayed in the best room (and most expensive!) in the hotel. The room was out of this world with an 8ft round bed, huge Jacuzzi bath, massive shower and 2 TV's to name but a few things! The attention to detail in that room is amazing! A 3 course meal was included in the price and was gorgeous! An amazing place to stay if you want luxury for a couple of days. The location is also perfect and the staff cant do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The reaction to our eight foot round bed never ceases to amaze me so I am glad you both enjoyed the room and the food at this very special and romantic time of the year. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applegarth Villa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegarth Villa and Restaurant

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Applegarth Villa and Restaurant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegarth Villa is truly a rare find being the only 5 star guest accommodation with on-site bar & restaurant situated in Windermere in the very heart of the Lake District. Offering individual luxury accommodation of the highest standard, this magnificent Villa is unique to Windermere. Having both an Award winning restaurant serving only the best locally sourced regional produce and a cosy oak panelled bar with roaring fire and one of the finest Whisky selection in the area, this is the perfect place to spend the evening after enjoying a day in the Lakes. Who would want to venture out on a cold winters evenings with everything you need in one magnificent building. Equally our summer terrace is the perfect outdoor space to dine in warmer weather whilst enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sunset over the distant fells. All Guests have the use of the newly finished luxury spa facilities close by and with plenty of secure parking this makes Applegarth the perfect choice for your stay in the lakes. To compliment this magnificent building, all our rooms are fully coordinated with fabrics and soft furnishings carefully chosen by our interior designer. Luxurious bathrooms, wall mounted flat screen TV's, clock radio / ipod docks, free wifi, refreshment tray, bottled Lakeland water and bathrobes all come as standard! In consideration of our many guests who join us to escape family and business pressures, we are unable to welcome children. Our guest accommodation offers everything you would come to expect from Windermere hotels, including a public bar, a beautiful 40 cover conservatory restaurant, a large private floodlit car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegarth Villa And Jr`s Restaurant
Applegarth Villa & Jr`s Restaurant Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Hotel Windermere
Applegarth Villa And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applegarth Villa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Applegarth Villa and Restaurant to your Saves list