We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday present” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Windermere Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Spent a night in the Ullswater room which came with its own hot tub. The room was tidy, clean, well presented and the hot tub was all set up and a nice treat. However the hot tub wasn't entirely private as it was near the rear gate of the hotel and was in front of the room and only partly obscured from passers by. Breakfast service was good however was a little ordinary in terms of quality. To summarize a nice hotel however didn't quite feel the 4 star service as advertised. Have stayed in 3 star hotels with the same or better service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Windermere Boutique Hotel.

We are are happy that you found the room to your satisfaction, but sorry that you feel that the hot tub was not as private as you hoped.

We have taken all comments on board and hope to make changes were necessary.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    173
    104
    59
    97
See reviews for
12
471
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here on 7/7/14 in room 4,comfy bed,spa bath,mood lighting in room,steam room,bose docking system,champagne breakfast,will definately stay here again,nicely decorated and clean.Very friendly staff nothing is too much for them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Windermere Boutique Hotel.

We are pleased that you had an amazing stay and that the room and the facilities were comfortable.

we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We took a trip to Windermere in June to celebrate our engagement.

We stayed in the Ullswater suite which was lovely! Beautiful decor, clean and the mood lighting in the bathroom was lovely. Really loved the layout and shower Aswell!

Our hot tub was at the front of our room tucked away under the stairs. We had a great relaxing afternoon/evening with a bottle of Fizz!

We had beautiful weather and had a lovely short stroll down into Windermere and a lovely meal on the night time! We hopped in a taxi on the way back my feet were hurting from walking all day- I think it cost maybe £4! Cheap as chips!

Lovely little hotel would recommend for a special occasion! Just a shame check in is so late in the afternoon so I felt like we were on a bit of a tight schedule! We still had a great time and I would love to come visit again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review and congratulations on your engagement.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and choose Windermere Boutique Hotel to celebrate such a wonderful occasion.

We are happy that you found the facilitates to be wonderful and that you enjoyed using them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of june. We had a lovely time. We stayed in the Elterwater suite. From the moment we arrived the staff were very welcoming, our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were told we could leave car there and wander into town. Breakfast was very nice. We could not fault anything about the hotel. we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found all the staff very welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the first time with my husband and my in laws. It was a present to my mother in law who was 70. I had arranged prior to us arriving for flowers to be placed in my mother in laws room which were beautiful. We stayed in the Buttermere and the Esthwaite rooms. Both were lovely with great Jacuzzi baths. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice and I especially enjoyed the offer of a bucks fizz with my cereal! We travel to the Lakes on a regular basis and would definitely think about booking this hotel again. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review.

We are so pleased that your Mother in law had a wonderful Birthday and that you all enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We come to Windermere on a working holiday, and stayed in room 4 . I was a little worried about the reviews after looking on trip adviser, but had no reason to worry.
We were made to feel so welcome on arrival. And the room was fantastic. Clean, plenty of space and very romantic. The staff could not do enough to make our stay the best it could be. Due to our early starts, we would have missed being able to have the cooked part of our breakfast but the staff were so lovely and made us breaky to take away. The food is spot on!The hotel is great and only 5min walk from the main part of town. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the the staff are over the moon that there hard work was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights for our first anniversary. From booking the stay to checking out the service was brilliant. Very friendly staff, and a very pleasant little hotel. We stayed in the Rydal suite which was upstairs in a separate cottage at the back, across a small courtyard. I personally liked being able to come and go without traipsing through the hotel. No spectacular views, but having spent all day on the fells it was nice just to shut ourselves away and enjoy the very relaxing spa bath and a bit of TV. Certainly a luxury I could get used to! Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of selection in a beautiful dining room. The only drawback was that below us another room had the hot-tub outside so it could get a bit loud with the windows open, although there is a curfew of 10:30pm so didn't affect us too much. It was a lovely stay in a very friendly, well presented hotel. Just wish it could have been for longer! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Windermere Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Windermere Boutique Hotel.

All produce is locally sourced and cooked to order, we are pleased you enjoyed and it set you up for a days walking. The cottage is popular as it is quiet to the rear of the hotel and having your own entrance.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Boutique Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windermere Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 The Lakes Windermere
21 The Lakes Hotel Windermere
21 Lakes
Windermere Boutique Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.