We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal, Amazing value!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Walls Steakhouse and Restaurant

Grey Walls Steakhouse and Restaurant
Elleray Road | Grey Walls Hotel, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
015394 43741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Amazing meal, Amazing value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We popped into The Grey's after hearing about there new Sunday roast. It was spot on. A choice of meats which was lovely the ham was juicy and moist and Turkey was full of flavour, amazing! The price was great, one of the best in Windermere and Bowness. Excellent value for money.
Highly recommend if your ever in the area , to top it off the staff were lovely with a large range of beers and ales.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    19
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Local hotel worker told us to visit as it was a Gastro pub--well I do not know what qualifies for "gastro" in Windermere but not this place . Nothing of any note on the menu --the interior was a bit drab -staff were fine and what food we had was just ok -we did stay on through the evening for their famous pub quiz but it went on for ever -over two hours! we were glad when it was over and we could go back to our hotel .

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Ate here whilst on holiday wish we hadn't bothered..whilst we were the first to order food as they don't serve food until 5pm and as far as I could see there was only a couple of others ordering food the starters took over an hour to reach out table,the starters were nothing special prawn cocktail and a BBQ sharing plater which had cost £17.95!!!!!way overpriced for what we were given..we ordered steaks for our main they were dry and overcooked and the size of a small beef burger..chips were frozen not home made in all a pretty disappointing meal certainly not a steak house as the name would suggest below par pub grub save your money and go elsewhere

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice pub with nice views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Nice pub with the usual pub grub on offer along with daily specials, Pie day, Grill day, Curry day and Fish and chip day. Specials days are £5.50 each meal any other time you are paying £2/3 extra for the same meal. Drinks are quite expensive, but they are at all the local bars and restaurants. We tried the curry day, the meal was beef Vindaloo and was full of tasty beef (nan and mango chutney was an extra £1) Didn't try the fish and chip night we went to the Little Chippy recommended and it was good.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

They were supposed to have a good selection of real ales on tap as the photos depict on their website, all they had was one local beer.

No atmosphere and not worth a visit

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Walls Steakhouse and Restaurant also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Grey Walls Steakhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Walls Steakhouse and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.