We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is such a relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Samling Hotel to your Saves list
The Samling Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“this is such a relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

nothing too much trouble, rooms are spacious and every one different. fabulous views of the lake and dinner an experience which lasted 3 1/2 hours. we had the tasting menu "gourmand" and it is served with such spectacle that there isn't any need for a cabaret. the food was really very good with tastes and textures to tantalise the diner, the courses keep coming and at the end of the meal we both felt repleat. this was a final stop for us on our 5 night trip after staying at 2 other extremely nice hotels. breakfast served in the room as standard made the end of our stay very special indeed. the staff are helpfull and friendly all aspects of the visitors needs are responded to with courtesy and speed. full marks ...we will be back

Room Tip: go for an upgrade it is worth the extra, as you get a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    61
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
299
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick word to say what a wonderful hotel this is. The staff were absolutely brilliant,and the food certainly lives up to expectations. We had the taster menu and were blown away by the quality of the food and the service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After all the hype, this hotel was always likely to struggle to live up to its reputation. In the event, it pretty much fulfilled our expectations and we enjoyed the experience. On a wet May weekend we stayed in the Dovenest, a "standard double" room out at the back of the house with a very large bathroom. It was comfortable and stylish as well as being reasonably practical, which some stylish room are not! The rather muddy gravel path to the main building meant shoes became rather messy, perhaps some crushed local green slate would improve the surface?.
Staying with the external aspects of the hotel, the site is gloriously situated with lovely views down Windermere and in well kept grounds, but the entrance is decidedly steep and somewhat narrow. Not a lot the hotel can do to improve access given the steep hillside on which it stands but there is definitely only access and egress from the south. No way could you turn right out of the gateway, nor turn in to it from the north.
Naturally, at "The world's best dining hotel" , it was the dinner which provided much of the focus for our visit. Along with another couple, our friends who had introduced us to the Samling we opted for the "Gourmand" menu, nominally 7 courses but I think we counted 9! Each course was small, one might say tiny but perhaps "dainty" would be more in keeping. Each had its own interest and some were downright startling, or at least fascinating but as the meal progressed through a long evening we began to wonder if we would leave the table still hungry. We need not have worried; by the time the last course was served we had eaten plenty and had enjoyed the whole process, including the elements of dining room "theatre" provided by the waiting staff.
All in all, an expensive but worthwhile visit with a satisfying number of "Wow" moments!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only had time for a one night stay at The Samling and it was our first visit. The experience was fantastic and it will we hope be the first of many visits. All the rooms are beautiful providing every thing you need with lots of luxuries as well. The setting is amazing with stunning views of the lake and surrounding countryside. The staff are wonderful, friendly,helpful and extremely efficient and the food! It was some of the best we've ever had. We had the tasting menu with wine matching, something we've done before in some of the top hotels in the world and The Samling did not disappoint. The chef is very talented, the menu was inventive, there was a bit of theatre and the food tasted fabulous. If you can't manage a stay we would certainly recommend trying to have a meal there, they do lunch, dinner and afternoon tea.
We got drenched on our walk, but the countryside is so beautiful and knowing we could look forward to a hot soak in our beautiful bathroom followed by pre-dinner drinks our spirits never flagged. After only one night we returned home more rested and relaxed than we have from some much longer breaks. The Samling is a place we certainly recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the ones at the front have the best views but the less expensive ones stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first visit and will certainly not be our last. The complete weekend was wonderful, our suite (Lethera) was beautiful, spread over 3 floor levels with the most amazing view of Lake Windermere. We had the tasting menu included in our booking which was delicious and an unusual and complete dining experience. The waiting staff were extremely knowledgable and informative about all the courses, wines and cheeses without being overbearing or stuffy. A real delight.
We also had breakfast delivered to our room in order to make the most of it and enjoyed eating it at the table by the window looking over the lake. This was ordered the evening before and delivered exactly on time, again by friendly and helpful staff. All in all a really lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The last time I wrote a review for the Samling I really wanted to give it 'excellent' status but thought I couldn't as I had a couple of minor quibbles. I am happy to say that, after a return visit, it rightly deserves to be rated as 'excellent' - as it truly is a wonderful experience to go there and it thoroughly deserves the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband the weather was awful but the welcome that we received from the staff more than made up for that. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful view and the bathroom spectacular . We decided to have the tasting menu which was a departure for us it was amazing and a more of an experience than just a meal.Will certainly return..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.