We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent service excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Samling Hotel to your Saves list
The Samling Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excelent service excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The service in this hotel is efficient and certainly not stuffy.
A very pleasant welcome was given on arrival and despite there being no actual reception the check in process was informal yet perfect.
The room was excellent and food in the restaurant was superb, perfectly presented and served by friendly knowledgeable staff.
Not the cheapest hotel in the area but for a treat I would really recommend it.
Check out was as simple as check in but a little gift for the journey was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Methera has a separate sitting area and has views to the south and the west over lake Windemere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    65
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
311
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The 7 course tasting menu, with wine package to match each course, was, without doubt, the best dining experience my husband and I have ever had. See previous reviewer who has described each course far better than I could. It was just a perfect way to spend Valentines day. The hotel is lovely and the staff very attentive. Our room was a little tired, but that didn't spoil our overall experience of this stunning boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic valentines day break.

Unfortunately photos of the food are not pemitted out of respect for the other guests but I'll do my best to describe..

We arrived about 5pm and were met in the car park, shown to our room (Dove nest) and checked in with more ease than any other place we've stayed. 5 minutes later two complimentary glasses of champagne were delivered..

We both plumped for the gourmand meal which was great value, superb michelin star standard food and service..

Highlights for me include:

- an amazing rib of beef main with parsley bon bon and textures of onion

- a "smoking" pre-dessert of mohito sorbet, lemonade granita and a white chocolate pearl

- fantastic turbot in exceptional asian broth, the broth finished at the table with the cleverest presentation I have ever seen (the clear broth sat in a glass bowl above a small oil light and bubbled through into a separate bowl containing corronder, galangal, cinnamon, and other flavours infusing for several minutes before being vacuum sucked back into its clear bowl once the oil light burned out)... Not just a gimmick but true theatre and exceptional flavours

- a chocolate, beetroot and pomegranite dessert which was rich, clever and "adult" in every flavour

- black forest macaroon and salted chocolate fudge petit fours

- accidulated water melon, onion ash and feta amuse

My partner opted for the vegetarian gourmand as was equally impressed.

The breakfast the following moring, in bed, was to die for.

We went to the Samling for Afternoon tea when it was owned by Von Essen several years ago, but have been "worried" about going for dinner since it lost is michelin star as a result of the parent company insolvency.

we neednt. It was fantastic all round. Traditional without being stuff. Welcoming and warm. An awe inspiring location and firt class fine dining.

The Samling has always been always been situated in one of the finest locations in England, if not the world. They have toughed out the insolvency of Von Essen, the new owners have invested in a fantastic head chef and all the enthusiasm and hard work means that once again the food and service match the amazing location.

You can really sense that the whole team, particularly the kitchen and front of house staff are fired up about its future.

Much deserving of Michelin success in 2013. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This small Hotel is all you could wish for if you like informal but friendly attention, very comfortable rooms, fantastic views and wonderful and interesting food. I do not know of a better small hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good but do ask for a room with a view which is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday last year in one of the suites and we absolutely loved it! The staff were a credit to the hotel, very attentive. We didnt eat at the hotel, but they were happy to make reservations on our behalf at other places that they had recommended. We also made use of the hot tub at sunset which was a lovely experience. Again, the staff couldn't do enough for us. We had bought our own wine and yet they were happy to provide us with an ice bucket and wine glasses, which were waiting for us when we arrived at the hot tub. Nothing was too much trouble and our stay was definitely a memorable one. We are hoping to go back to celebrate our honeymoon later this year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
payts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed one night in Tethera - 3 large windows with stunning views over the gardens down to Lake. The food was fabulous, all 7 courses. Staff are excellent, attentive and very friendly. We had breakfast in our room with the stunning views. Then we had hot tub for an hour. I would definitely stay 2 nights next time! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Tethera about entrance with 3 large windows overlooking the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just spent an overnight at The Samling and enjoyed every minute. A very warm welcome and then a spell in the HOT tub overlooking the lake - amazing view. Great even on a very cold February day.
Each room is beautifully decorated and each has a different feel.

Dining here is a wonderful experience - the taster menu with wine was outstanding.

Another visit very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.