We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find and a fabulous venue for a very special treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Save Saved
You added Gilpin Hotel & Lake House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Windermere
1 review
“A great find and a fabulous venue for a very special treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit. A truly stunning location and the team there make you feel very special. This is as expensive as it gets for a UK hotel outside London, however you're paying for the seclusion, individually tailored service, quality of the product and the popular location. My preference is to stay at the Lake House and take advantage of the complimentary car service that takes you to the main hotel for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your splendid review, the Lake House is beautiful and is definitely the place to be for a relaxing treat away! We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and visit us again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    74
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
486
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South-West-UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've been coming to Gilpin Lodge for around 18 years and have seen it go through various stages of evolution as new chefs have come and gone, original owners have retired and the next generation taken over etc. We recently stayed at the hotel for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was quite exceptional and a real credit to the current chef - who is clearly on a mission to secure a Michellin star for the hotel.

We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful food (though not the heartiest breakfast), fantastic setting, attentive yet polite and discreet staff, fabulous rooms. Not enough? Superbly furnished, this is a dream getaway. Ideal for a special occasion. It's not cheap!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four day stay in a Garden Suite at the Gilpin Lodge.

This is a very well managed and family owned hotel that was able to respond quickly and competently to an unexpected power cut one morning just before breakfast. The residents were kept informed of what was happening, breakfast was made available, albeit with a reduced menu and the sanitary system was kept working - this shows how capable the team is at the Gilpin Hotel.

We had a virtually flawless stay and the only glitch was a muddle in our reservation where our preferred suite had been allocated to someone else; it may be worth checking that all is in order before you go; we were moved to an equivalent grade of suite without delay so no real problem there.

The food is very good indeed although the amuse bouche on two nights was of major proportions! We ate swordfish from the Grill Menu on two occasions and it was the best we have ever tasted - 12/10 to the chef.

The staff are exceptionally friendly without being over familiar, the restaurant service was attentive without being over fussy - just perfect. We also found the staff at reception to be very helpful with advice on where to visit and when and that helped us a lot as it rained a lot during our visit.

Perhaps the only negatives are the location which is about 3 miles from Bowness and Windermere so a car is necessary or one has to rely on local cabs and the absence of a gym/pool although the staff can arrange for access to these elsewhere.

We ate at Hooked in Windermere one evening and that is well worth a visit - it is a bit quirky but has superb fish.

In summary; this is not a cheap hotel but it is very good value for an exceptionally well managed and friendly hotel that serves excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Fantastic review thank you very much we are really pleased you enjoyed your four night stay with us. It is lovely to read that you were still able to enjoy the local area and make the most of your stay even with the typical Lake District weather!

We will look forward to welcoming you back and will try and promise sunshine for you both next time.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times before but not for 3 years, and we needed a reminder about what a beautiful, elegant, comfortable hotel it is! All the decor and furnishings have been well thought out and are of excellent quality, much money must have been spent on it and it shows. There are many delightful places to sit both inside and out on the lovely terrace, we needed more than one night to do it justice! We booked a "basic" room but had been upgraded 2 levels to a beautiful split level room with its own little terrace outside - so thank you very much for that! Dinner was superb, even better than we remembered, very innovative menu, wonderful tastes and textures. The wine list had some very interesting offerings. Hope to be back later this year!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Wow what a delightful review, thank you very much. It is lovely to read that we were able to make your stay even better than last time and will look forward to welcoming you back a little later this year.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarrow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

For a start, this hotel is expensive! BUT, worth every penny. My wife took me for 3 nights for my 60th birthday and what a present it was. We were treated like royalty but in a very friendly, homely way. The staff and the family owners could'nt have done more to make us feel special. Each morning we looked out from our bedroom ( The Harriet ) onto their private lake and wooded grounds. So beautiful! The food was superb and seeing as the main restaurant is seperate from where we stayed, we were chauffeur driven to and from the restaurant.
We spent each afternoon sipping champagne in the outdoor hot tub, then went for a swim in their indoor pool finishing off in the sauna. Absolute luxury!!
Cannot wait for my wifes special birthday because we are going back!!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into 2 parts. Where we stayed was called 'The Lake House' which only has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Gilpin Hotel & Lake House to spend your special Birthday and for taking the time to write a superb review. The Harriet Suite at the Lake House is beautiful and is definitely the suite to choose when celebrating!

Thanks once again and we will hopefully see you both again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely place for an entire week, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It just could not have been better! It takes a lot of work to deliver an experience like this! Whatever they are doing, they are doing it right. The service was superlative. Everyone was friendly and welcoming without somehow being overbearing. The smallest things were made easy. The food is absolutely top-notch, and you could have it in your room, the lounge, or the restaurant. The common areas are all lovely. And the room itself was huge and beautiful. The bathroom was huge and light and comfortable. We had our own hot tub on a small deck outside our window. Home-made sugar cookies appeared in our room daily. Really, what more could you ask? I will note that this is an expensive area, because it's a top UK destination. The room was not cheap. But, this is a clear case of value for money. You cannot go wrong with this place. (One other small note: it's not facing onto the Lake; it's a few miles away. You will need a car. But, that will be the case in this area regardless.)

Room Tip: We were in the Sergeant Man garden suite. It was wonderful! But, just to be clear: it's not pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Love the title of this review, thank you very much! We are really pleased we were able to create the perfect location and atmosphere for your wedding anniversary and hope you come back and visit us again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, unpretentious, luxury hotel set in the beautiful Lake District National Park, Gilpin Hotel & Lake House has been family owned and run since 1987. Members of Relais & Chateaux, the Cunliffe family were the proud winners AA 'England Hotel of the Year 2012', English Tourist Board Awards for Excellence 'Small Hotel of the Year 2012', the Catey 'Independent Hotel of the Year 2013', and Condé Nast Johansens 'Most Excellent Country House Hotel of the Year 2013’. When you stay at Gilpin, you’re not just choosing a bedroom, you’re choosing an interior design with fabulous fabrics, wallpapers and furnishings. We have evolved Gilpin Hotel over the last 25 years, spreading out instead of up, so that fourteen of the twenty bedrooms lead directly onto the gardens, many with private decking and cedarwood hot tubs, and all with lovely views. Gilpin Lake House is, put simply, a sanctuary, where just six suites enjoy exclusive access to 100 acres of private grounds, including a stunningly beautiful four-acre private lake, swimming pool and the new Jetty Spa. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks in the hotel’s stylish bar and wine cellars before dining in one of four intimate dining rooms (complimentary chauffeur provided for Lake House guests). Head Chef Dan Grigg ensures exquisite cuisine in the 3 AA rosette restaurant; the 5-course menu has plenty of choice and is a celebration of some of the finest Lake District produce and West Coast seafood. For Lake House guests, the Swedish style spa treatment room has been built to blend with the environment, raised 3 metres into the tree canopy, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake. The Jetty Spa Trail is a bespoke Spa Journey designed to gently stimulate and revive the senses. Begin with a consultation to create personalised spa products just for you. Then to the spa for a private swim followed a relaxing salt snug and a reviving salt scrub shower. Through the woods to an aroma massage (and that view), followed by green tea and appetisers on the jetty. To top it off? Champagne in the hot tub, and bespoke spa goodies to take home. The ultimate goal – a deep relaxation that will stay with you for a long time. Quiet, untouched, and devoid of traffic or people the setting instils a sense of peace and calm. There are no weddings, conferences or children under seven to disturb the peace at Gilpin, just warm smiles, fresh flowers, and friendly, unpretentious service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.