We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gilpin Hotel & Lake House to your Saves list
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having researched hotels in and around Windermere I came across the Gilpin Lodge and after getting rather giddy, sent details to my boyfriend, who dutifully booked us into Cat Bells one of the garden suites as a romantic getaway. We arrived and were greeted by very friendly and attentive staff who showed us to our room. Waiting for me was a beautiful bouquet of my favourite flowers that the staff had organised as an extra.

Dinner and canapés were beautiful with a large varied selection of wines to choose from. With various rooms to dine in the atmosphere was very relaxed and intimate. Whilst dining we met a couple who had been going to the Gilpin Lodge for the last 30 years and we could see why. The food was stunningly presented and tasted just as good. My boyfriend and myself both agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever eaten. After dinner we sat in the lounge area which was beautifully decorated and had very comfortable seats in front of the log fire.

Another surprise awaited me once we got back to the room. A bottle of champagne was sat cooling with two glasses next to the hot tub. There was a large selection of food to choose from at breakfast with the portions being very generous and after being slightly gluttonous we checked out. Again the atmosphere at breakfast was very relaxed yet staff were professional and nothing was too much trouble.

Without doubt we will be returning here and if my boyfriend has anything to do with it we will be returning in the next couple of months! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cat Bells which had a more private patio / hot tub area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Fantastic review thank you very much indeed! It is so nice to read that you had a wonderful stay from start to finish and we will look forward to meeting you both again soon!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    88
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
66
597
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from another Relais & Chateaux branded establihemtn, which belongs to a certain M Blanc (Ray White in English!) That prompted me to write a belated review on Gilpin Lodge, as it was SO much better that its more famous stablemate.
The hotel, the rooms (private and public) are all immaculate but relaxing. The food was simply superb. The only fault with the evening was of our own making - we went for a taster menu along with separate wines for each course, and they were very generous with the measures. By the fourth course we were both a bit drunk, and while we didn't have to drive, we did have some serious flavour-tasting to do, and feel we missed out a little. Will be more careful next time. But can't fault it. Super weekend, at a fraction of the cost of some other places, if you now what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, we hope we are able to welcome you back to the Gilpin Hotel & Lake House in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sadly we only got to stay one night at Gilpin Hotel, it was a surprise pre-wedding night away booked by my husband. The moment you walk into Gilpin Hotel, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, every single member of staff in a credit to the hotel, polite, friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

The food is simply amazing, the chef really is a true craftsman, amazing, beautiful and mouth watering!!

The rooms are cosy, warm and decadent. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a luxury romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review; we are so glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us just before your wedding! We do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just came back from a minimoon at the Gilpin and it was great,lovely staff,great room and the hot tub was amazing,would highly recommend :)
We stayed in a garden room which was an upgrade from what we had booked we had a warm greeting and a tour of the hotel which was so beautiful ,it had such a lovely relaxed atmsophere.The room itself was impressive with gorgeous furnishings ,products etc and the hot tub was quite private.
The staff made us so welcome ,the service and food ....just brilliant
Thankyou!

Room Tip: Try a garden room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We don't get reviews better than that one so thanks very much indeed! Congratulations again on your recent marriage, we are so pleased you chose to spend your mini-moon with us and glad we were able to create the perfect atmosphere for you both.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided to stay at the Lake House for a 2 night stay to celebrate my partners birthday. We were welcomed by Dave and Patrick who looked after us from start to finish. On the first day of arrival we had a wonderful afternoon tea which was prepared by Patrick and was absolutely wonderful. We were taken down to the main restaurant by a private taxi and by the way Steve the driver was extremely courteous and was then treated to a most wonderful gastronomic treat. From the canapés through to dessert it was absolutely 5 star + and a bit more. The following day we had a most wonderful freshly cooked breakfast prepared by Patrick and walked round the Tarn followed by a dip in the hot tub and a swim in the well appointed pool and sauna. We then got ready and you've guessed it went and had another fantastic dining experience. Attentive staff with a habit of just being there when required. All in all a really relaxing few days and thanks to all concerned. Simon & Debs

Room Tip: We preferred Maud in the Lake House as it has a wonderful lake view although looked in all rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks to you both for taking the time to leave a wonderful review. We are all delighted that you had the perfect stay at the Lake House especially Dave and Patrick who are really excited they got a mention!

We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, most recently last year, 2012. it is quite charming and chintzy, full of saggy sofas and Country House Hotel charm.

The food was very good, much better than most local hotels and the staff were very solicitous.

If you want a romantic break, have very deep pockets and want a quite backwater rather than a Cosmopolitan City Centre, Gilpin is a great choice.

The newer parts of the Hotel were quite contemporary, however, the older areas were starting to look rather dated. This and the very high prices are what have lead to this rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a treat. It is too expensive for a week's holiday but such a treat for a special occasion. The family and staff are professional and friendly. The chef is so interested in customer satisfaction that he even put sweetbreads on the menu just for me. The wine list is extensive and there is something to please everyone. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. A very well run hotel with excellent attention to detail. We have stayed there twice and are saving up to visit again.

Room Tip: Garden Suites and Junior Suites with direct access to well kept grounds are most peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for your fabulous review; we are really popular with guests staying with us for a special occasion like celebrating a Birthday or Anniversary so we are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We will all look forward to seeing you again for your third visit!

Kind regards,

Barney and Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, unpretentious, luxury hotel set in the beautiful Lake District National Park, Gilpin Hotel & Lake House has been family owned and run since 1987. Members of Relais & Chateaux, the Cunliffe family were the proud winners AA 'England Hotel of the Year 2012', English Tourist Board Awards for Excellence 'Small Hotel of the Year 2012', the Catey 'Independent Hotel of the Year 2013', and Condé Nast Johansens 'Most Excellent Country House Hotel of the Year 2013’. When you stay at Gilpin, you’re not just choosing a bedroom, you’re choosing an interior design with fabulous fabrics, wallpapers and furnishings. We have evolved Gilpin Hotel over the last 25 years, spreading out instead of up, so that fourteen of the twenty bedrooms lead directly onto the gardens, many with private decking and cedarwood hot tubs, and all with lovely views. Gilpin Lake House is, put simply, a sanctuary, where just six suites enjoy exclusive access to 100 acres of private grounds, including a stunningly beautiful four-acre private lake, swimming pool and the new Jetty Spa. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks in the hotel’s stylish bar and wine cellars before dining in one of four intimate dining rooms (complimentary chauffeur provided for Lake House guests). Head Chef Dan Grigg ensures exquisite cuisine in the 3 AA rosette restaurant; the 5-course menu has plenty of choice and is a celebration of some of the finest Lake District produce and West Coast seafood. For Lake House guests, the Swedish style spa treatment room has been built to blend with the environment, raised 3 metres into the tree canopy, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake. The Jetty Spa Trail is a bespoke Spa Journey designed to gently stimulate and revive the senses. Begin with a consultation to create personalised spa products just for you. Then to the spa for a private swim followed a relaxing salt snug and a reviving salt scrub shower. Through the woods to an aroma massage (and that view), followed by green tea and appetisers on the jetty. To top it off? Champagne in the hot tub, and bespoke spa goodies to take home. The ultimate goal – a deep relaxation that will stay with you for a long time. Quiet, untouched, and devoid of traffic or people the setting instils a sense of peace and calm. There are no weddings, conferences or children under seven to disturb the peace at Gilpin, just warm smiles, fresh flowers, and friendly, unpretentious service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.