We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most amazing place I've ever have/ever will stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gilpin Hotel & Lake House to your Saves list
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Possibly the most amazing place I've ever have/ever will stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was a work trip with some American clients. I could not believe how fantastic this place was. We stayed in Lake House. It didn't matter that I was with clients and not my actual family/friends - this was amazing.

The house and grounds are stunning. The facilities and little extra's second to none. We had private dining up at the hotel - fabulous. The service was that good I didn't once worry about the clients.

It that was lovely that I didn't even care that I was in an outdoor hotub with a load of clients!

Fantasic.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thanks so much for such a fab review - we really enjoyed having your party at the Lake House, and are really glad to hear you relaxed properly once you were here. Now you have to come back and see us when you're not working, to get the fully relaxed version... Hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    81
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
62
538
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at the Lake House, in the Harriett room for the Easter break. I cannot recommend it enough. The accommodation, service, location, food was perfect. Thank you to all the staff at the Lake House for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for posting such a kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. These reviews really do make a difference to us and all of the team - many of the team check our TripAdvisor reviews regularly but we also post them internally to make sure everyone sees them. We hope to see you again soon in the sunny Lake District!

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We spent two nights in 'Haystacks' - one of the garden suites - for our minimoon. The room styling was excellent with great attention to detail. It truly felt like a boutique hotel. Great hot tub and a feeling of privacy.

We had dinner in the hotel both evenings and the food was fabulous - from the canapes in the bar through to all courses in the restaurant.

Excellent location and a feeling of cosiness and warmth rather than stuffiness and formality. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for a fabulous review, am so glad you had a great minimoon. Cosiness and warmth rather than stuffiness and formality is exactly what we aim for - do you mind if I borrow the phrase?! We hope to welcome you back to Gilpin soon.

Warm regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had a truly wonderful two nights here to celebrate my wife's 50th. The food is outstanding, the service good in most parts with the occasional mix up at food delivery with who is having what but that is me being picky. Our garden suite room complete with hot tub was amazing. Every little detail had been thought of - even down to putting the cat out ( you put a toy cat outside the door instead of a do not disturb sign ). The family are on hand for that personal touch and make an effort to speak to every one of their guests. It's not cheap but as they say you pay for what you get and for a special treat it worth splashing out. Poor mobile signal is annoying if you do need to keep in touch and the wi fi only worked in the main hotel I had to make a couple of trips from the room to the lounge to pick up e mails. All in all though our expectations were met and the quality of food was stunning. We had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for a lovely review. We're in the process of installing our own WiFi having spent years struggling with less than 1/4 meg for the whole hotel (we're at the end of the BT line), and having tried every solution under the sun. We've been putting up various masts so that we have direct line of sight (sort of) to the main one, and really hope this will be a good solution. It's very frustrating for everyone, but we hope that this & the poor mobile signal will soon be resolved! With regards to food delivery mixups, that isn't being picky at all - we aim to serve every dish without asking who's having what. Apologies if this didn't happen, but our thanks for being understanding. We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My partner booked us a garden suite here as a surprise for our anniversary and it was truly incredible. The rooms were immaculate, spacious, plush and fabulously decorated. Fluffy white robes, complimentary posh toiletries, huge bath and a hot tub on our own private decking were just a few of the many highlights. The dinner was amazing too, each course was exemplary, I think it's one of the best meals I've ever had! Gilpin Lodge on the whole is luxurious, richly furnished and yet welcoming and friendly. If you want to really make someone feel special - take them here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Gilpin, and for such lovely comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your anniversary - the picture of the hot tub in the Jack Frost weather is great, when it's that cold they really are brilliant aren't they? Hope to see you again this year (we'll try and arrange some December sun!).

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My partner and I had been wanting to visit the Gilpin Lodge Hotel for some time and, although we had previously eaten in the restaurant, we had never booked an overnight stay until the 9th and 10th of March this year. I had built the hotel up in my head and honestly thought that it wouldn't live up to my sky high expectations, but I need not have worried. This place is an absolute gem and all the superlatives in the world would struggle to do it justice!
We arrived at around 7pm to be warmly greeted and shown to our room....sorry, huge suite(!), Dollywagon Pike. Dollywagon Pike is one of the hotel's 'Garden Suites', which basically meant that we were in a separate part of the hotel in an elevated building toward the rear of the gardens, which houses all of their suites. I was like an over-excited child as I walked around trying to take everything in, from the private patio area complete with a submerged, and therefore very private, outdoor hot tub to the grand bathroom with the spacious two person bath and shower, a great selection of Molton Brown toiletries, plenty of soft and fluffy towels, and luxury robes and slippers.
The vast sitting area with sofa and separate chaise longue was the perfect place to wind down in front of the decorative living flame fire and work your way through the thoughtfully provided choice of magazines and books.
The bed must easily have been super king size and was certainly not your typical hotel bed. I must admit to being really quite fussy when it comes to beds and very rarely sleep well in hotels but it felt like this one quite literally swallowed you up and cuddled you to sleep all night! It was so very comfortable with an abundance of soft pillows and we both had two fantastic nights of deep sleep.
On both nights, we had pre-dinner drinks and canapés in the Lounge, which has sumptuous sofas that, like the beds, are quite easy to lose yourself in. They also have a vast selection of pre or post dinner books and magazines to pass away the evening in a relaxed, comfortable setting. On the first evening, we ate in the dining room and I had the Cumbrian lamb washed down with a coconut panna cotta with braised pineapple. My partner and I regularly go on cruise holidays and are used to silver service five course meals, yet this was better than any meal sampled at sea with the same friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) staff. I certainly don’t think it will be too long before this place has its own Michelin star. On the second night, we ate in the sweet little Morning Room, with a view out over the front garden. We were there in March so it was dark, but this room is a must to eat in during the summer months. It is beautifully decorated with floral prints, a mix of eclectic and antique ornaments and accessories, with an intimate ambience, which made for a perfect romantic evening. Night two saw me try the Goosnargh duck with potato gratin finished off with crème brulee and washed down with a rich Argentine Mendoza.
In my opionion, one of the nicest touches to the Gilpin Lodge is the way that the owners, Barney and Zoe take time out every morning and night to chat to their guests and are genuinely interested in what you’ve been doing throughout your stay and in recommending nearby places for you to visit. Too many hotels nowadays are just faceless with the owners bringing in managers to run them and not getting personally involved. Gilpin Lodge is not one of those. You are made to feel special from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave…. at which point you are already planning your return visit before you’ve even made it out of the car park!
I very rarely write reviews on sites like these but believe me; you won’t know what you’ve been missing from other hotels until you’ve been to this one!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the Garden Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of Gilpin, it's like a great review in the press! We do spend a lot on mattresses & bedding so are always glad to hear it makes a difference. As a family and team we try very hard to do and make everything in the very best way possible - but with a friendly smile and always a moment to chat - so when we succeed and have guests as happy as this, it makes us smile from the inside out! Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Superb rooms, venue, food, staff, service. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for your fab review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope yoto see you again this year!

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, unpretentious, luxury hotel set in the beautiful Lake District National Park, Gilpin Hotel & Lake House has been family owned and run since 1987. Members of Relais & Chateaux, the Cunliffe family were the proud winners AA 'England Hotel of the Year 2012', English Tourist Board Awards for Excellence 'Small Hotel of the Year 2012', the Catey 'Independent Hotel of the Year 2013', and Condé Nast Johansens 'Most Excellent Country House Hotel of the Year 2013’. When you stay at Gilpin, you’re not just choosing a bedroom, you’re choosing an interior design with fabulous fabrics, wallpapers and furnishings. We have evolved Gilpin Hotel over the last 25 years, spreading out instead of up, so that fourteen of the twenty bedrooms lead directly onto the gardens, many with private decking and cedarwood hot tubs, and all with lovely views. Gilpin Lake House is, put simply, a sanctuary, where just six suites enjoy exclusive access to 100 acres of private grounds, including a stunningly beautiful four-acre private lake, swimming pool and the new Jetty Spa. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks in the hotel’s stylish bar and wine cellars before dining in one of four intimate dining rooms (complimentary chauffeur provided for Lake House guests). Head Chef Dan Grigg ensures exquisite cuisine in the 3 AA rosette restaurant; the 5-course menu has plenty of choice and is a celebration of some of the finest Lake District produce and West Coast seafood. For Lake House guests, the Swedish style spa treatment room has been built to blend with the environment, raised 3 metres into the tree canopy, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake. The Jetty Spa Trail is a bespoke Spa Journey designed to gently stimulate and revive the senses. Begin with a consultation to create personalised spa products just for you. Then to the spa for a private swim followed a relaxing salt snug and a reviving salt scrub shower. Through the woods to an aroma massage (and that view), followed by green tea and appetisers on the jetty. To top it off? Champagne in the hot tub, and bespoke spa goodies to take home. The ultimate goal – a deep relaxation that will stay with you for a long time. Quiet, untouched, and devoid of traffic or people the setting instils a sense of peace and calm. There are no weddings, conferences or children under seven to disturb the peace at Gilpin, just warm smiles, fresh flowers, and friendly, unpretentious service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.