We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeland at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1AX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mid Week Discounts
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersGold level
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lakeland at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the newly developed Coach House. Absolutely fantastic! Accommodation over two floors with private dining facility which was great as our family joined us for dinner. A stunning bathroom of such a high specification and a separate walk-in shower; second shower room on the upper floor which also provided a bedroom if required, so would accommodate two couples with complete privacy. Dinner was served in the Coach House and was superb. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel dining room and that was also lovely.
Complete silence as the Coach House was so well insulated and a remarkable job done by a local builder. A true exemplar for hotel accommodation for the next decade at least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review of your recent stay in the Coach House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy a private dinner with your family.
We hope to be able to welcome you back for another relaxing stay in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    71
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
618
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our two-night stay at the Cedar Manor Hotel in May was delightful in every way. The hospitality was fantastic, cheerfully and promptly offering us everything we might want or need. The owners couldn't have been nicer. The room was beautiful, with a large comfy bed furnished with many luxurious pillows. The spacious bathroom was equipped with a great power shower. Our window overlooked trees, giving us the flavor of a secluded and peaceful location. The hotel is well-situated, just a fine short walk (just over a mile?) through the town to the bustling lakeside. A ten minute walk down a secluded pathway by the side of the hotel brings one to a lovely, peaceful lakeside setting. Paradise! One of the high points was dinner, which was marvelous in every way. We strongly recommend enjoying a meal at Cedar Manor - everything fresh and locally sourced where possible. The breakfast, too, was incredible. We wish we could have stayed longer. We hope we are able to plan another stay at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review, we are delighted with your feedback.
Thank you also for your lovely comments about dinner, we work hard to ensure we are serving the freshest, locally sourced ingredients in an imaginative and creative way.
We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to the UK
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Manor Hotel for 2 nights in November. Everything was perfect. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was recently renovated which was really nice. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and it couldn't have been any better! The experience was really nice - sat in the bar area for a nice glass of wine and then moved into the small dining area for dinner. It was all very delicious. The hotel is just around the corner from a public footpath that was great for walking to the lake and town. The owners were very attentive and helpful with all of our needs! Hope to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your way around the area. Its really a lovely path down to the Lake, everyone should try it!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Cedar Manor in May, the service and hospitality were excellent, as was the breakfast. Dinner was particularly outstanding, expensive but very special. The hotel is well positioned for the town centre. There is a comfortable lounge and bar.

Room Tip: We had the Windermere room, at the front with pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break at Cedar Manor and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel is flawless, from the very personal attention of the charming owners to the exceptional dining experience in the hotel restaurant. All the rooms have been designed for them and they are stunning. The bedroom was gorgeous and comfortable and the power showers real treat. There isnt anything to fault with this hotel and we shall definitely be returning.we have stayed in a lot of very good ones over the years but this one tops them all!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double bedded room because that was the only one available. My personal preference wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor.
All our rooms now have king or superking beds with the exception of Claife Heights, which is a double - a cosy but well appointed room.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Owners Jonathan and Caroline make staying at this intimate, lovely hotel a real treat. Even in busy Windermere Cedar Manor is enough off the street to make you think you are in a rural setting. Had a wonderful dinner and as others have noted the breakfast is plentiful with many delicious options. Very romantic setting. We had hoped for a room overlooking the front lawn, but they were already booked and we were very satisfied with the comforts of the room named Crinkle Crags. We would definitely stay here again if we were to make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, dinner and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This first visit to Cedar Manor proved to be as wonderful as it's reviews stated. Every aspect from first welcome from Jonathon and Caroline, to the beautiful flowers which they sourced for my wife's birthday proved to be a master-class in Customer Care. Dinner and breakfasts were superb and attention to detail second to none. Caroline's personal touch has gifted every nook and cranny with design and comfort going hand in hand to produce one of the finest boutique hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side elevation may be a little dark when the trees grow through the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for your birthday celebrations. We are very pleased to receive such fabulous feedback, and very happy to hear that you had such a good time at Cedar Manor.
We suggest giving the Windermere Room a go next time, south facing, spacious and very comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.