We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel and wonderful value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1AX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WEEKENDS
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect hotel and wonderful value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I chose Cedar Manor partly because of its excellent tripadvisor rating (which it well deserves) but also because after much research it was by far the most reasonably priced luxury hotel in the area. The whole hotel is immaculate, the decor beautifully thought out and our room was completely gorgeous. Having peeked through open doors of the other rooms they all looked just as nice! The food in the restaurant was fabulous, and again - incredibly reasonably priced! We tried a local michelin star restaurant on a different night and found it lacking in comparison. Caroline and Jonathan are warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area - as it was our first time in the Lakes we needed lots of advice, and it was spot on every time. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Lakes and managed to see as much as you did. We are delighted with your feedback about the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for more Lake District adventures soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
ps don't forget to sign up to the mailing list on our website to get lots of special offers year round
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    68
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
587
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Set in quiet gardens a short walk from the town centre on Windermere and well located for all the Lakes visitor spots this is an excellent small family run hotel with a good restaurant. Our room was on the small side but very comfortable with all mod cons and comfortable bed too.Inclusive breakfast vexcellent Free WIFI throughout hotel- know thats sad but useful! Very comfortable lounge area and a good restaurant with quality food well prepared. Not cheap but good value. Wine list well put together and interesting with resaonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your weekend break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining with us and found the wine list to be well selected.
We offer rooms of varying sizes and yes, you did book one of our smaller ones. We can help you find a bigger one on your next visit. (I think you would like the Windermere room)
We hope to see you again next time you venture north to the Lake District.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Jonathan and Caroline do it all. They help you plan your day. The offer alternatives to their wonderful dining room (we we fools NOT to eat there all four nights of our stay). They really do everything to make a vacation special.
We loved the welcoming chocolates. We were delighted with our room, which overlooked the garden and had a large, modern bath. We appreciated the very low price to have a large load of hiking pants and shirts washed. And this lovely hotel is quiet.
We wished we had stayed a week. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were with another couple. They loved their room with a dressing room. We liked having the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and hope to see you all again next time you visit the UK.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the Cedar Manor and this was the best yet. The service that Jonathan, Caroline and their staff provide gets even better. All the public rooms and the bedrooms in the hotel are tastefully decorated, immacuately clean and provide a warm, relaxing welcome after a day's walking. The restaurant deserves special mention, the menus are inspired and the food immaculately presented. Again, the quality of the service complements the beautiful food. The whole Cedar Manor experience is excellent and we definitely intend to return very soon....

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and have their own individual character
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest visit to Cedar Manor. We always enjoy meeting returning guests and very glad to hear that we have continued to improve the standards within the hotel, something we constantly strive to do.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our stay in the Coachouse Suite... I'm lost for words to explain how wonderful it was... The photos do not do this justice at all... It was a perfect relaxing quiet hideaway yet only steps away from main hotel... The bathroom was stunning..... they have thought of everything you could ever need throughout the two storey suite....My favourite touch was being able to have breakfast served in your very own dining area.
Jonathan and Caroline are the most wonderful hosts... Nothing is an effort or a problem and they work very hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful experience staying in their beautiful hotel. We ate here for 3 nights... It was just fantastic... Food, wine,service far far beyond the 2 stars they have you must try it.
We loved this hotel ... It's in a great spot... Perfect hosts ... Fabulous food... You couldn't find anything better... We can see why people return time and time again... This is our plan too!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Coach House Suite, we are delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had dinner here the other day for my birthday and really enjoyed ourselves. The owners have put in lots of effort on all the little finishing touches that make a place great. The food was very nice, the service delightful and the little amuse bouche and petit fours really made for a super special occasion meal. We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor Hotel, we are delighted with your feedback and glad you enjoyed your birthday dinner.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cedar Manor for 2 nights in August 2012. We booked on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews - and the photo of the cooked breakfast on the hotel's website! - and were very pleased with our choice.

The owners, Jonathan and Caroline, have clearly put their all into making Cedar Manor a friendly place to visit. From the local handmade chocolates we received on our arrival, to the friendly, welcoming service we received throughout our stay, we were made to feel at home. We particularly enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks and post-dinner coffees in the lounge, and we picked up a few interior decorating tips for our own sitting room whilst we were there!

There were a few other little touches which I appreciated about Cedar Manor - free WiFi throughout always gets my vote; there was a small fridge in the room that we could keep soft drinks cool in; tins of shoe polish and sewing kits in the rooms would have come in handy in the event of a wardrobe malfunction; a decent hairdryer better than my travel one - all of which are the mark of owners who genuinely care about their guests' stay.

Effort has clearly been put into choosing a high quality chef, and the food served in the restaurant was fantastic. We enjoyed every meal of every course, and the Eggs Benedict I had for breakfast was the best I have ever had.

The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of Windermere and right next to the A591 so easy to get anywhere by car without having to sit in lots of traffic. Even though it's on the main road, traffic noise was not a problem and we slept very soundly on both nights.

We definitely intend to come back to Cedar Manor; 2 days was nowhere near enough time to fully explore the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your Eggs Benedict - they are a popular choice on the breakfast menu.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.