We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Langdale Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Langdale Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

After my car broke down we turned into this hotel to meet tristan the groundsman. What can I say a gentleman no end polite helpful nothing too much trouble. An excellent greet although we didnt enter the hotel it looked lovely and if the service carries on through the hotel its the perfect hotel will definatly be booking a visit on next trip to the lakes well done!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your celebration with us, please be sure to come and stay with us in the future

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    107
    42
    29
    20
See reviews for
166
338
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I visited Langdale Chase after we got speaking to Ali who works at the Hotel. We both went and had a lovely 4 course meal and were made to feel very special. We were shown to our own dining suite and had candles and open fire lit and it was made to feel special, we were celebrating our anniversary. The service was fantastic and we couldn't have asked for a lovely night. We will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your celebration with us, please be sure to come and stay with us in the future

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed in the Boathouse, the views were absolutely beautiful. The room was slightly tired and I had to report some issues to house-keeping. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the dining room, there was limited choice and could be just described as average. The most outstanding part were the beautiful gardens overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and comments regarding your recent stay, All bedrooms are subject to annual refurbishment and housekeeping are meticulous with all aspects of their job.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My youngest son has just got married at the hotel. The staff were very professional, polite and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed for two nights and everything ran like clockwork. The setting for the wedding could not be beaten, the rooms in the main building are very individual with stunning lake views. The wedding "breakfast" (for 80 people) could not be faulted. A little pricey but a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your son’s wedding at the hotel, We are pleased that you all enjoyed the day and hopefully they will come back and stay with us for their anniversary

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We would like to post on here about our wonderful wedding day that was largely made possible by all of the wonderful staff at the Langdale Chase who all contributed in making our wedding day so memorable. It wasn’t just the beauty of the scenery, the majesty of the building or the splendour of the environment, as fabulous as all of that was. It was the way we were made to feel so special by each and every member of staff. Everybody seemed genuinely interested in our story and eager to do whatever they could to make our day as beautiful and enjoyable in whatever way they could. We couldn't have been made to feel any more special.From the girls in reception, to the waiters, to the management, everyone seemed determined to give us the best day that we could possibly have. And guess what? Our wedding was even better than we had ever imagined it could have been!
Each member of staff not only greeted us with friendly smiles but engaged us in conversation whenever time permitted and never hesitated to answer any questions or issues we may have had.
The day itself passed by without a single hitch and the organisation demonstrated by Andrew (the manager) and the team was faultless. Our stay at Langdale Chase went like clockwork from the allocation and availability of rooms to the deployment of our instructions for decorating our table. As wonderful as the facilities and scenery is, it is people that make the difference – and certainly the Langdale staff made the difference. It goes without saying that we will definitely be coming back to Langdale at some point in the future. We hope that it is sooner rather than later and anyone reading this who is considering a wedding in the Lake District, look no further you won't be disappointed whatever the weather!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 28 are fantastic but any room would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your wedding at the hotel. We are pleased with not only our location but also the high calibre members of the team who have been with us for a long time and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that everybody thoroughly enjoys their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I ate here as part of a large family group. The meal itself was fine and the service o.k.. We were offered a private dining room for a supplement which we didn't want but then found we were the only diners booked in anyway. I thought the place was looking a little dark and weary especially on a lovely summer's evening- though I've noticed when passing recently that there is work going on - so maybe it's a face-lift in progress. Nothing bad to say really but not rushing back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, and over the last couple of months we have spend a lot of money improving the various facilities at the hotel and improving many bedrooms, this is a constant scheme we have in progress, on family occasions private dining is always offered to guests as more often than not a special occasion is being celebrated and people do want that bit of privacy for it. Hopefully you will come back one day to visit us.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We first saw the hotel on a rainy Sunday 11 months ago and fell in love with both it and its views. We were made to feel very welcome and treated as a special couple right from the outset and from then until our wedding at the Langdale Chase on July 31st we have only received first class service. All of the staff have made us feel as though we were the only people in the world who mattered. The baronial hall was a stunning venue for our wedding ceremony, the drawing room the perfect place to relax with a Pimms whilst my daughters and boyfriend were allowed to entertain us on the Steinway and the terrace with the lake behind us an amazing canvas for our photographs. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding breakfast (at an extremely reasonable price) and even the difficult ones amongst us (who demanded mash!) were catered for without the bat of an eyelid. We booked several rooms for us and our guests and all were of an exceptionally high standard. And service didn't stop at the end of the wedding - Andrew and his staff bent over backwards throughout our stay. I think the thing that impressed us most was developing a flat tyre the night before the wedding and the staff organising a local garage to come out, collect, repair, return and refit the tyre during the wedding. Where else would you get such thoughtfulness combined with great food, fantastic service and incredible views. We are already looking forward to returning for our first anniversary!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a lake view - choose one of those! If you want to be alone many also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding your recent wedding with us. I am so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable day, and it was our pleasure to get your car tyre sorted out. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdale Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.