We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Save Saved
You added Langdale Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Wedding Venue!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose the Langdale chase for our wedding on 28th March 2013 and it was an amazing day. From start to finsh there was not enough that any of the staff could do (even with a bride-to-be ringing all the time). Ben and Andrew made the day run so smoothly. The hotel has everything you could want not just for a wedding venue but for a break away. The views are stunning (every guest commented on them!) and I could look at them all day, The area is ideal for walkers or those after a relaxing break. The food was divine, breakfast, wedding breakfast and the buffet. The hotel has a unique character and the rooms are all different with lovely furnishings and the bedrooms are very well kept with everything you could need. I can not emphasise enough how beautiful this hotel is, and it's staff help make it so! THANK YOU Louise & Darren Garlick xx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 on the wedding night - beautiful stained glass ceiling with great view and sepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you to the "New" Mr and Mrs Garlick for your very kind words regarding your big day with us in March. It really was a pleasure having you and your guests at the hotel and hopefully you will be returning soon to relive the happy memories.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    88
    40
    26
    18
See reviews for
129
280
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A stylish hotel with class. Beautiful interior and wonderful exterior right on the banks of lake Windermere. Friendly staff and excellent restaurant. A very well located hotel ideal for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and kind words about the hotel, we are blessed with our location and high calibre members of staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Langdale Chase and have to say we were very impressed, we recieved a warm welcome on arrival and once checked in we started with a relaxed lovely lunch whilst taking in the amazing views of Windermere.

The service throughout the stay was excellent all the staff were attentive, pleasant and polite at all times.

We stayed in the lake house the room was again excellent, with stunning views, and amazing bathroom with huge bath and walk in shower.

The breakfast was very enjoyable tea & coffee almost on arrival followed by a lovely choice of breakfast options.

Even if your not staying here it's worth calling in for a look and maybe some lovely food or afternoon tea.







Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your kind words, the Lakehouse really is the Jewell in our Crown which offers fabulous lake views, and inside the Lakehouse all rooms are modern and tastefully decorated with the bathrooms offering full wet rooms and roll top baths.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Dear all at Langdale Chase

My husband and I have just returned home from an amazing weekend break at Langdale Chase 19-21st April 2013

We can't thank you enough for the hospitality we received, especially from 'Allly' (the scottish host) who offered us to dine in a private room with an open fire, candlelit, lake view...

The room we were allocated no. 8 had an amazing view of the lake and from our arrival to our departure we felt like we were spoilt rotten, nothing was too much trouble and we had no need to ask for anything either as everything we required was either already available or offered to us!

Thank you all so much for such a memorable stay, no doubt after this experience we will return but also tell everyone we know who wish to visit the lakes that this hotel is highly recommended.

Once again thank you all at Langdale Chase.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review following your recent stay with us, and I will be sure to pass on your favourable comments to Ali our Restaurant Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for a night on our ruby wedding.We went there for our honeymoon and Silver wedding as well.
Fantastic room and especially the view (room one). Good food at dinner and breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Much better than most hotels. They seem to have a great spirit in the hotel.
It is right by the lake in lovely grounds.
Only downside was they had run out of real ale because of a thirsty wedding the night before. The cream tea in the afternoon was reasonably priced and good.
If you get a choice of room go for number one. Quiet and huge.
Great view of the lake and the Langdale Pikes. You would need to drive to get to good walking but it's a good location for loafing if the weather is grim.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review and your kind words regarding your stay. We pride ourselves on our location, attention to detail and our high calibre members of staff most of whom have been with us for a considerable length of time. On your next visit, we will endeavour to make sure that we have some real ale on tap for you.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed last weekend and was really impressed! We stayed in room 26 which had panoramic views (2 sides of the room) of Windermere and the fells in the background. The room was huge and had a separate area with lovely old sofa to watch TV.
The Saturday was warm and bright so we took advantage of coffee on the terrace overlooking Windermere, so peaceful. It rained on the Sunday so we couldn't see the fells anymore which was a shame but hardly the hotels fault!

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast to be spot on. LOvely and hot, good English Breakfast.
The dinner on Saturday evening was delicious. We both started with the Ravioli which was cooked to perfection with bags of flavour. I had a breast and confit leg of duck as my main which, again, was gorgeous. My wife was very happy with her veal.

All of the staff were nice and friendly, attentive and professional.

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review and I am so pleased to read of your wonderful recent stay with us. Room 26 is my favourite room in the hotel. Dinner in our lake view Restaurant is truly a wonderful experience and I am so happy that both you and your wife enjoyed your meal. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

didn't stay here but visited on the way to somewhere else. Had morning coffee, a brandy and home made biscuits - cost £20. Fantastic value and very very nice staff. Staff kindly showed us a couple of rooms so we could see the accommodation. Will definitely be back, this time to stay.

Room Tip: both rooms we veiwed overlooked the lake - quite stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy a stay with us in the future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#5 Business Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdale Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.