We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic hotel in a majestic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langdale Chase Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Langdale Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Langdale Chase Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Majestic hotel in a majestic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We'd planned a road trip to the Lakes and thought as it was mid week we would try and find a hotel with spectacular views of one of the lakes when we arrived. This place certainly has that. The staff are all very friendly, the grounds are impeccably kept, the food is amazing, and the views over Windemere are wonderful. Last night was the perfect sunset, this morning the autumn mists had me hanging out of the window to capture the memory on camera.
The oak panelled room with a roaring fire day and night gives a real sense of history - with a bit of TLC in the rooms to tidy up around the edges and bring the decor up to a more contemporary style, this place would compete with any boutique hotel in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay and with the beautiful weather we are having at the minute is making the area look even more beautiful at sunset. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    100
    42
    28
    19
See reviews for
149
311
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If You want Friendly Staff which are helpful and attentive, If you want excellent food with waiters who really care. If you want beautiful gardens to stroll round with a unsurpassed views of the Lake
Then the Langdale Chase is for You

Quality Care Service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a little gem of a hotel.We booked last minute,the man we spoke to was very helpful and we were lucky enough to get room 84 in the lake house where we were allowed to take our dog.
We got a very warm welcome from the staff on reception and our room a short walk from the main hotel was just perfect.the bathroom was that of a 5star boutique hotel and our large clean room opened onto our own private terrace with beautiful lake views and steps down to the garden.
The meal in the hotel resteraunt was delicious and we were well looked after with special thanks to Albert . After dinner we relaxed in the piano room by a roaring log fire it was just lovely.
After a peaceful nights sleep we strolled through the garden by the lake before enjoying a typical Cumbrian breakfast . All in all we had a fabulous stay and look forward to returning .
Paul and Liz with Pringle

Room Tip: If you have a dog room 84 with outside terrace is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Lakehouse part of the hotel, which offer stunning views across Windermere and the Lakeland fells and mountains. The log fires which are a great feature of the hotel are always roaring on those cold nights, so you can relax and really unwind. we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used the exclusive booking service for our wedding day and were not disappointed. It was the best weekend any married couple could ask for. The service was immpecable, the staff were courteous and so helpful even helping get things ready the night before. Every single one of them went above and beyond what they were there to do and we really couldn't thank them enough.
We had around 100 guests in total and as with any gathering of people, there are people who moan. Even more so because most had travelled from London. Any complaints from our guests (They were very trivial) were dealt with swiftly and with the upmost respect.

The food was absolutely delicious and the wedding photos came out perfect. We have been going there regularly for the last few years and will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Thank you so much for what was the best weekend of my life. It wouldn't have been possible without you.

Room Tip: Boat House is absolutely Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It was a real pleasure to hold your Wedding at the Hotel and I am so pleased you and your enjoyed the day and the surroundings, we really are so proud of our location and we al look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your anniversary if not sooner.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here overnight for our neices wedding, having stayed in Bowness the previous 2 nights.
upon our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and most helpfull receptionist, who talked us through the usual things when one arrives at any hotel, IE: breakfast times, the location of the lounge areas, the location of the bar area, what the gardens and grounds have to offer and last but not least our room and where it was located, our room number was No 81.

The room was situated away from the main building, which at first i was a little cheesed off about as i had so looked forward to staying in the main hotel....However, as it turned out it was an ideal spot, due to the fact that we were a small wedding party and so we were all accomodated in the same building, Room 81 is on the end of the building and is very spacious and well maintained, one could literally swing a cat round in it (figuratively speaking), the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was huge, with both a seperate bath and walk in shower (which could have accomodated at least two people, if you were of a mind to take a shower with a partner), the room can easily accomodate a wheel chair should you be disabled or not to good on your feet, the room also has a shared balcony with table and chairs from which you can sit and take in the stunning views across the lake while you enjoy a drink of what ever takes your fancy

the main hotel oozes class of an "olde worlde" type though looks can be decieving as it is not an "olde worlde" hotel, it has a baronial hall, and the look and feel of an old english castle or the house of an ancient Knight of old, there are old paintings adorning the walls and yet it has a modern feel about the place, the conservatory is situated on the far side of the bar area, it is small but friendly, were you can relax in comfort, and again the views are just superb.

The Dining area (just like most of the Hotel) allows you to gaze out on breathtaking views of the lake and mountains beyond, Breakfast was a delight, my wife and I chose what is commonly known as "A Full English" , we started off with fruit juice, then cereal, followed by the "Full English" and rounded it off with some marmalade and toast washed down with a cup of coffee, which i myself did not like as i am not a coffee drinker, i prefer tea (Lady Grey,which sadly they never had) but never the less it was an enjoyable breakfast

During our brief but thoroughly enjoyable stay, i have to say that all of the staff we met were just so friendly, curteous, and helpfull, and one in particular made our stay just the best, alas i do not know his name but he had a scottish accent he was always there whether we were in the piano room, the bar, the dining area or conservatory, the Langdale Chase have a true star in him....sorry i dont know your name but thank you for making are stay that extra special.

and finally, at the end of our stay my wife and i went for a walk through the grounds down to the lake shore for one last look at the magnificent scenery and a look back at the Hotel to record in our memories this magical location, we will come back here again, and stay for longer

so if you are unsure about where to stay when you visit lake windermere, then look no further, you have found the ideal place to relax and unwind, and just enjoy life and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: as far as i know all of the rooms have a lake view except one, be sure to ask if your room has a lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I have read with great pleasure your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Lakehouse is such a wonderful modern building but so in keeping with the rest of the main hotel. Your comments are so lovely regarding the main hotel and gardens, and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Albert who looked after you so well.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found out about the Langdale a few years ago when we were searching the internet for a Lake District hotel - this was before the ITV The Lakes programme - and when we arrived at the hotel for a recce a couple of years ago - we just knew after walking around the hotel, and meeting Andrew that it was the place for us. Our ceremony took place on the 23rd August 2012 and I can honestly say in my 44 years it was the best day of my life! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, Andrew was always at hand but never obtrusive - each and everyone of the staff members were friendly, professional and attentive. The table was set up with all our "things" perfectly, we handed everything over upon arrival and the day flowed exactly as we wanted. We felt completely un-stressed, and totally confident that all the arrangements were in safe hands. All our guests agreed that it was the perfect venue, stunning building, fantastic views and impeccable staff. Whether its for a weekend break or your special day - go and stay at the Langdale - its an unforgettable place and we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 20 - the best room in the hotel in my opinion - little lounge area and comfy bed - and I normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Debbie, thank you so much for the lovely review and I am so pleased that your big day was as special as you imagined and dreamed of. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for many happy anniversaries to come.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As we drove down the tree lined driveway approaching the main hotel building, two thoughts entered my head, firstly my wife has chosen a very impressive hotel for our wedding anniversary, and then secondly, this is going to cost me a bundle. Fortunatly for my credit card, my second thought was wrong!!
Reception was very welcoming and she helpfully explained that we had been allocated to the newer Lakeside rooms of the hotel. These rooms can only be described as modern luxeury while retaining the character associated with the Lakes. Best bit by far for my wife was the free standing bath although the very powerfull shower in my book was close.
Open the windows then gaze at the view of the lake and mountains, no words can describe, probably not even Wrainwright.
For an afternoon bite we opted for an open roast beef sandwich, served to us in the conservatory, again over looking the lake. Two sandwiches, two drinks from the bar and a portion of chips for less than £20. Great value, great service, great views, nothing else to say.
We chose not to eat in the restaurant for our evening meal but we did read the specials board and again I was surprised by the value.
Breakfast was everything you could want and more, they had catered for everyone and every taste. Full English for two, very well presented and very polite serving staff operated the room with ease.
We only stayed one night, but after a quick chat with the manager (who took time to answer my questions fully having just stopped him in the corridoor), I have booked a three night Christmas surprise (or treat if she reads this) apparantly the 20 foot Christmas tree is worth a look.
I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful kind words following your recent stay at the Langdale Chase. The Lakehouse is a beautiful new modern build, which was built with luxury and comfort in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas to see our stunning Christmas tree, which we get from Grizedale Forest, so you and your wife can sit and relax by the log fire with a nice glass of wine and admire our beautiful tree.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdale Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.