We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a bite to eat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe

Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe
15 Main Road, Windermere LA23 1DX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a bite to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in for lunch, very good friendly service, good food, good prices. Would use again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming, ideal for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We sat down and were immediately welcomed with toys for our two toddlers, instead of being treated as a nuisance as with most cafes. The menu was simple but everything was delicious and served with a smile. Prices too were good and the owners clearly think about what their customers want - juice served in a takeaway cup and straw for the kids. All independent cafes could learn from this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our custom not wanted...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having just arrived back in Windermere tired and thirsty after a long trip, my husband and I decided to try Brambles, having seen its good reviews on Trip Advisor. Imagine our surprise therefore, when, at 4.40 in the afternoon, we were informed by the owner that, as nobody had come in for two hours, he had decided to close up and go home even though we were standing there as prospective customers! What an attitude problem he has.

Luckily for us a local directed us to Coffee Bar 7 which was all we could have wished for in a coffee bar and deserves to do well!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wait was worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a warm welcome on a wet Windermere lunchtime in late June, having managing to get a vacant table at the third time in asking over three visits in the last three years. The cosy cafe offered a vegeatble soup and bacon sandwich special which all three of us opted for, and what a treat it was and good value for money. We had always wanted to sample the establishment after first seeing it on The Lakes and it exceeded all expectations, the succulent soup superbly complemented by the excellent bacon sandwich. Already looking forward to next year's visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Not many seats inside so it is a bit of a squeeze, the service is superb, which I find more impressive considering this is a tourist destination where quality of service is often lacking.

The food is great quality, and very well priced.

Will certainly be calling in again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.