We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ellerthwaite Square | Tudor House, Windermere LA23 1DP, England
+44 15394 48443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The best fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great menu, pricey but worth it. Decor is very 'Rustic' and could be improved a little but the food was very good which matters most..Great staff too - very welcoming. Would highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    112
    23
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Seafood lovers...Hooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner spotted this restruant from the main road, as we are both fish lovers we parked up and decided to have a look at the menu, opening times etc. On our approach we noticed a sign in the window.."We do NOT serve fish with chips." My first thought was someones feathers had been rattled haa!, but one look at the menu made us take the number anyway and we made a reservation. The owner was polite and welcoming over the phone.

The food and service was impeccable. I had the cod which was cooked to perfection as were my vegetables, I had three courses which were accompanied by an excellent wine choice from the owner.

I now know why that sign is in the window..! anyone requesting chips should be immediately ejected from the restruant for the pure cheek!

While we were eating the phone did not stop ringing and we kept hearing the owner say "sorry we are fully booked"..that spoke volumes also, we also felt rather smug that we had reserved a table!

Visiting Windermere? This restruant is a must, to avoid disappointment a reservation is essential.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife had a craving for good sea food, i googled sea food restaurants in cumbria and Hooked was the only true sea food one available. It was an hours drive away from where we lived.... Best decision we made. Hooked was fantastic, from the warm/polite service to the AMAZING food... For any fish cravers this has to be the place to go whilst in the Lake District or for a trip out to sample excellent food...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brilliant little restaurant with a wonderful menu. The manager makes you feel very welcome and the food was delicious! We went 2 nights on the run as we were so impressed. Well worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Deeeeeeeeeelish! Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We went early doors as we have a three year old that goes "dark" after 7pm, we were first in.

Nice size restaurant. Local prints for sale on the walls which make for good conversation.

The owner is a charming New Zealand gentleman with a lot to say if you are keen to talk to him about his background. Strikes a good balance and great with kids.

We ordered starters, mains and desserts. All made fresh and brought in daily.

We went twice. Seriously, the menu completely changes based on what they can catch.

By the time we left, the restaurant was quite full and it was midweek so I would book. He's popular with locals too which is always reassuring.

Well worth a trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.