We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Windermere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
The Windermere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Windermere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Windermere and must 'gush' about the service, staff and food amongst others. We arrived on the friday 3pm and had a warm friendly greeting from Giles at reception. Into our room (043) with our car parked outside the window (bay 39) couldn't be better from our point of view. Staff, although 'foreign' was and still isn't an issue were the most pleasant and delightful caring people one could meet. I didn't catch all their name badges but Janos and David were most polite and helpful amongst others, The food was in our opinbion, exquisite and plentiful and piping hot to boot. Vast array of breakfasts, buffet style, and evening meals, ala carte' were superb and done to perfection. The room we had, my wife and I, was clean, warm, comfortable and had we not wanted to venture out for walks and sightseeing, would have been adequate to stop in 24/7. Visit the Windermere again, without a doubt. Reading the plusses and minuses on the reviews for the Windermere Hotel can be daunting and 'putty offing' Don't you believe it. There are some very fussy people in this world that thrive on negativity. We found nothing of the sort here in November. Try it, it's worth it. And the price!! With 10% off we as a couple paid £232 h/b for 3 nights friday to monday. Speaks volumes.

Room Tip: Parking is reservable at £5 per day. We didn't reserve on the strength of another review that st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Windermere Hotel and especially “gushing” about the service & staff. Myself, Janos & David are delighted with the special mention. It is always a pleasure to read that our hard work pays off and our guests are happy with all aspects of their holiday.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    183
    73
    39
    26
See reviews for
48
298
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband & I were given a two night break at the Windermere Hotel for a birthday present this year. We have just returned after only staying one night. The lift up to the first floor was too small to accommodate two people & cases. The superior room we were booked into was far from it, to be fair it did have a lovely big window with a view of the lake but the room itself was very dark & dull with inadequate lighting, a permanent draft from the window & was very cold. The bathroom was very small, with a small bath, no pressure in the shower & a sink which did not drain away unless you removed the plug completely, it then gave off a smell of drains until it was replaced.
The hotel seemed to be full, with two coach parties, mostly over 70 's which is what the hotel obviously caters for. Nothing wrong with that we are retired ourselves but like a mix of ages. The evening meal was very unappetising with not much choice of food, chefs special was fish & chips.... The restaurant was not a relaxing experience at all. First drink from the bar was returned because the lemonade was flat some staff were eating whilst serving. We decided one night was enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review , I am very disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations, I will take your comments on board and I hope you find a hotel that suits your needs better.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Travelling to The Windermere Hotel in the lakes by train is definitely the way to avoid Shearings endless coach journey. The station is opposite the hotel and next to the very helpful Tourist Information Centre.Service. Stagecoach buses leave from the station to various parts of the Lakes and we could use our bus pass as appropriate Welcoming reception staff offered us an excellent room with Lake view and very good facilities, good choice of meal times and table for two which we prefer. The evening meal as we found throughout our stay was an ample portion with plenty of choice (though they have added an a la carte menu for some reason). Our waiter was very obliging and keen to please as were the staff in general. The only downside was the astronomical price of drinks. Why would anybody want to spend over seventeen pounds for a bottle of wine when you can walk across the road to Booths supermarket and purchase the same for less than half the price? Other drinks are equally expensive so the bars takings could be improved tremendously by a little more realism in pricing. If you are feeling reasonably fit the walk starting next to the hotel will give you excellent views over the whole lake. Overall we enjoyed an excellent weekends stay and will definitely be returning for more of the same

Room Tip: Ask for a low room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your great feedback on your stay with us. I am so pleased you had a really enjoyable weekend exploring the lakes and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Travelled by feeder coach with Shearings to Corley then on to Windermere with a Grand Tourer, we had started from Gt Yarmouth at 08.20 and arrived at the hotel at 18.45 a long journey but quite comfortable with plenty of rest stops. Our driver was very safe with plenty of information.
The hotel was superb, clean and bright with excellent service from everyone. Our room 124 was lovely with good views, (you do need to upgrade). Food was very good with plenty of choice and good helpings. Our waiter was very obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee was provided in the room and replenished every day. All in all a very comfortable hotel and well run. A slight niggle was some times the barman was nowhere to be seen when coming back to the hotel after a day out on our own, when we needed a beer, and we had to wait until he re appeared, with much apologies. That apart we will definitely be going back.
Colin and Anne T.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to a superior room with a scenic view (both are separate upgrades ) 124 is quite larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Colin and Anne,
So pleased to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable, it’s always nice to receive such positive comments regarding our hotel and staff they are always appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked as individual travellers Friday to Monday and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Windermere. The meals are above average and the portions just right. Ensure you pay for parking at the hotel, very convenient as the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill. People with bad legs beware! Our room was at the front with amazing views right over to the lake and was spotlessly clean. Our only slight moan would the attitude of the bar staff who seemed thoroughly miserable and guests were a nuisance, especially at coffee time after the evening meal!! Cheer up ladies, at least you have a job in this day and age!!

We would recommend the hotel to anyone who asks and will be visiting again. It is our first experience of Coast and Country and we were delighted with the standard. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: Pay the extra required for a scenic room but don't expect comfy chairs as they are more like din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback, I am delighted you would recommend us and you would book again. Sorry you felt the bar staff were not smiley enough, I am surprised because you can read so many other reviews stating how the staff are the hotel’s biggest asset.
I totally agree our scenic view rooms have stunning views looking over Windermere town, Lakeland Fells and Lake Windermere.
It is great you found the Windermere Hotel such a wonderful experience.
Hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Elderly couple, 3 nights WE B&B £99each. Room 45, lower ground floor, 6 doors and 12 steps from reception. But nearer access from bottom of car park. Room average size. Clean, well serviced. Old mattresses but slept well after long walks. Breakfasts well presented and hot. Prunes and grapefruit with cereals but must ask for yoghurt. Excellent coffee. Courteous, efficient, helpful waiter, Janos from Hungary. Helen runs the restaurant with great energy. We appreciated the non-smoking verandah area just outside the main entrance. No need to walk through a cloud of smoke to enter hotel. Left car on carpark all weekend and used the excellent bus network to access our walking tours. The bus station is just 3 mins from the hotel.
We will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Included in report.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Windermere Hotel. Your comments are very positive, and I will ensure all the team get to see them - they deserve this praise, and your waiter Janos and Elaine will also be happy with their special mentions.

Thank you for this wonderful review and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARROGATE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent a wet weekend here at the end of October. However the hotel is very near the bus station and train station so we were able to get a bus to wherever we wanted to go, leaving the car in the hotel car park for which we had paid £5 per day.
We had a superior room, very clean and comfortable.The one thing we found wrong was that we only had one bedside light between our twin beds which could only be operated by one person, not very convenient! The bathroom was modern, functional and also extremely clean. A flat screen tv, 2 comfortable armchairs and tea and coffee making facilities helped us relax. We had a room on the first floor with a view of the lake.
Dinner on the first night was really not up to standard, however after that it was good. I do not have an explanation. Breakfast was good, though it would have been nice to have more variety of fresh fruit.
The staff were all excellent, the waiters were fantastic and could not do enough for you. They would not have been out of place in a 5 star hotel. All the staff were pleasant, polite and helpful.
On Saturday we had some entertainment in the lounge; a lady singer who sang swing type songs to a recorded band accompaniement, very nice.
My one complaint was that having chosen to eat dinner at the offered time of 8.15, there was always one dish that had finished, I do feel that if dinner is available at a certain time every dish too should be available, however I can understand there are maybe some difficulties with this.
We would definately recommend this hotel and we enjoyed our stay even though the weather was disappointing.

Room Tip: The main road runs alongside the front of the hotel, but these are the rooms, potentially with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Windermere Hotel is indeed an ideal location and I am glad you appreciated the stunning views for your bedroom. Our Saturday night singer is always well received.
I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff.
Thank you for your feedback I am so pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.