We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with your dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Save Saved
You added Holbeck Ghyll Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with your dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to H G. We decided last minute to have a two night break in the Lake District , we loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Great food lovely warm service, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Glad you liked my hotel; tell your mates to bring their owners! And bring your guys back soon.

Woof, sniffs and licks,

Daisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    88
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
58
398
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Let me start by saying I had intended to rate this as 4 out of 5 on the basis that nobody pays much attention to the 5 out of 5 reviews on TripAdvisor. But when everything was just perfect, I really can't justify playing silly games.

This has to be one of the best places to stay with a dog. Being set in it's own grounds, with several circular walks starting from the hotel and with dogs being allowed in some of the bedrooms (as well as the inglenook in the hotel entrance hall) then this makes for a very pleasant break.

As far as humans are concerned, excellent food (if a little rich over the course of 3 days) and well-trained yet friendly staff make dining here a memorable experience. The views from the Lodge rooms, ours with a lounge area with panoramic windows, are wonderful - even though for most of our stay it didn't extend much beyond Lake Windemere due to the weather. And staying here midweek out of season, and being early birds, meant we had the dining room all to ourselves at breakfast time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Oh no! Mike, you have given the secret to a wonderful, quiet, enjoyable breakfast away! I am so glad you have enjoyed yourself and even more delighted that your best friend had a great time. Thank you for your great review and taking the time to post it.

With all good wishes


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb, choosing HG based on a 'Winter Package'. However when I came to book, the price of the package had been mis-communicated quite significantly. I almost went for our 2nd option, Gilpin, however the Manager threw in 2 spa treatments so we stuck with Holbeck.
We booked the Eltemere suite at £430ppn DBB. The website does not do justice to the room which was fabulous. We stay away a lot and are used to top end rooms but this was a little treat. The bathroom and Sonos system were great and we enjoyed big baths listening to music with damson gin, fab! The separate lounge in the room had a log burner with lots of glossy mags so we got the fire going and sat and read for a few hours on our drizzly 2nd day.
There was some building work going on outside so our view wasn't great so this is something to bear in mind if you do want a room with a decent view at the moment. We had dinner both nights and enjoyed our food, great wine although with hindsight should have had B&B on 1 night as 2 nights for that sort of richness of food was too much for us. Spa was lovely, breakfast great and service was fantastic. See note below we also asked to move from the bay window at Dinner and this was sorted with no issues, but top tip ask for a table not in the bay as it is cold!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for such a good review. I am concerned about your confusion on booking and, if you have the time, I would be grateful if you could drop me a line clarifying the confusion to the Tripadvisor contact details so I can make sure it doesn't occur again.

On the good side, I am delighted that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We have wanted to stay and dine here for some time. The wait was rewarded. It's reputation was justified. Superb location, staff very friendly and efficient, room very good. Dinner was excellent - the Michelin star is well deserved. Food well presented and interesting - superb cooking. Breakfast could have been improved with a better fruit salad and a fruit compote; and our dirty plates could have ben cleared. Otherwise this is one of the best hotels and dining in the Lakes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good point about the fruit salad; something that my team and I will improve. However, I am cross about the plates...they should have been cleared; a strong word has been had with my restaurant team! However, I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the very near future. Thank you for also taking the time to post such a great review.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Polite, relaxed, friendly service and a very pleasant room followed by a superb meal with an excellent wine. What more can you want? Perhaps the option of a trickle of whiskey on one's porridge next morning?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
What a great review; perhaps the best I have ever read on us! Delighted that you like us and the quirks. Come back and see us again soon, in the meanwhile, keep a wee dram close early in the morning!

Best wishes from us all.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I arrived at Holbeck Ghyll on 11th Feb, for a 2-night stay. It was a for a special birthday, and my husband had arranged for champagne and flowers to be in the room when we arrived. We were delighted to be offered an upgrade at no extra cost, and were thrilled with our room, which was now a suite. On the second night we had the gourmet dinner and went with the sommelier's wine recommendation for each course. It was nothing short of excellent. The real surprise was the dessert - the chef had piped 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY' on my dessert plate in chocolate fondant! (how did he know? - excellent communication between the staff, I suspect). Anyway, it was a lovely surprise to finish an outstanding meal.

Although this hotel is not cheap, the seamless service, attention to detail and ability to listen and act on customers views makes it an outstanding establishment. This is not the first, and will certainly not be the last time that we stay at Holbeck Ghyll. This place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Glad we got it so right...and that you enjoyed your birthday surprise. Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you very much for such a positive one. We all hope that you come back soon; keep an eye on our website for some great special offer as well.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a wonderful lunch today. The service was first class and the staff were very friendly. We had fantastic food and managed 3 courses. Pleasantly full. We had a very clear day and fantastic views. A place to visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and taking the time to write such a positive on. We are all glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you return to see us very soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in seven acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room and gym equipment. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which has retained a Michelin Star for seven consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbeck Ghyll Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.