We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, food, location and outstanding views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holbeck Ghyll Country House to your Saves list
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£160 (GBP)
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, food, location and outstanding views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great location for a perfect relaxing break. Friendly, professional staff although some newer staff (have stayed here before) were not up to the usual high standard. Food and wines excellent as was the Spa. The gourmet menu was superb along with the matching wines. A bit surprised by the comment from below re having to have the' standard menu' - its anything but standard - its definitely Michelin Star - the gourmet is another, fantastic experience. Most of the guests couldn't have missed the groups conversations about whether to have the gourmet menu or not well before the night they asked. The main menu was excellent. I'd stay again just hope its soon!

Room Tip: Speak to David on reception - he's an expert on all the rooms - it depends what you want and wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    102
    41
    20
    9
See reviews for
71
439
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've recently returned from our second stay at Holbeck Ghyll. We stayed quite a few years ago and that visit left memories of a beautiful house with good rooms, stunning food and amazing service.

The good news on returning is that the house and its location are still very much intact and the location is always going to be unbeatable (the weather was good which made for really great views of the lake and hills).

I would still rate the rooms as "good" - our room was clean, cosy and comfortable and offered those views. The decor is very much in keeping with the style, location and age of the house.

The food is still very, very good. We dined in the restaurant twice and had very good food on both evenings and the hotel and restaurant were both busy which made for a good atmosphere at dinner time.

The service wasn't quite as I remembered it. It's still good but I wouldn't say it was excellent or memorable and it felt like the tiny details were being missed. The first night's dinner was served at quite a fast pace whereas the second night's was better but our wine order seemed to get forgotten, bread turned up to the table without any butter and the hors d'oeuvres lost a bit of variety over the previous night.

These are tiny things but they can add up and I did wonder whether the restaurant was running with fewer staff and more diners than it used to as a couple of really good staff seemed to be doing an awful lot.

That said, these were small things and this is still a great place to stay with excellent food and in a great location but it would be nice to see some of that attention to detail come back into the food service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked months in advance to stay here with friends, and specifically to eat in the restaurant. No one told us when we booked months in advance that we needed to pre-book the gourmet menu. It doesn't mention this on the website either. Nor was it mentioned when we checked in. If it had been we could have prebooked for the following evening. Consequently we had to have the standard menu. The food was great and the sommalier really knew his subject, so no complaints about the food - just about the lack of information provided. Customer service does need improving. There was no cold mains water for part of Friday and Saturday - a bit tricky when it suddenly goes off when you're in the shower, and the water suddenly becomes scalding. We had to request bottled water, which really should have been automatically forthcoming. There wasn't much of an apology either from Reception Staff, who didn't seem to know that this had happened two days in a row. The hotel location is fabulous and the hotel itself is lovely, but it needs a bit of TLC in places (paint peeling on the outside of the windows and grubby hand and palm prints all over the back of the bathroom door). We had a great weekend, and I would go back but this didn't quite match the standard of other 'Small Leading Hotels of the World' that I've stayed in, which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I was disappointed to read that we didn't met your expectations. I have taken your idea regarding the Gourmet Menu on board and the pre-booking is now mentioned on the website.

I must apologise for the lack of cold water, sadly the mains pipe fractured and then, the following day, the fixing burst. I have spoken with my reception team and we hope to handle complaints more empathetically in the future.

My housekeeper also sends her apologies for the grubby handmarks that we missed. There is always improvements happening throughout the hotel and outside window frames is one of those Forth Road Bridge tasks.

I do hope, that on your return, you will find all off the areas which let us down this time much improved.

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from what has become my favourite relaxing, luxurious get a way. The views are spectacular, the hotel is beautiful, the staff top class and the food is to die for. Add the expertise of a first class Sommelier and the perfect meal is accompanied by excellent wines which you'd never discover yourself. Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are all different depending on your choice but wherever you are you're guaranteed a great nights sleep in sumptuous and spotless surroundings. Its not the cheapest hotel but its the best and you get what you pay for which is quality, professionalism, comfort and relaxation.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class but it depends whether you're looking for a fantastic view which most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fantastic stay at Holbeck, the gounds are lovely and the view is spectacular, We were lucky enough to have stayed on a very sunny weekend and we ate canopes and had drinks outside on the lawn.

We stayed in the newer builds at the back of the hotel, no view but it was lovely inside, really clean, very spacious and the bathroom was amazing and so big, I think it was Eltermere cottage.

Food was fantastic, we went for the 8 course sampler menu with the wines to match, very expensive but why not enjoy the whole experience and really splash out if you are staying in an expensive hotel anyway!

Restaurant lacked atmosphere but what is lacked in this it most definately made up for in quality.

All in all it was a very good experience, very expensive, for 1 night. I could of gone away abroad for a week for the same money but very nice all around.

Nice treat.!!! Try it at least once!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I took my partner to the restaurant here for a birthday surprise and was really impressed with the meal. Having the aperitif on the terrace overlooking Lake Windermere at sunset is one of those experiences neither of us will ever forget - a stunning view followed by a stunning meal. The service was a little slow at times but that didn't hamper a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Firstly, I must apologise about the delay in service. I have mentioned this to Tom, our Restaurant Manager, and he joins me in sending our apologies. You were lukcy to get the fab weather and enjoy that sunset - this summer has been truly spectacular for those. We are all glad that you enjoyed the meal and we do hope that you will come back and see us on your next visit to the English Lakes.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came here a couple of weeks ago for dinner and we were so impressed my husband surprised me with a 2 night stay in miss tiggie-winkle room (best view ever) well worth the money it was such a luxurious room with great views I want that view every morning I wake up! On arrival we got champagne, chocolates and roses in our room lovely touch! We didn't want to leave the room. The staff are so nice here and the dinner was amazing just like last time. the Jerusalem artichoke velouté amouse bouche was beautiful, the guinea fowl was superb and my husbands beef equally good we had a bottle of champagne followed by a bottle of opus one my treat to my husband followed by dessert and I always have to have my cheese with a beautiful glass of Ramos pinto it was a wonderful night. We experienced the spa too and the two therapists were really good, treatments were very relaxing. We will definetly return here at some point so relaxing and luxurious but comfortable at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and, again, I have passed your kind comments onto the ladies in the Spa.

Do come back and see us soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in seven acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room and gym equipment. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which has retained a Michelin Star for seven consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbeck Ghyll Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.