We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Rum Doodle and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is beautifully decorated with charming touches in each room. An ideal location only 5 mins from Bowness and Winderemere either way. One point to note is read the black book should you stay here - it really does put you towards the best restaurants the Lake District has to offer!

The breakfast was gorgeous with really fresh local ingredients.

Initially we has booked the attic room but I wouldnt recommend this for tall people! But, Emma recognised that we should have booked a bigger room and we were upgraded to the Sumit on the last night which was much more spacious, again beautifully decorated with views towards the lake.

Really would recommend a stay here and looking forward to going back. We even bought the Rum Doodle book the place is based upon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi guys, we love that you enjoyed your time with us at Rum Doodle so much and that you found our black book recommendations so useful. Yes, our two loft rooms can be a little tricky for very tall people and we'll always try to move tall guests to a higher ceiling-ed room when we have the availability. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    48
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
330
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

So we stayed here during our Honeymoon in England last month ... I was slightly skeptical about staying at a BnB cuz I've never done it before but their website and reviews were pretty interesting...so we went ahead. I have to say it was the best place we stayed at during our 10 day trip to England ... the rooms, the owners, the location of this place, their breakfast and their stories are absolutely something to experience it yourself.

Anybody who wants to goto Lake District for a romantic holiday shouldn't think twice to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Guys, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at Rum Doodle so much! It was a delight to have you stay with us and we wish you all the very best in your future life together! With all our best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattgilray
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is ideal. We booked the small double room, and yes it is small but you only sleep there & its cheaper than the rest of the rooms. Lovely, friendly hosts who offered fresh coffee & cake on arrival & accommodated our request for an early breakfast one day. Free parking, close enough to Bowness. There is nothing to fault about this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We always strive for excellence here at Rum Doodle, thank you! Room 3 is our smallest room, but very cosy and the antique brass bed gives it a delightful character. We love it - and are glad you did too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rum Doodle recently. We stayed in room 7 which was nicely decorated and clean. We were the only guests on the Thursday night so had the breakfast area to ourselves on Friday. Breakfast was delicious, cooked Friday, salmon on Saturday. Emma gave us a friendly welcome and recommended a great walk starting from Grasmere. I would recommend staying in Rum Doodle and hopefully we will do so again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 was bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We love walking the lake District Fells here at Rum Doodle and always take pleasure in recommending our discoveries to our guests - delighted you found it so helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Rum Doodle, the hotel was full of character but without over trying, superb owners and staff, breakfast was quality, all freshly made and just spot on. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and I would definately return without a doubt, if you are thinking of trying it you will not be disappointed I assure you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's relaxed atmosphere! For us it's all about creating the space for guests to kick back, take it easy and enjoy the wonderful Lake District .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a great find!

The hosts are great, welcoming us with a glass of wine as we arrived later in the evening. They were lovely throughout our two night stay, really friendly but not at all intrusive.
We stayed in The Summit room, which is an attic suite. The whole place is beautifully designed and the private living room within our suite was great to have. The bed was comfortable and we both had one of the best night's sleep we have had for ages. The breakfast was excellent, I tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a toasted muffin the first morning, and it was delicious. I went for the full English on the second morning which was incredible. The ingredients were top quality, beautifully cooked, fresh and locally sourced ; superb! The dining room is lovely, really fresh and quirky.

The location is great, being between Windermere and bowness, only about 5 minute's walk from each, and all the lovely bars, pubs and eateries that they have to offer. There are walks that can be done more or less straight from the door, or use it as a base to explore the rest of the beautiful Lake District.

I would recommend this place to everyone! Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Summit attic suite is fantastic if you want a bit more space as the living room is a great addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
...and we're so glad you found Rum Doodle! Thanks for that terrific recommendation - hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped through the door we loved it. Emma gave us a lovely friendly welcome and offered us tea or coffee with home made chocolate and ginger cake - just delicious. Breakfast couldn't be better if you tried, the pancakes are amazing and cooked breakfast first class, freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit salad, not tinned as you sometimes get in b&bs, you certainly will not go hungry. The attention to detail here is brilliant, from the fresh milk for your tea and coffee in 'proper' cups and saucers to the decor and theme throughout, it is very unique and too lovely to describe, you need to go here to know what we mean. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
You certainly won't go hungry at Rum Doodle, Windermere! But what's more, we really enjoy serving good quality food, be it our award-winning breakfast or our fresh home-baking. We always aim to be memorable, in a good way. Look forwards to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.