We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definately be coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will definately be coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had such a lovely time during our stay in January. The hosts Emma and Gregor are so welcoming and we instantly felt at home! Tea and chocolate brownies on arrival (YUM) and it is definately worth paying a little extra for the suite room in the attic (room 9). The area is perfect, short walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness and the breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and we really didnt want to come home! Thanks very much Emma and Gregor, we will certainly come back and recommend Braemount House to friends and family :) Tilly and Paul x

Room Tip: 100% worth paying a little extra for the suite room (room 9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We love looking after guests so it's always good to hear that you've had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    56
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
378
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Braemount House for the New Year. We decided to stay at this B&B as a direct result of the superb reviews it had received on here, and we certainly weren't disappointed. We were greeted by the housekeeper, who gave us our key and made us a lovely cup of tea and coffee, most welcoming after our journey. We stayed in Room 6, the superior room at the very front of the house with the most comfortable four poster bed I have ever slept in! There are some lovely little touches with this hotel, simple things like being able to help yourself to fresh milk from the dining room so that you could make tea and coffee in your room and the freshly made biscuits that greeted us were divine (My wife wants the recipe!). The added bonus with room six is that you can have your breakfast served in your room where there is a table for two in the bay window, lovely on a bright morning, unfortunatley something we didn't have much of, but it didn't spoil it one bit.
The breakfast was nice and filling, the sausages were a particular favourite.
The hotel is just a short ten to 15 minute walk downhill to Bowness or uphill to Windermere, and as such is perfectly positioned.
All in all we had a truly wonderful time at Braemount House, Emma and Gregor were perfect hosts and we will certainly be making a return (or returns) in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large and spacious and you get breakfast in your room - simply superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for the very nice review! Sorry you didn't get the weather - New Year was very wet & windy, but we're now enjoying beautiful bright sunny days, though it's bitterly cold!
We're glad you liked the little touches - for us, detail is everything. If you ever read this response, let me know which biscuits I made for you & I'll send you the recipe! I've just made a batch of lavender shortbread and a carrot cake for this weekend's guests. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts & always source the best products the region has to offer. Our 'Cumberland thin' sausages are from a farm outside Kendal & they are very tasty! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hosts Emma and Gregor are very warm, welcoming and interesting. The house is beautiful and comfortable.
On both occasions when we arrived we were greeted with the most yummy chocolate brownies only to be surpassed by the superb breakfast in the morning.
Quality touches include cafetiere coffee in the rooms, quality crisp bedding and lovely locally sourced bathroom toiletries.
Emma also gave good recommendations for dining which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Recommend highly and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and you will get a lot more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your continued support - we really appreciate it. Our aim is simple; to help guests create wonderful memories that they want to return again & again and when that happens, it makes us feel warm inside! Come and see us again for more brownies ( I do bake other things, but people ask for them especially!) & we promise you another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last year in February and from the moment we arrived we fell in love with the place. The owners were friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the top room and the breakfast was award winning! Would definitely like to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. The place has changed a lot since your last stay, so come and see us again. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Featherstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Fantastic welcome by Emma and Greg, warm mince pies and fresh tea on arrival, lovely!
Room adequate for what we use it for - a base only, clean and tidy, fresh towels - bath sheets as well not postage stamps!!!
Breakfast choice superb, fresh fruit and juices, cereals, fantastic pancakes and cooked breakfast.
Made to feel welcome, hints and helpful suggestions for eating out and places to stay.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Excellent hospitality from our hosts. Mulled wine and home made mince pies upon arrival, guide to the lakes in our room. Delicious, home made, lovingly prepared breakfasts with home made preserves. Immaculate room, comfy bed, soft sheets, delicious smelling bubble bath and shampoo, big white fluffy towels, DVDs a plenty for a snoozy afternoon after a long walk. All we heard was laughter coming from the kitchen each morning, which filled us with joy. We couldn't have asked for anything more from our stay and we will definitely recommend it and return. Thanks Emma and Gregor!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma Hawley H, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
This is one of the nicest reviews we've had. Thank you! We're a happy bunch here & we enjoy what we do so it gives us great pleasure to know the guests appreciate the happy atmosphere here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just arrived back from a nights stay at Braemount house, the owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you. On arrival we was shown room 8, the room was very clean with a four poster bed and a corner bath. We were then treated to a cup of tea with homemade chocolate brownies(yum yum.) The breakfast was great with a good choice.The hotel is located within walking distance to Windermere and Bowness. I would recommend anyone to try this hotel i know me and my partner will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.