We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beech Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Beech Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge Road, Windermere LA23 3LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was really impressed with this hotel, I only stayed for 1 night b&b with my husband & 16 month old son, but was pleasantly surprised. The room was smart and clean, the travel cot provided was immaculate (I'm understandably fussy about these things), the shower was really powerful, the lake view was stunning, the pool was a good size & the perfect temperature and breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, it had a terrace & fantastic view & we even had ducks outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    265
    117
    61
    28
See reviews for
94
518
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We returned to this hotel because we love the views and the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere, as well as the food in the restaurant. This time, we spalshed out and booked their Wordswoth suite with small private garden, lake vies and personal hot tub. The view is wonderful, with comfy chairs to enjoy it from and a super king bed. We were a little disappointed with the standard (bit dusty in places, some decor/furniture a bit shabby, curtains which kept coming off the hooks etc.), and they really need to put a 'private' sign on the gate leading out of the garden; we were caught in the buff by a couple exploring!

While we were there, housekeeping removed a pair of picnic champagne flutes we had brought along and they could not be found when we enquired about them. The staff in Reception were apologetic, but not overly creative about compensating us for this, however, when we returned after our day out, we had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us with a letter of apology, so we felt they recovered well.

The standard in the restaurant has remained high since our last trip, to our releif. We were dissapointed to see that the bar doesn't carry any of the excellent locally brewed beer, though the restaurant make a feature of the local produce. Had the bar been better in this respect, we would have been tempted to linger longer in the comfortable lounge are, rather than venturing out and having to drink very sparingly due to the drive!! The restaurant staff were sometimes a little 'rushed' in their service style, though not apparently over busy, but this was varialbe, depending who was on duty.

Pool is small, but clean. Our suite boasted 'exclusive use of pool after 9pm', made possible by door opening directly to the poolside (noisy in the bedroom if children were splashing in the pool!), but we couldn't lock this door the first day as the key was in the floor in a dark corner. We found it, but wondered if this is the sort of thing housekeeping/management should check before new guests arrive. Fortunately, this door did have a private sign, so we weren't invaded on that front!!

We did enjoy our stay, but the room was expensive and perhaps we would have liked to see a little more attention to detail for that price. Much of the hotel is a little tired decoratively. That said, it's a great place to relax, with comfy, if old, sofas and a fabulous view.

Would we return? Probably not, unless it has been refurbed significantly by next time we return to lakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here on a DB&B basis as a party of six in September. This is the third time I’d been here and I had a fantastic weekend.

The hotel has one of the best views of Windermere. The panoramic restaurant view is superb.

Our room had a lake view and had recently been re-furbished. We found this very clean and comfortable.

One thing that had changed from our previous stays here was that we had to pay for the room up-front. Not that this is a huge problem but it did seem a bit unusual. They had also made a mistake with our bill which I must admit was pointed out by them as we checked out and was duely corrected.

The only complaint I have is that some of the restaurant staff seemed a bit surly. This may be a language or cultural difference as they were mostly from overseas. However, they weren’t particularly sympathetic when we pointed out that after ordering tea for five of us at the start of breakfast on our final day, it didn’t arrive until we had almost finished.

That said, this is a very comfortable and reasonably priced hotel and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was rated 4*. This was not the case and more like a 2*. The website pictures were very misleading. The Premier Room we booked was small and very shabby & dirty, old furniture and the bedding covers were unacceptable. The paintwork was dirty and marked. The lake view was spoilt because the glazing had condensation inside the sealed windows which meant it was always going to block our view. Bathroom had no shelving for toiletries, toilet seat was marked, dirt around bath taps. Clean towels and clean floor. Hotel lounge settees & carpets have seen better days, very shabby and in much need of refurbishment. Not at all friendly. We stay in Windermere often, always booking 4* and this was the worst hotel we have ever encountered. The restaurant was nice enough, and the food ok but with the same menu on each evening, and we had booked dinner bed and breakfast for each night. Breakfast was self service. Evening meal rather overpriced.I could not recommend this hotel & would not return to it. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechhill11, General Manager at Beech Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I disagree about your comments regarding our website, we update the site regularly and always ensure that the content is accurate and as detailed as possible. Of course it’s impossible to show every room, however, we do have images of all standard of rooms, from Classic through to our Wordsworth suite. I also think it’s unfair to say that our Premier rooms are small and very shabby. These are large bedrooms with stunning views, they are different in style and decor, however, this is something that makes us individual and different from those hotel’s who’s rooms are all exactly the same. We try to offer variation and choice for our guests. If you had informed reception at the time of your stay, I’m sure we would have been able to move you to a room that more suited your taste.
Regarding your feedback on our restaurant, our menus do change daily and as many reviews highlight, the quality of our food is excellent. I don’t feel that £37.95 for a five course dinner is over priced by any means. The concept behind our menu is to combine outstanding quality, locally sourced produce and the skills of experienced Chefs to produce award wining food that our guests enjoy. We do this at a price that I really feel represents value for money.
I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and I’m sorry you feel you’ve left disappointed. Obviously I’d like the opportunity to change your opinion and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent hotel in a stunning location....most rooms having a lake view. Very good breakfast, rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The only downside being that it was very isolated and if you didn't want to drive in the evening you were limited to eating at the hotel. A small bar meal menu was available but you need to eat on your lap and the restaurant was very good but very expensive. We would definitely recommend it for it's views but I think there would be better options for a stay longer than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view when you book and there are no lifts so if there are any issues with stairs make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel as a suprise for my boyfrinds birthday and it was lovely. After reading some negative reviews I was worried but when we got there the hotel was lovely and looked right over the lake. The lady on reception was very helpfull and when we got to our room it was a good size and looked over the lake. The only thing about the room was that the bathroom was quite small but it didn't actually bother us. We had dinner in the hotel and it was lovely and a nice atmosphere. Breakfast again was nice and lots of choice. Would definatly recomend this hotel and would stay here again if ever back in the lakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here recently, the terrace room had stunning views of the lake but no privacy,The room lacked any character not even a picture , in bad need of decoration,crack in ceiling
paintwork dirty ,furniture worn.Bathroom similar toilet seat loose no shelves for toiletries etc.The only shelve was over the wash basin in the worst possible place. No lift a total of 65 steep stairs from bedroom to dining area, definitely not for those with walking difficulties.Food was good but in my opinion overpriced some staff unable to assist as they did not speak english!Hotel remote no local Pub to escape to,saying that drinks were reasonably priced. Would i return? No.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Windermere LA23 3LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Windermere
Hotel Beech Hill
Beech Hill Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.