We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Boar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wild Boar to your Saves list
The Wild Boar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersSilver level
kendal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed for one night after a Christmas 'do'. Rooms lovely. Staff all very polite and helpful. Meal was fine- nothing stunning but then there were around 100 people eating. Breakfast was, however, delightful. I live in the area, but if visiting from out of area, it is important to note that the hotel is a good few miles drive from Windermere or Kendal. However the setting is beautiful. i would recommend this hotel for a relaxing and romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    107
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
338
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

we stayed 9th dec 11 for my bithday did not want to leave room wonderfull staff very helpfull would recomends to anyone thanks npayton

Room Tip: choose luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Similar to the other negative comment on here, we got a deal on KGB deals. We were initially placed in an unfurnished room which was awful, as described by the other reviewer. I then complained and we were then moved into a refurbished room. This was much better but very small and cold.

The service was very good but I would not return due to the fact that they tried to fob us off with a horrible room initially.

Have stayed in much better places in the lakes for the sane price and in a better location than this!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancahester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Myself and some friends recently booked for dinner. I hadn't been for a few years, so wasn't too sure what to expect. From the moment We stepped through the door, too the moment the door sadly closed on our way home it was nothing short of perfect.

Wonderful warm welcome, beautiful décor roaring log fires. Super menu to choose from, something for everyone's taste. The food was sublime and the service complimented this throughout the evening.

Pudding,coffee and drinks in the lounge area in a relaxing environment just added to the evening.

I would highly recommend for you to indulge yourself in this dining experience, a long lavish lunch or an intimate dinner, a truly great place to spend several hours with friends or loved ones.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Lovely old hotel with modern extensions in a lovely spot a few miles from Windermere. The public rooms are superb with open fires and the receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The room was beautifully equipped but somewhat small with a spacious en-suite bathroom. The fittings were clean and modern and there was even a DVD player and iPod dock. The breakfasts were very good and freshly cooked. We had dinner both nights in the Restaurant and the food and service was excellent in superb surroundings, the menu was reasonably varied and appeared a little expensive but portions are generous and the food was of the highest quality and much better than other 3/4 star hotels I have used in the past. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I took my fiance here for his birthday weekend. I read all the reviews and was impressed by the pictures on the website. The interior of the hotel is lovely, so quaint and cosy. Real fires burning in reception were so welcoming after spending a cold day out on the lake! I had booked a feature room as a special treat and was not dissapointed. I can honestly say this is the nicest hotel room i have ever stayed in, in terms of features and character. We stayed in room 3, it has a huge circular copper bath and a seperate shower, both big enough for 2! We ate in the restaurant, which was pleasent but seemed to lack atmosphere (maybe some background music??) service was quick, possibly too quick. We felt slightly rushed in and out, despite there being plenty of available tables. Food was average, nicely presented and large portions, but the quality and description of the food on the menu, did not seem to measure up when it arrived. Breakfast was one of the best i have had. The choice of cooked breakfast options were brilliant. A larger choice of cereals would be good though. All in all, brilliant, will be booking again for the amazing rooms and quirkiness without a doubt but eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 3, HUGE copper bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We, unlike many of the reviewers didn,t get a deal, but who cares..it was wonderful....Our room (no17) was beautiful as was the food. What made the break, was the staff. Nothing was to much trouble and everything done with a smile. Thank you Wild Boar for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wild Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Boar

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Boar with 33 bedrooms, grill, smokehouse and brewhouse nestles in a peaceful setting in the Gilpin Valley, Windermere close to the Lake. Benefiting from the beautiful surrounding countryside, including its own private woodland for guests to enjoy, whilst perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the great outdoors in the fabulous Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wild Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Boar Hotel Crook
The Wild Boar Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Boar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.