We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get & luke warm coffee !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Daisy's Lakeland Kitchen - CLOSED

Lazy Daisy's Lakeland Kitchen
31 - 33 Crescent Road, Windermere LA23 1BL, England
015394 43877
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: In the daytime we are a full on coffee shop specialising in rather large portions of desserts be it hot or cold. We source a lot of our products locally with the knowledge that local is best. We pride ourselves on fast, efficient service serving holiday makers and locals alike all year long. We get repeat business from all over the country and find that people make a B line to this restaurant. Don't take our word for it. Read our reviews on Trip Advisor The Lake District is one of the UK's premier walking destinations with untold scenery and panoramic views.
southampton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get & luke warm coffee !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our experience, unfortunately of Lazy Daisy's wasn't a good one.

We were a party of 4 and we sat outside in August .... 2 of us ordered scones (cream tea's in fact, but with coffee's instead of tea), and our friends ordered a fancy named thing, which was basically cheese on toast with salad (welsh rabbit).

However, they paid over £5.00 for this and were expecting a lunch, but all they got, was 1 slice of toast with a little cheese on it, and a tiny bowl (one of those small ramakins) of salad that wouldn't even fill up a rabbit.
Absolutely horrendous price for what was presented on the plate !!!

The scones for the cream teas were very dry and we were only given one butter for the two so it made it difficult to spread.... not enjoyable.

Plus the coffee's were luke warm which really is a big turn off for me.

The only plus side was, my youngest had a portion of chips, and they looked and tasted pretty good !.. we all wished we had gone for a bowl of those to be honest.

I wouldn't come back here again as even the staff who didn't speak much English (well not to us), didn't seem to enamoured with their jobs and customer service.

Shame as its in a nice little setting on the street and could be a lovely little café if it pulled it socks up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    180
    50
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Tomato & Chorizo soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Popped in on our way back to Station from long walk down to Lake Windemere. As it was nice and sunny, decided to eat outside. Food chosen served up nice and hot and as it is licensed tried one of their local beers. Very refreshing....All in all a friendly reasonably priced eatery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

There are loads of favourable reviews of this place on TripAdvisor, and having been there, I must say it's certainly well-earned. We went for dinner and were greeted most warmly by a senior staff - perhaps Lazy Daisy herself, I'd like to think.

The other staff were less warm but nonetheless friendly still, and absolutely professional. Service was timely and polite. It made the place feel a little more like a fine dining restaurant than a casual one. The decor was simple and warm.

Food was very good. We had salmon risotto, grilled fish and shrimp farfalle, all of which were done well. Very tasty. The current dinner menu is a lot more extensive than the one published on the website, with many interesting things to try.

We had a splendid meal here at Lazy Daisy's. Definitely worth visiting at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had lunch on a very wet September Sunday.
The menu was varied with something to tempt everyone - from sandwiches and light bites to a steak dinner and Sunday Roast.
It is small and cosy inside so if the weather hadn't been so awful it would probably have been full but we had no problem getting a table.
Service was prompt and the food was delivered in good time considering it was cooked from fresh. I had a dish off the specials board called bang bang chicken which was chicken, noodles and a peanut curry sauce. It was delicious and very spicy - all of the meals we ordered were well cooked and 3 clean plates were returned.
The desserts looked delicious but as the meal portions were quite generous we resisted the temptation.
3 meals and drinks were £35 which was good value - especially as one of the drinks was a very nice hot chocolate cream and baileys.
If you are looking for a tasty meal in Windermere then I would recommend Lazy Daisys

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On a damp chilly evening in September the welcome in Lazy Daisy's was warm & friendly. The menu is varied & the new Hungarian chef has added a spiciness to various meals - the teriyaki salmon on noodles was delicious. My husband was almost beaten by the giant filled Yorkshire Pudding which was superb.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Daisy's Lakeland Kitchen also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Daisy's Lakeland Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.