We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annesdale House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Annesdale House to your Saves list
Annesdale House
Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Over the years Mal and I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts/hotels and we both agree this was the best. Spotlessly clean, private patio and entrance allowing you to come and go as you pleased. Welcomed with pot of tea and homemade cake on the sunny patio by Alena and Roger, hosts who couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was excellent, we had ours in our room, nothing pre-packed all fresh, I would recommend the fresh friut salad! easy walking distance to Windermere and Bowness, great not to have to use the car.Although on main road once you walk round to the garden and your room you would think you were in the countryside, so peaceful and quiet. Just wish we could have stayed longer, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms both with private garden entrances and patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Roger and I are delighted that you have found our home so comfortable and relaxing. Both of us have a genuine interest in trying to provide a lot of privacy and space to our guests, but at the same time also an efficient quality service. Peace and quiet and calm surroundings are important in our home as we all need the place and space to restore our body and mind.
Please to read that you will be coming again and many thanks for your wonderful review.

Kind regards,

Alena Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the best bed and breakfast ive stayed in, ideal location, everything is within walking distance. Very spacious seperate living room with, drink facilities, fridge, tv, table, and sofa. Very comfy kingsize bed and all round spotless and tastefully decorated. Hosts, Alena and Roger were very warming and helpful and breakfast was fantastic served in our room. Our own entrance along with a patio area and not forgetting free parking was ideal. value price considering the luxury and highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for giving us such a glowing review. We do appreciate your kind comments are are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. Most of our guests like the location - very close to all amenities, yet our accommodation is quiet, peaceful and very private.
We hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime in he future.
Thank you and best wishes to you both.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My Wife and I booked this Guest House for our Honeymoon. We booked the day before arrival due to the location and also the many positive reviews on Booking.com
Needless to say, we were not dissapointed one bit. The owners, Alena and Roger were fantastic. nothing was ever too much bother or hastle. The suit was fantastic, with our own private patio entrance in a magnificent garden that was very well cared for. The bathroom surpassed all expectations and my wife is now hounding me to upgrade our own!!! The bed was massive and extreamly comfortable, shame our bedroom at home is just not big enough for one.
The resturants and pubs are just a couple of minutes walk around the corner. We had a fantastic and memorable dinner in Francine's Restaurant, highly recommended.
All in all we had a very pleasent, comfprtable and enjoyable stay at Annesdale House and will strive to tell all that will listen about it. We highly recommend staying here and look forward to coming back next year for our fist anniversary.
Thanks once again,
Greg & Sharon Thorne
Dartmouth, Devon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sharon & Greg,

we were very touched by your generous and enthusiastic review of Annesdale House. We know you lead a very busy life and are therefore, doubly appreciative that in spite of this, you have taken the time to write about us.
Roger joins me in wishing you a very happy and long future together and we both look very much forward to your return to the Lakes for your wedding anniversaries in the future.
Thank you for being such kind and delightful guests and we wish you joy.

Kind regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I booked this guest house to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. I booked about a week before our travel dates. I chose this guest house due to the excellent reviews on Booking.com. We were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable with private patio entrance in fabulous surroundings. The bathroom surpassed any bathroom we have ever had in all our trips to the Lake District and Cumbria. It was superb. The hosts were very pleasant. Being able to have breakfast in your room was a lovely feature! I liked Windermere and the shops, bars and restaurants were only around the corner from the guest house. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of Annesdale House. We are delighted that you felt welcome and comfortable. It is so helpful to get some feed back as we ourselves do not stay in the suites, so have actually no first hand experience. We rely on clients telling us what is right and where we can make improvements.
We are looking forward to your next visit at some time in the future and Happy 14th Wedding Anniversary. Many more to come, no doubt.

Regards,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was the perfect blend of modern conveniences and homely comfort. Beautifully appointed rooms, lovely garden and very welcoming hosts. We would have no hesitation in recommending annesdale house as a great place to stay. If we were ever to visit Windermere again, we would undoubtably return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for finding the time and making the effort to write to Tripadevisor on our behalf. We do appreciate it and your kind comments about your stay here.
We hope you will visit us again in the future and that you tell your friends about us. Personal
recommendations are the best advert.

Best wishes and many thanks,

Alena & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is a very short walk into Windermere and Bowness is also just a 15 minute stroll away. The breakfast was very nice and our room was fantastic. The gardens are beautiful and there is a friendly and relaxed ambiance to this place. The proprietors should be congratulated. Janice and Tony

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your generous comments about your stay at Annesdale House. All gratefully received and appreciated.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will return one day.
Best wishes to you both,

Kind regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just spent two wonderful nights at Annesdale House and were looked after by two lovely people, the owners Alena and Roger who made sure that we were well looked after. Our room also included a living room with a door leading out onto a area where we could sit and enjoy the surroundings of a beautifully maintained garden. Hospitality is second to none and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The breakfast was very tasty and plentifull and we could have had it served in our room but declined and sat in a wonderful breakfast room. This is the first time we have stayed at this B & B but it wont be the last.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnesdaleWindermere, Owner at Annesdale House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
So glad to read that you have found Annesdale House comfortable and that you were well looked after. It seems that our life long experience in the hotel and restaurant industry taught us well what people really want when they go away. We are pleased that we've got it right.

Thank you for writing about us. It is appreciated. And do come again and tell your friends to come too.

Best wishes to you both,
Regards,

Roger & Alena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annesdale House

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and tranquility in Windermere, 2 beautiful garden suites just moments from the centre of the village and railway station. A perfect base to explore the Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Annesdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annesdale House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annesdale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.