We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home-style cooking but restaurant quality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojos Bistro

Mojos Bistro
4, High Street, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
+44 15394 44954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 67 restaurants in Windermere
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Newly opened 2010.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home-style cooking but restaurant quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We recently stayed in Windemere for a week and ate at Mojo's three times during the stay as we enjoyed it so much! A lot of their menu was based on traditional British favourites and all the main meals were served with vegetables and potatoes of the day. I was particularly impressed with the veg as it was a good selection of "proper" veg rather than hastily microwaved frozen veg as is so often served nowadays - and it made such a nice change to see a meal accompanied with something other than chips!
The staff were friendly and the prices very reasonable. We couldn't resist going back several times as there were so many tempting things on the menu! The brocolli & chorizio soup was divine!

The only thing we found, which was the case with most of the restuarants in Windemere is that they dont open particularly late (most kitchens started closing around 9pm ish) but having done a lot of walking most days and getting plenty of fresh air, this was not a problem for us, and possibly places may stay open later in full summer season.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    257
    79
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Great little find thanks to Tripadvisor! (I make this comment as had a comedy chat with one of the owners of this family run business re: Tripadvisor)
Great atmosphere, amazing food portion sizes that will fill even the most hungrier of customers and great quality cooking that fits nicely with the hospitality of one of the owners of this family run business. This was the last night of our honeymoon when visiting this Bistro so wanted a quiet little place to have a bite to eat in and Mojo's did not disappoint us!
If coming to the area for a few days pop by this place for a nice relaxed meal. Will pop by again when in the area on any future trips to the Lakes (Teacher & Nurse).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We dined here on Good Friday and were met with friendly waiters. We ordered garlic mushrooms, beef cobbler and chicken bang bang. All of the food was tasty however it felt as though we could have cooked this at home overselves. The service was very friendly and we enjoyed our meal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good ingredients, but with the wrong sauce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After trying the Lamplighter next door the day before, we wanted to have a try at this well ranked restaurant in Windermere.

As the Lake district is full of lambs everywhere, I was really waiting to have some.
I ordered the rump of lamb, and following the below comment of a reviewer, asked for "rarer than usual".

The rump of lamb was cooked to perfection, extremely tender and juicy, the perfect quantity.
Honestly, it was probably one of the best pieces of lamb I've ever had.
Outstanding.
Unfortunately, it is served with a large quantity of some sort of onion gravy sauce which is a bit to acid and, in my opinion, hides the amazing taste of the lamb.

My wife had the pork chop.
And once again, the meat was cooked to perfection. It was quite a thick cut, but the meat was still well cooked, juicy, and just what you want of pink on the inside.
The taste was also outstanding. I believe they source their meat from a very reputable butcher.
However, it was served with a "stifado sauce" (a sort of sweet sauce) which was too sweet and somehow hid the flavours of the pork.

We ended the meal with a platter of cheese.
We got 3 quite big portions of cheese, but unfortunately, all of them were fairly bland in taste.
Initially I thought that it was normal, we're in UK after all. But then I rememberer some British cheese I had in London (like Stichelton), and knew that this country produces high quality cheeses too.

We had a glass of house wine that was just ok.

A note on the service: the staff was extremely friendly, even though the place was packed on a Saturday night.

Overall, I believe they have quality ingredients and a chef that knows how to cook meat, but they could work a bit on the sauce to make their restaurant a must go place.

Note on price:
2 drinks, 2 mains, 1 cheese platter, 2 coffees = 40-45 GBP

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Visited Mojo's on a quiet Tuesday night with my wife, there were 2 other couples in there. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who turned out to be the owner. We were seated at a table for 2 near the window. There's a fantastic set menu which is £12.95 for 2 courses great value, however we chose to select from the main menu. Chicken liver parfait then pork in stifado sauce(Fruity) for me and smoked haddock then Chicken Bang Bang(spicy peanut) for my wife-the meals were excellent, the service brilliant - we liked it so much we visited again later in the week with the in laws and had the 2 course set menu which was again brilliant value for money, would recommend this to anyone staying in Windermere

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojos Bistro also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mojos Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojos Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.