We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giotto

Giotto
Birch Street | Windermere, Windermere LA23 1DS, England
015394 44854
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What an excellent surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is obvious from the outside that this is a smart Pizzeria but its not obvious until you read the menu and get inside that it's not just a Pizzeria. The kitchen is open and very smart. The Pizza's are fabulous, when you ask for chilli oil you get freshly chopped chilli's in a lovely olive oil, nice touch. We liked it so much we went back for a second visit in the week we were there on holiday, this time we had the King Prawns in Garlic butter, wow they were seriously yummy, then unheard of we both had Pizza again! just couldn't resist it.

This is a very classy restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    111
    46
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, North Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal here and would go back if we visit Windermere again. The owner and staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The best pizza I've ever had. So tasty, can't vouch for any of the other food on the menu but the pizzas were just amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great and wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had the earlier bird specials and the food was the best. I would recommend them highly and if I am back in the area I would stop by again. The staff was wonderful and we had a very nice quite dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited Giottos for an early evening meal. Very pleasant decor and a good menu on offer. We had a pizza and calzone and both were of a high standard. Good tasty food with great service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giotto also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.