We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter & Dawn Wilson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College House

College House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added College House to your Saves list
College House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peter & Dawn Wilson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very good welcoming wen we arrived, we were shown to our lovely cozy room, bathroom was small but clean. plenty of information Leaflets if needed, Doreen seemed very happy to help. Breakfast was lovely and very filling. The location was ideal, Very good value for money. we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to family or friends. Definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Booked this B&B with confidence after reading the reviews here & I'm glad to stay we weren't disappointed. Our room made for a lovely home from home with everything we needed to feel very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious & enough to mean we didn't really feel the need for lunch! Doreen is a great host & made us feel very welcome, she really helped us to get the most out of our trip by giving helpful suggestions of routes or places to see/eat, which was fab - less time looking through the leaflets!

The location is also worth a mention, minutes from the train station & main bus stop while also seconds from the main shopping street where there is plenty of choice for dinner. We would also recommend the Elleray or the Lighthouse for some lovely food. Hope you enjoy your stay, we certainly did!

Room Tip: We had the twin room, no.2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The couple who run College House are very friendly and welcoming, when we arrived we were shown to our room and given a quick tour of the house before being left to settle in. The room was comfortable, it had a large, cosy bed, TV/DVD player, hairdryer, toiletries, tea and coffee etc the little touches which make your stay that little bit more convenient. The bathroom was small but well kept and clean which is more important to me personally. The room also had a stash of leaflets and guides to help you plan what you want to do on your trip, if you want any more info Doreen and Frank know a great deal about the surrounding area and seem happy to help.

The next morning we went down for breakfast which really was the icing on the cake. Doreen is an amazing cook and everything tasted so fresh, she also cooks it while you're there so it's still hot and you know it hasn't been sat out for ages.

If you're off to Windermere and you want to stay somewhere homely that is also value for money I cannot recommend College House enough.

Room Tip: The largest room on the top floor is apparently the best and definitely very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

College House had been highly recommended by my friend and was suberb value for money. I had a very comfortable stay in a gorgeous room which was very clean with a wide range of cosmetics available to use. The owners of the guest house were very friendly, happy and accomodating. The breakfast was so yummy and fresh I have never tasted sausages like them and I believe were bought locally. I would definately stay here again the next time I visit Windermere and would highly recommend this beautiful guest house to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

College house has to be the best guest house i have ever stayed in. From the moment i arrived at College House Dorren made us feel really welcome. The room was warm and the beds very comfortable with great views. The breakfast was really good and obviously made with high quality ingrediants. Doreen will also tell you all the best walk and palces to visit and palces to eat out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed in College House with my partner in room 2, what an amazing room, spacious, well decorated and a beautiful new bathroom. The whole guest house was wonderfully clean and well maintained. We had superb views of the mountains and of course College House's old country garden.

Doreen and Frank were very helpful throughout our three night stay with them. Finally the breakfast filled us up all day which was brill. We would highy recommend this place as being locals to the area they are able to recoomend the best restaurants, walks and places to go. We'll be booking our return visit very soon.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I'm not entirely sure what happened with the other reviewer but what we had experienced was completely different - there might have been a communication problem in the previous case.

We arrived at Windermere without a hotel booking for that night and ended up looking for vacancies on the streets. We found College House behind a well maintained garden and Doreen answered the door. The room itself was No. 3, a loft room on the top floor with an ensuite shower and toilet. It was a good sized bedroom and considering the price it was extremely good value. Facilities were complete, with everything and a LCD TV.

The breakfast was decent too- full english with coffee & juices.

The owners, Doreen and Frank were very nice and we had some pleasant chats and they were very friendly. We had some trouble with our car and Frank didn't hesitate at all to help us.

This wasn't the first time that I visited Windermere and definitely wont be the last either - and we'll definitely stay at College House again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College House

Address: 15 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your College House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.