We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Windermere Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Windermere Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend away with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends, for a night away in windermere. Windermere manor hotel was a great find as allowed one night stays and was very affordable for bed and breakfast, good location for Windermere / Bowness and only 15 minutes to Ambleside so very handy. Hotel is quite 'old-worldly' and has a lot of charm, a little old fashioned, but very comfortable. Outdoor area is stunning with great views! Rooms were spacious, comfortable and had all amenities, although a little too warm would be our only negative comment. We were there for a friends pre wedding celebration and although we were not the normal clientele, they made us so welcome and gave us us our own bar area to host a little party! Staff were wonderful and friendly and couldn't have done anything more for our hotel......would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which was very spacious! Really lovely quiet hotel so any room would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    84
    38
    24
    8
See reviews for
42
135
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a whistle stop tour around the lakes. Everyone there was very polite professional and most helpful. I hadn't realised that it was a 'Vision Hotel' when I booked but was especially impressed by the way that they helped the sight impaired guests and all the adaptations that they had to assist.
I can see that there were comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. I didn’t find it a problem we had room 20 and so had to use the main staircase and didn’t notice any dog hairs etc. I have certainly stayed in other hotels where the carpets have been worse, and paid a lot more for the privilege.
This is a hotel I would recommend to friends and would stay there again.
The grounds were well maintained and would be lovely to sit out in on a good day.
I asked at reception if there was any information on the hotel and was given a fact sheet. If you go have a read it’s interesting. Especially the bit about the ghosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed overnight here and the staff were so helpful and friendly, not just to us but all their guests. We stayed in what is referred dot as the annexe but is a cottage I the grounds with approx 6 separate bedrooms. We had a ground floor room which had a small patio area right outside the French windows. Pity the weather was so appalling otherwise it would have been fantastic to sit out there. We lay in bed watching the rabbits and birds right outside our window.
The breakfast was excellent - a real cocked breakfast, everything piping hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in the annexe, just like being at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Windermere Manor hotel and I have to say, it was wonderful. Right from the get-go, the staff were all so friendly and welcoming; everyone from reception to cleaning staff to waiter/bar staff (one of which could be classed as the entertainment!). Food was scrumptious with local produce and fresh seasonal vegetables and we had a lovely stroll in the gardens and played giant chess to boot! Room was impeccably clean and our balcony outside room number 17 was right by the trees and overlooked the garden. We also benefitted from a four-poster bed which was extremely comfortable with lovely plump pillows and a lightweight duvet. We had a lovely night's sleep. The pool was lovely, clean and opened early especially for us by a male member of staff who happened to see us wandering about with our towels under our arms! The changing area was open plan but there were toilet cubicles if you wanted to change in private. It was just the right size/depth and not too much chlorine which makes my eyes sting. The sauna was also lovely and clean and was also switched on early for us. The one thing I was surprised by was the way that the hotel caters for the blind using Braille and raised maps to assist. This really impressed me, as did one member of staff sitting with a blind man at dinner and reading the menu out for him as he must have been travelling alone. Guide dogs therefore are obviously allowed but the hotel also allows well behaved pet dogs too which is a real bonus (we even found doggie drinking bowls in our wardrobe!). The only possible thing I could mention is that the window lever in the bathroom was broken and so we could not open the window but we never mentioned this as we did not need to. All in all, I want to return and for a much longer break. Right on the lake; excellent location. Well done to the staff.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for balcony views and four poster bed. Our room (17) was right by the trees which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Whilst I could not fault the hotel itself, the swimming pool is filthy. The changing rooms are tiny,dated and dirty and so is the surrounding area of the pool. I was also nervous to see the pool attendant putting stuff (chemicals?)into the pool when there were still children around the pool getting changed. The changing rooms were also too small to accommodate the number of people getting changed and so a number of us had to get dressed using benches dotted around the side of the pool. Not great when the male member of staff was also wandering around.
I haven't actually stayed in the hotel but the pool would be enough to put me off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at windlermere Hotel, who made us feel very welcome and were very helpful.
The Hotel is full of charm and the room we stayed in was very spacus.
The bath room had a bath that you could lie flat in and was deep, a great why to relax after spending the days walking in this beatuiful part of the country.
Food was great too.

Room Tip: Room 34 has a bath to die for and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We both had an enjoyable stay at this hotel along with our guide dogs. The staff are both courtious and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and there is plenty of it. We have stayed here on several ocasions and would not want to change to any other Hotel in the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.