We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely warm welcome and i would definately visit again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Walls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grey Walls Hotel to your Saves list
Grey Walls Hotel
Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely warm welcome and i would definately visit again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staff were lovely as was the service at the bar and the food. Drinks wise excellent value for money and would def revisit :) It was in a lovely location and the locals seemed welcoming from an outsiders point of view the whole trip was brilliant a big thank you to all who made our stay how it was

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    12
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This B&B is good value and is right in town and close to the railway station. If you are looking for luxury this is not for you but it is clean and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was adequate (hot and cold breakfast served).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed for two nights here on my own (came to revisit area as used to work in the lakes),was made to feel really welcome by the owners(dave and mandy,and their son chris),the bar staff and the locals.the food was amazing and really good value,ate in the bar and the restaurant,didnt need to eat lunch as the breakfast menu was vast,with vegetarian choices and special dietry needs.i have to say the rack of ribs i had on the saturday night was like nothing ive seen or tasted before(HUGE! and melted off the bone -yumy)and proper hand peeled homemade chunky chips(no frozen in sight).Grey walls bar is popular with the locals ,which i find is a good indicator as to how well a place is run and kept,a good selection of real ales are on offer.cant wait to go back and would reccomend to others :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed over Easter for 2 nights. The room was quite spacious with a lovely bay window. Tea coffee etc. provided in room. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed on Valentines night, parked car in private car park which is always a bonus in Windermere.
We cuddled up by the log fire all afternoon drinking fine ales and wine. The Bar staff (Alan) were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Following the recommendation of the refurbished steakhouse restaurant at the hotel Alan's personal recommendations I have to say exceeded expectations.
Room was clean and spacious and the pub area had charm and character and was nice and relaxed, with a mix of locals and residents. Dogs and muddy boots for walkers were welcomed.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the middle of summer. We had a spacious room and we were greeted by friendly staff on arrival and shown how to get into the rooms. Space to park car. Good breakfast choice. Perfect Location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had booked to stay there for two nights. On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome, by the barstaff, and then the owner, as it turned out.
We were shown to our room, which was very clean, warm and comfortable.
We spent an enjoyable evening in the bar where we ate. I had surf and turf, and I have to say the steak was excellent. Cooked as I like it it, and very tasty. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. Food is excellent, accommodation extremely comfortable, (so comfortable we didn't make breakfast!) and the owners and staff are very friendly. Special mention to Alan behind the bar, who did everything he could to make us, and other guests, feel very welcome, Also the chef who kindly made a late night snack for us!
I will definitely be revisiting next time I am in Windermere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Walls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Walls Hotel

Address: Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grey Walls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Walls Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Walls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.