We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windermere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkwood Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kirkwood Guest House to your Saves list
Kirkwood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Princes Rd, Windermere LA23 2DD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Three nights for two
Ranked #18 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Windermere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lovely two days staying at the Kirkwood. The guest house was spotless and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful. Really, really nice! We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The hosts were very helpful with maps and info . Didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
118
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was my first trip to the Lake District and Kirkwood made it a lovely experience. Mags and Boyd are such amazing hosts, not least for Boyd's suggestions of great days out which we really enjoyed. The breakfast was the best I've had in any hotel/guesthouse, the whole thing just made us feel like we'd been really spoilt. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Kirkwood Guest House in Windermere in 2009 and when planning our trip to England this year we did not hesitate to book the Kirkwood again
It was such a pleasure to meet Maggs and Boyd again, the genial hosts at the Kirkwood.
Boyd offered great suggestions from his wealth of knowledge of the area of trips that we could take.
Maggs served delicious breakfasts and always had a ready smile.
The lodgings are very comfortable,spotlessly clean and one is made to feel immediately at home.
An easy to use shower,a warm and comfy bed and warm hospitality more than met our needs. Cannot wait to visit this beautiful part of England and this lovely establishment again..
The Jamiesons from Toronto,Canada

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the room on the ground floor as we had heavy luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in Kirkwood guest house for three nights in March 2013. Mags and Boyd, who run the guest house, made my trip to the Lake District an unforgettable experience! Cosy rooms and warm porridge in the morning made the cold days feel warm. But most importantly, I got a great advice on where to go and what to see. I have a bit of a knee injury and thus cannot walk for too long - Boyd helped me carefully select the routes such that I could enjoy the best views and still not tire my knee too much. Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for friendly, comfortable place to stay in Lake District.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Kirkwood for 2 nights on Friday the 4th and Saturday the 5th May 2012. It is located in a central position so that you can choose to walk to either Windermere or Bowness and leave your car parked at Kirkwood. We were able to park our car in the school grounds opposite which was very convenient as the streets are packed with cars.
Boyd is very organised with a folder of outings around the area . When you explain what kinds of things interest you he finds one of his many personally devised excursions, goes through it in detail and then hands over a photocopied sheet to keep. Such a brilliant idea and much appreciated by us as we had a wonderful day out going to places we would never have discovered ourselves. (A particular highlight was a farm shop at Greystone House.)
Kirkwood is very cosy and we felt well looked after. I recommend Kirkwood as a great central place to explore the beauty of The Lake District but you definitely need much more than the 2 days we had!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just spent two nights with my mates at the Kirkwood, it was very nice with a great breakfast - the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the location was good. Car parking not a problem and the owners made us feel right at home. All three of us said we'd come back with the wives and children. Very enjoyable stay and a good base for exploring the lakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great B&B. I just felt like I was in my Home. Both Mags and Boyd are very friendly and great food.. The place is very close to the Village centre. Plus they told me some paths for the best views.. Nobody does that!! It was amazing..

Room Tip: Top rooms are best. With great views and quietness..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Guest House

Address: Princes Rd, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kirkwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Guest House Hotel Windermere
Kirkwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.