We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, cozy and clean rooms, lovely breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Guest House to your Saves list
Green Gables Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 4 pay for 3
Ranked #71 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, cozy and clean rooms, lovely breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Made to feel welcome by Carol. Room small, but clean, bright and perfectly adequate. Lovely breakfast staff. Sadly on a diet, so did not sample the delicious looking and ample breakfast. Will definitely have it next time. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
53
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a nice one night stay at the Green Gables Guest house - the host Carol was lovely and friendly and so was the lady who served the lovely breakfast but we dont know her name. It was a great location for Windermere and a 10 to 15 minute walk into Bowness. The only down side was the bed was a tad too hard but that was just a little niggle. Overall it was a good value for money guest house and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

On our arrival,we were greeted by Gillian who made us feel very welcome.Our Family room was very adequate,clean and comfortable.The lounge was very cosy and relaxing,nice to chill out with a beer from the bar whilst you watched the tele!! The breakfast was really great and plentiful,i even had a candle put in my grilled tomato for my Birthday (what a nice touch).
would definately recommend this guest house to family and friends

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a very warm and freindly BB. We just spent 2 nights there and was pleasently surprised as we have stayed in more expensive places and NOT received the same welcome. the breakfast is 1 of the best too. well done Carol, we will see you AGAIN. x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I'd telephoned Green Gables to book an overnight stay. Carol, the owner was so friendly yet professional. I was meeting some friends from various parts of the UK, some of whom also stayed at Green Gables. Parking was easy.
On arrival, my first impression was being welcomed by Carol who has a genuine and friendly manner. She took me to my room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful with many options, I chose full English breakfast and it was cooked perfectly.
So impressed was I, that I wanted to extend my stay for another night but, unsurprisingly, Green Gables was already fully booked.
The price is excellent value for money and I'd certainly stay there again, and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you are looking for a real value for money, warm welcome in the Lake district this is the place. We arrived, exhausted after a 5 1/2 hour journey, quite late at night. This was not a problem, we found a warm welcome and a very comfortable room and bed.
The food was excellent, parking no issue, the location of the B&B too was excellent.
We were accompanied by my elderely mother law, this also was no trouble at all.
We would all recommende this establishment, it does exactly what is says on the label

Room Tip: Book in advance, if you specify what you want they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at The Green Gables for two nights and found the guest house to be the perfect place to base ourselves during our trip to the Lake District. The room and en-suite bathroom were both clean and tidy, and very comfortable.

Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day. Hosts Alex and Carole were both friendly and helpful.

We will both certainly recommend The Green Gables to any friends or family who are looking for accommodation in the Lake District.

Mike and Shona

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.