We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly-Wood Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holly-Wood Guest House to your Saves list
Holly-Wood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Genuine Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife, daughter and myself stayed two nights at this wonderful guest house in early November 2012. The room we had was certainly big enough for the three of us with a well-appointed bathroom. It was immediately obvious, upon arrival that Yana and Ian, not only take great pride in their house, but also genuinely enjoy sharing it with others. Our room was immaculate, as was the whole establishment. Yana and Ian were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble to them. They made us feel right at home, were helpful in making suggestions of what to do and see and where to eat. Upon returning from a day's sightseeing we were pleasantly surprised to have been left a gift of muffins and biscuits in our room.
Windermere, the Lakes District and its surrounding towns and villages is a magnificent part of the world. Our time there was made just that little bit more special from having stayed at Holly-Wood Guest House.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
51
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
watford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights Friday 5th & Saturday 6th October. Ian and Yana were the perfect hosts and offered invaluable tips and advice of the area.Nothing was too much trouble for them.Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast itself was worth the trip and was certainly substantial, even for a days walking. I will certainly be staying here again when visiting the Lakes. Thanks again Ian & Yana for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have recently stayed here for 2 nights. We usually stay in hotels, but were visiting the area for a family occasion and just wanted somewhere local and convenient to sleep. Took a while to park, road busy and some of cars parked very selfishly by their owners. There was parking around the park but it wasn't suggested to us so guess may have been full. Ian showed us to our room, which was small but clean and ample for our needs. My only complaint would be that there was no light by the bedroom mirror, and it wasn't close to any natural light so I had to stand in bathroom to put makeup on which wasn't ideal when someone else was wanting the bathroom. Our hosts were very friendly, breakfast was plentiful and there was a wide range of choices. Ideal for people wanting the b & b experience and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What more could you ask for - great hosts (Yana and Ian) clean and comfortable, excellent food, relaxed atmosphere Holly-Wood offers all of this and more - even Vegemite. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the top floor - possibly try for a room on the lower level - we welcomed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 5th/6th September.Owners very friendly and helpful offered advice on the area and showed us to our room and made us feel at home.Room was clean well appointed. En suite was quite small but this was not a problem .Would stay here gain if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for a few days in September and well what can we say, We have travelled all over the world and this guest house is by far the best one we have ever stayed in, the owners Yana & Ian are great hosts and treated us more like friends than paying guests. This place is a real gem, try it for yourselves you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 but they all looked good, some smaller than others but they seemed to be priced re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just had a three night stay at this hotel (24th - 27th Aug) and we have both had a delightful experience. Yana and Ian welcomed us both on our arrival and showed us the facilities and our room and everywhere was spotless and our room was really nice and we both slept well.
Breakfast each morning was a pleasure and a variety to select from and all freshly prepared.
Despite the rainy weather we enjoyed our stay and the guest house was in walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness and Ian and Yana were most helpful at giving information of places to visit and provided leaflets for directions. We would certainly recommend a stay at this guest house you will not be disappointed we will definitely return and hopefully the sun will return with us next time

Room Tip: We had a superior double which was a really good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Address: Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly-Wood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.