We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
+44 15394 43192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: $49 - $63
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner. The building and ambience (downstairs anyway) was stunning. We relaxed as soon as we sat in the bar for our pre-dinner nibbles.

The food itself was excellent with some stunning presentation and lovely flavours.

Our wine was beautiful and conplimented the meal. A great recomendation from the young lady (Spanish I think but didn't catch her name). Her service was very attentive, professional and warm. I didn't feel the same warmth from the gentleman however. Jonathan I think it was. However the Spanish lady was so good I gave 5 for service.

We would definitely return and recomend the Cedar Manor

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the food, wine and service from Patricia, our lovely waitress.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I dont need to write much, if you are nearby visit. Lovely venue, lovely staff and superb world class food. The best place I have ever eaten.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor. We are blown away by your comments and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, atmosphere and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having lived 5 minutes from the Cedar Manor for 20+ years I'd never thought to go, thankfully some friends invited myself and my girlfriend for a meal and I was gutted....... How have I missed out on this place for so long. Lovely bar lounge to relax and warm up for the typically cold, wet and windy weather of the lakes. The menu was really nice plenty of fresh local produce and somethings on the menu I'd never normally have at home so perfect, new things to try. Nothing was too much trouble, my girlfriend has many allergies but Jonathan explained and checked with Chef what she could have. The restaurant is well laid out and had a great feel to it. We will definitely be returning and strongly recommend both locals and visitors put this place on their "places to go" list.

Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Manager at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are so pleased that you gave us a go, we welcome locals and know that with such a great choice in Windermere its easy to miss a few out. Now you have found us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Really pleased to read your very generous comments.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Special place for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really nice ambience, good service, lovely meal. Good wine list. Lounge area for pre/post dinner drinks. Couldn't fault it. Most enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing dinner at Cedar Manor, we are all delighted with the feedback and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Not the cheapest dinner option, but for a special occasion I don't think you can beat this place. The owners are so lovely and friendly and make you feel so welcome and comfortable, despite the very elegant and luxurious feel of the surroundings. Drinks and appetisers are served in the lounge while perusing the menu, then you are escorted through to the tiny but beautiful dining room to enjoy exquisitely cooked and presented food, then back to the lounge for coffee and petit fours. There is no rush! A very special place run by very special people - we love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and relaxed in the lounge afterwards. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.