We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,comfortable and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mews to your Saves list
The Mews
Elleray Road, Windermere, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly,comfortable and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent venue in all respects - accomodation ( very clean, comfortable bed, the mini lounge was a very pleasant feature), food (great quality and plenty of it!) and very friendly staff/owners ( nothing was too much trouble.).Fantastic value for money - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
108
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my mum as we were attending a wedding in the area. Mavis and Nev were very welcoming and friendly on our arrival and straight away you could see that nothing would be too much trouble for them - they were both very accommodating, Our apartment consisted öf a sitting room, bedroom and ensuite.. All were immaculatey clean and tidy. Breakfast - excellent choice for breakfast and very tasty ! NEv even took us to the wedding venue to collect my car the next day - service with a smile :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I can't really say a bad thing about The Mews. It's near the station so it's easy to get to with your luggage. Mavis is a wonderful hostess, extremely knowledgeable and helpful about the area and the walks/activities. The breakfast is cooked according to your choice from a menu and is filling and delicious - which you need for hikes around The Lakes. The room was lovely and clean and we had a little sitting room, with tele and DVD player. Internet access too for free. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NevMavis, Owner at The Mews, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a good time in Windermere and found THE MEWS to your liking. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Keep travelling! Mavis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay the area is beautiful the mews is fantastic we were realy made to feel at home they gave great advice where to go and what to do the breakfast was brilliant cudnt av wished for more . Having our own little living room was great to chill when we came back In . We have recomended the mews to all our friends and we will deffinatly b cumin bk without a doubt we loved every minuite thanku Mavis and nev for everything

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had very pleasant 2 nights in windermere at The Mews and really enjoyed our time there. Mavis and Nev were always helpful with information about the area and the folder with trips and advices was a brilliant thing to see places we would have never been to otherwise. The weather was not so good but it's England and November =)

We enjoyed the breakfast, nice service and good food. Time for breakfast was free to tell the hosts, perfect for us.

We booked via eMail, because the booking system was stuck, that was no problem either. Since we came here because of the good reviews I'm writing one myself to help other people know what they'll find here. Some people obviously did not read the reviews and were not satisfied with the situation, but that's more or less their own fault...

when we're back in Lake District we will certainly be there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 8th & 9th October, 2012. Our hosts had the most exquisite knowledge of the local area & provided fabulous detailed information on walks, driving itineraries & places to eat. They were a delight to exchange travel tales with & were more than helpful with onforwarding trip hints & tips.
The breakfast was terrific & set us up for the day. To have the sitting room as extra space made the accommodation seem more like a home away from home. Ground floor access, parking, wifi availability & so close to town made it all so perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (1st & 2nd of Oct) and have nothing but praise for the way that Nev & Mavis looked after us. I have just read the previous review and must say that I find it harsh to say the least. Breakfast was good and cooked whenever we liked. Mavis & Nev even rearranged their day around us on our arrival as we were getting the train up. Mavis advised on a lovely walk when we arrived that was great - right down by the lake and very peaceful with hardly anyone about.

If I had one bit of constructive feedback for the Mews it would be that the guest accommodation decor is a little dated and could do with a touch of modernising. That said the extra living room was great to have and both rooms had a flat screen TV.

To sum up the Mews represents good value for money, is in a great location and its owners are thoroughly nice people who will do their utmost to look after you throughout your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews

Address: Elleray Road, Windermere, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mews Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.