We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, cozy and clean B'n'B - enjoyed the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mews to your Saves list
The Mews
Elleray Road, Windermere, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, cozy and clean B'n'B - enjoyed the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had very pleasant 2 nights in windermere at The Mews and really enjoyed our time there. Mavis and Nev were always helpful with information about the area and the folder with trips and advices was a brilliant thing to see places we would have never been to otherwise. The weather was not so good but it's England and November =)

We enjoyed the breakfast, nice service and good food. Time for breakfast was free to tell the hosts, perfect for us.

We booked via eMail, because the booking system was stuck, that was no problem either. Since we came here because of the good reviews I'm writing one myself to help other people know what they'll find here. Some people obviously did not read the reviews and were not satisfied with the situation, but that's more or less their own fault...

when we're back in Lake District we will certainly be there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
108
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tongala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 8th & 9th October, 2012. Our hosts had the most exquisite knowledge of the local area & provided fabulous detailed information on walks, driving itineraries & places to eat. They were a delight to exchange travel tales with & were more than helpful with onforwarding trip hints & tips.
The breakfast was terrific & set us up for the day. To have the sitting room as extra space made the accommodation seem more like a home away from home. Ground floor access, parking, wifi availability & so close to town made it all so perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (1st & 2nd of Oct) and have nothing but praise for the way that Nev & Mavis looked after us. I have just read the previous review and must say that I find it harsh to say the least. Breakfast was good and cooked whenever we liked. Mavis & Nev even rearranged their day around us on our arrival as we were getting the train up. Mavis advised on a lovely walk when we arrived that was great - right down by the lake and very peaceful with hardly anyone about.

If I had one bit of constructive feedback for the Mews it would be that the guest accommodation decor is a little dated and could do with a touch of modernising. That said the extra living room was great to have and both rooms had a flat screen TV.

To sum up the Mews represents good value for money, is in a great location and its owners are thoroughly nice people who will do their utmost to look after you throughout your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Conveniently located near the station, a nice trail to the fabulous Orrest Head viewpoint and another along a stream to the lake, that Mavis tipped us off about.

Only room for sleeping in bedroom but there is use of a small sitting room, which was very nice - especially as you know there are no other guests whilst you're there.

Good enough breakfast, though it would be nice to have a selection of teas (or even one decent one) rather than a generic jar refilled with nondescript teabags. Couldn't have breakfast earlier than 08:30.

Neville managed to avoid us our entire three-night stay. Little notes everywhere (how to close doors without disturbing them, threats of full payment for any damages etc), gave us a little insight as to how they may view their guests. If you come in after they have retired you'll also see the rope across the stairs with the sign - not just 'private' but - "Strictly Private" with the addition "the house is alarmed beyond this point".

The handful of tissues were twice replaced with a clearly reused box that must have been hand-filled (still only half a dozen tissues).

Lots of guides in the place and help if needed, and there is an equally obliging tourist information centre near the station, as well as a large supermarket next to the station (Booths) which has a delicatessen and good selection of wines.

However, the rave reviews (that helped inform my decision to stay here) are exaggerated, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NevMavis, Owner at The Mews, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I see you prefer to remain anonymous when everyone else gives a name, but whoever you are you obviously did not enjoy your stay with us and for that we are sorry. You did find Orrest Head and Miller Ground because of our advice, so we are glad something pleased you. With reference to your grievances: it is common practice for B&B's to start breakfast from 8.30 and in our case you tell us a time to suit you after this. The tea we serve is Yorkshire Tea as I believe this is the best and as we do not ration tea and coffee we give you a lot so you have enough to see you through the day . You could have asked and I would have shown you the box! We have red and green tea as this is the only tea we drink and would have supplied this if you had preferred. As for "notes everywhere", there is one on the door asking you not to bang it. Is this too much to ask? The other is on our Terms and Conditions which by law have to be displayed. We alarm the house if we are out, or asleep. Who wouldn't? Also this is an Insurance directive.
You ask "how do we view our guests?" Well they arrive as travellers and leave and OFTEN return as friends. We look on our job as helping our guests to relax and enjoy this beautiful area. We know it well and enjoy imparting a little of our knowledge so others may experience places that they would otherwise not see - as in your case! You didn't meet Nev.! ! You missed a treat - but how many people do you need to look after you? It just goes to show that no matter how hard one might try you can't please all the people all of the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well what a little gem! Your own ground floor suite with all your needs met by Mavis and Nev who made us feel most welcome in their home. The main attraction was the convenience as its 3 mins walk from the station and two mins into the village with a twenty min walk to bowness. It was the little extras that made it so special - fresh milk and as much tea and coffee etc as you want, the best top quality breakast cooked at a time you want and we could come and go as we pleased with our own front door key. We will be going back next year and so good we stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for three nights before August Bank Holiday and really enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal for exploring the attractions around the area and if you are unsure of where to visit, just ask Mavis or Nev for guidance as they are a font of knowledge. All other reviews have covered the quality of everything so I will not repeat. Just book and enjoy. You will not regret it.

Vivian and Mair Williams from Anglesey, North Wales

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Mews is ideally situated for the train, bus and restaurants, three rooms to yourself was excellent, Mavis and Neville are a mine of information which was a great help, plentifull breakfast with nice extra touches each morning, we had a very pleasent and relaxing 4 night stay,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews

Address: Elleray Road, Windermere, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mews Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.